We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moorea Fare Miti

Save Saved
You added Moorea Fare Miti to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moorea Fare Miti
PK 27, 5 Haapiti C/Mer | BP 1569, Hauru 98729, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hauru B&B and Inns
Sacramento, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

It has been several years since I stayed in this resort, but it was one of my most enjoyable trips ever. My daughter and I shared a "thatched hut" on the beach. We had access to a boat, bicycles, (we brought our own snorkeling gear), and it was close to town and restaurants. I highly recommend a mini-car ride around the island. Hit some of the off the road food huts. The people were delightful, in fact, the friendliest I have ever met. We were there early in the month of December and were lucky enough to be very close to where they celebrate their Christmas Fair. I would definitely recommend to a friend. And don't miss the weekend food trucks on the water front in Papeete on your way out. If it's still the same, eat all night.
Roasted pig on spits. Food fest.

Room Tip: I cannot really rate the hotel currently. My stay was 15 years ago. Garden rooms are very well place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    22
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
35
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was a nice place to stay in Moorea. You need a car to access this bed and breakfeast.
Easy beach access and view from each bungaloo to the lagoon.
Need some long chairs on the beach and soap in the bathroom,
Better products to keep the mosquitoes away.
More pilows in the bedroom and a oven in the kitchen.
Very nice welcoming guests.

Room Tip: Ask for bungalow 1 or 5 right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our first visit to this smaller property which is located on the northwestern portion of Moorea, just a little south of the Le Petit shopping area.  Wonderful sunsets and island breezes - refreshing.

We stayed in the beachfront fare (bungalow) with the terrace facing directly to the ocean...very nice and well worth the additional cost.  It's right on the beach with a large tree providing lots of shade with a breeze most of the day.

The front sliding glass door opens up to a studio-like room with 2 day beds and a kitchen area stocked with plates, glasses, utensils, pots and pans too!  There is an electric stove top (4 coils) and a good sized frig.  Towards the rear, a small bedroom (european double/full bed with foam mattress though), a separate roll-away bed too, as well as a wardrobe big enough for all your clothes (but you really don't need many clothes here!).  A fan (no a/c) on the wall, and mosquito net for the bed (much needed).  There's a full bath with shower only and ample shelf space.  But, you will need to bring your own toiletries: shampoo, soap, and shower gel.

The bungalow was lovely from the outside.  The inside was a bit dated and suffered from ants, bugs, and mosquitos (oh my!). There are no screens on the windows - a real discomfort to sit or rest on the day beds whilst being irritated by small bugs 24/7 and mosquitoes at night, or constantly making sure every crumb of food is picked up. Geckos have already inhabited the walls and back of the refrigerator. So, if you don't mind being a bit closer to nature...

There is no pool; just the ocean.  The beach...ahhh...soft tannish white sand, blue shades of clear water with corals and some fish in the lagoon.  Bring water shoes since there are sharp coral bits in the deeper water areas, but the shoreline is nearly all sand.

Fairly quite during the day and night.  Unfortunately, although cannot fault the owners, sometimes music penetrates from the neighboring dilapidated bungalows which is somewhat of a nuisance.  And...here is a real bummer...

...there are many free-roaming chickens running around that make plenty of noise to wake you in the early morning, beginning at 400am!!  

Seriously, those roosters crow a long choir until morning breaks, and then some. Hens clucking throughout the day laying eggs!  (you've been advised).  An island paradise..hmmm - an unfortunate drawback - but then again it seems to be a local characteristic (not sure about Bora Bora though, Moorea feels more country-like).  Dogs nearby may bark at any hour too!  So, be prepared with earplugs, especially, if the windows are open at night - remember, there's no a/c.  It can get very humid and sticky!

The weekend was more lively with islander families - noise levels did increase significantly with voices of kids on the beach by the tree as well as adults (a bit loud too - Oui!) until late without much regard to guests in the beachfront bungalow.  There appears to be a loyal local customer base. Weekdays seemed more quite when the children are in school and parents return to work - so plan accordingly (Hint: arrive Sunday and depart on Friday).

The owners were very nice and helpful, for sure - it's just the bungalow could be improved with window screens (at least for the bedroom), thorough bug treatments, and an a/c unit.

Honestly, maybe paying extra for one of the major brand hotels may have made a once-in-a-lifetime trip more worthwhile (honeymooners especially plan carefully; Hint: OWB at IC) I am already pegging my next trip to tropical Hawaii and the Maldives - leaving the FP national bird in a distant memory.  Bon Voyage! 

Room Tip: Beachfront bungalow on weekdays during drier season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I have written multiple reviews of Fare Miti, which we visit several times a year, and I can't stop raving about this place! We just returned from a two month trip to French Polynesia and again stayed in our favorite bungalow on the lovely beach at this very special pension. Celine and Laurent, the proprietors, continue to improve and renovate the property, and every time we arrive there is something new and special. They have acquired new beach chairs available to guests, and have built a lovely picnic area on the beach. The big tree has been groomed so that it still provides nice shade on the beach but does not obstruct the view of the lagoon.

The unique services provided by these proprietors make this pension very special. They will purchase a baguette or coconut bread or pain chocolate each morning for their guests, ordered the evening before, for a very minimal price. They also provide a variety of local restaurant menus, which they will order for you and deliver to your bungalow whenever you choose -- this is a fantastic service for their guests! They take a photo at sunset every night and post it on the Moorea Fare Miti Facebook page -- a very nice idea! The reception area provides a number of necessities for sale as a convenience to guests as well.

The location of Moorea Fare Miti is the best we have found on Moorea. The beach is long and clean; the bungalows face west for beautiful sunsets; a variety of small groceries and restaurants and shops are within easy walking distance.

Improvements are ongoing, as aways... New kitchen amenities were being ordered while we were there. We expect to return in March 2013 for an equally wonderful visit!

It is suggested that you book early if you want to stay here -- the property is full most of the time, especially during weekends and school holidays. It is a very family-friendly place as well, so if you do not enjoy the sound of happy children playing on the beach, you should find another location. For us, however, Moorea Fare Miti is PERFECT!

Room Tip: If the beach bungalow (# 5) is not available, request the closest garden bungalows, # 4 or #6, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

These fares are in a great location with a beautiful sunset view each day.
They are quite dated, with fibro sheeting throughout.
As previously mentioned, no fly screens, no air conditioning.
We stayed 3 nights and didn't realise that they don't provide much. No soap, limited toilet paper, old scratchy towels, no tea/ coffee sachets. No problem if you're from Tahiti staying for a week or more and can transport all your supplies on the ferry, but when you're only staying a short time, you don't want to be carrying all these supplies on flights.
Great location for kids and helpful, welcoming owners.
Would recommend for families, or people staying for longer periods of time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Really loved my 2 night stay here, wish it would have been 4 or 5 nights.

Celine was very helpful. She not only got us dinner one night, and delivered it to our bungalow, but she also brought us fresh bread in the morning. (for a price of course) And she was very helpful the day we left, she arranged for a shuttle to the ferry dock, let us store our baggage in the office, and even let us use an unoccupied bungalow for the day since our ferry wasn't until 5:45 PM.

Price is very fair for Moorea.

Slept ok, the bed was fairly comfortable.

Cleanliness was very good.

Location is great. Just down the road from places to eat and shop, but the best part is it's on a great beach with a large lagoon for swimming.

Bungalows are decent. They are old, and a bit worn (the floors felt a bit unstable in parts), but they are clean, and have plenty of room, plus the front porch is nice. It would have been great to have a hammock out front too.

If you come to Moorea to experience the simple life, and don't want/need any creature comforts or 5 star mega resorts, then come here to experience the beautiful beach, great service, and just RELAX your days away.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We loved our 5 nights here. The beach was just at our door, and we had sunset views across the lagoon every night. The bungalows are quite elderly, but have comfortable beds, are clean and the kitchens are basic, but with all you need. They are not serviced during your stay, but we were ok with this. The decor is cheerful and care has been taken with upgrading things like the stovetop. Celine is very helpful and informative about activities and information, and went out of her way to make our stay a good one. Having stayed at other properties in the area I appreciated the quietness of Fare Miti and the small number of bungalows which make it more private than the alternatives. If you like a busy resort style atmosphere, this is not the property for you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moorea Fare Miti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorea Fare Miti

Address: PK 27, 5 Haapiti C/Mer | BP 1569, Hauru 98729, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Hauru
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hauru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenue à la pension Moorea Fare Miti, à Moorea, l'île soeur de Tahiti.Idéalement situé dans la commune de Haapiti, à 300 mètres des commerces, des restaurants et des activités du Petit Village, Moorea Fare Miti vous propose des Fares tout équipés,au coeur d'un jardin de fleurs exotiques.Lagon turquoise, plage de sable blanc et couchers de soleil inoubliables.Fare bord de mer: Vous rêvez d'une vue de rêve sur le lagon? Optez pour un Fare plage. Détendez vous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Moorea Fare Miti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorea Fare Miti Hotel Papetoai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moorea Fare Miti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.