We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prospect Heights

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prospect Heights to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prospect Heights
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 North Milwaukee Avenue, Prospect Heights, IL 60070 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

There were 5 of us and the deal we've got was very good - only $75 per night. The room and bathroom were clean, however there were only 3 sets of towels. When we called the front desk in the morning to get extra towels we're promised but those towels never appeared until we called again in the evening. We arrived at about 1 am but the clerk (Ray or Ron) was very quick and courteous. When we discovered there was no blanket or sheets for the sofa bed we called and they were delivered immediately (unlike those towels, that happened later). Breakfast was quite good, included eggs made for you, Belgian waffles with choice of batter, etc. This was included in our really low price. So all in all, I consider it to be a great value stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    28
    14
    6
    20
See reviews for
27
20
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The front desk clerk that checked us in (I believe his name is Ron) was very friendly and helpful. The room was ok. It was clean. The faucet for the bathroom tub was leaking. The caulk around the tube either is moldy (cuz it was black) or the caulk needs to be re-applied. Ok place to stay if you have an event to go to in the area (we went to a wedding at Old Orchard Country Club which is less than 10 minutes away) .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Check in was quick which was good as we arrived late and were exhausted. Rooms were nice and spacious, no problem with cleanliness. Not the best tasting coffee and breakfast okay. Like the decor - looks like it has recently been updated. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent the night of Sept. 19 at the Comfort Inn in Prospect Heights, compliments of Lufthansa, after a delayed flight caused us to miss a connection at O'Hare returning from Europe. The room was spacious and well-equipped, and although a smoking room (we arrived late and no non-smoking rooms were available), to our great relief it did not smell of smoke. However, room cleaning and maintenance were unacceptably poor. The room had two burned-out light bulbs, there were many scuff marks on the walls and doors, the desk and dresser had numerous gouges, the chair arms were badly chewed up, there were numerous soap drips on the bathroom mirror, and worst of all, a used bar of soap from the prior guest had been left in the shower. I've stayed literally hundreds of nights in hotels, and this is the first time I've encountered used soap in a hotel room.

However, worse than these problems was our experience with the night manager. We were picked up by the hotel limo, but on leaving the airport, a traffic accident prevented the driver from taking his normal route to the expressway, and he told us he would have to take surface streets. After an seemingly interminable time, the driver acknowledged he was lost and stopped at a gas station to get directions. We retraced our route back towards the airport and the driver found his way to the hotel, but the normal 15 minute trip took 45-60 minutes instead. The delay was particularly difficult as we had been up almost 24 hours at that point and were exhausted.

On arrival, we checked in with the night manager but nothing was said about the long trip to the hotel. After the check-in was complete, I mentioned that the trip to the hotel had taken nearly an hour because the driver had gotten lost, thinking the manager might have been unaware of the situation. I was shocked when she responded, "He wasn't lost, he was rerouted!" I replied that he had, in fact, gotten lost, and that was the major cause of the delay. At this point she mumbled a begrudging and insincere apology. Knowing about the problem, she should have immediately offered an sincere apology upon our arrival. Instead she chose to ignore the issue, and upon my bringing it up, chose to argue (erroneously) with me about the cause! This was very poor customer relations on the part of the manager, and left me feeling angry and disrespected.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prospect Heights hotels

Kittanning, PA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was by far the nicest room overall that we had on an 11-day trip. The room was huge, with two queen beds, a sleeper sofa, frig and microwave, desk, coffemaker, large tv, etc. The bathroom had a granite (I think) countertop, was very spacious, and actually had enough light! Everything seemed very clean and quiet. The breakfast was several notches above the usual, with real scrambled eggs and sausage and real plates and silverware. However, as others have noted, there is no pool, and it is listed in the Choice Hotels book as having one. The real failing, though, was the beds. The 40-year old mattress in my hunting camp is more comfortable than these beds were. The niceness of the rest of the room makes me wonder if we got a room that had been recently updated but had not yet received new bedding. I had a coupon from a booklet and got the room for $55, and although it was worth that, I would not stay there again without insisting on checking out the beds first. No bargain is worth a sleepless night.

Room Tip: Try out the beds before you pay for the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I came in with quite a few other inconvenienced airline passengers from O'Hare airport very late. The staff was very pleasant and accomodating to everyone. The room was large and clean and very decently appointed, looks to be recently redone. All in all it was a pleasant experience during a very difficult trip. I'm actually glad the Hilton was full, I had everything I needed - in room coffee, free wi fi, extremely comfortable bed with extra pillows - that I would have paid twice as much for at Hilton,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, IA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Location is good, but the place is getting run down. To start with only one of two elevators work, been that way for over a year. I asked the management when the other elevator was going to get fixed and was told "tonight", next morning still only one elevator and same sign taped to the other elevator door "out of order". The carpet is stained, as well as the walls. The mattresses are TERRIBLE, you can hear and feel the springs in the mattress all night long while you're tossing and turning. The next morning for breakfast I went to get orange juice, not sure what was coming out of the dispenser but it looked more like flat orange pop than orange juice. Won't be back.

Room Tip: For a good room, pass on this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prospect Heights
1.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Northbrook Wheeling
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Glenview-Chicagoland Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Hilton Northbrook
Hilton Northbrook
#1 of 5 in Northbrook
4.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook
1.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Glenview
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Glenview Suites
Wyndham Glenview Suites
#6 of 7 in Glenview
3.5 of 5 stars 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prospect Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prospect Heights

Address: 600 North Milwaukee Avenue, Prospect Heights, IL 60070 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Prospect Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prospect Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prospect Heights 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prospect Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Hotel Prospect Heights
Comfort Inn And Suites Conference Center
Wingate Prospect Heights

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prospect Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.