We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still our favorite place on earth -- Moorea Fare Miti!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moorea Fare Miti

Save Saved
You added Moorea Fare Miti to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moorea Fare Miti
PK 27, 5 Haapiti C/Mer | BP 1569, Hauru 98729, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hauru B&B and Inns
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Still our favorite place on earth -- Moorea Fare Miti!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

My husband and I returned home last night from a repeat visit of one month at Moorea Fare Miti. We were there at the same time as the prior reviewer – in fact, they stayed in the bungalow directly behind us for three nights before they left on a cruise – so I feel very well qualified to respond to some of their negative comments about this wonderful place.

Fare Miti is a small family-owned pension, not a resort. The bungalows are built in authentic Tahitian style, with pandanus woven roofs, and air vents to allow trade breezes to cool the bungalow. In such a structure, window screens are pretty useless, as is air conditioning, because the nature of the roof is that it is not “sealed” or “air-tight” – this is how the majority of Tahitian homes are built, designed to allow the breezes to flow through.

March is “summer” below the equator, and any minimal research would have informed a traveler that it is normally one of the warmest and most humid months in French Polynesia. Nevertheless, of the fifteen prior March visits we have taken, this year was the coolest, most sunny, and pleasant-weather March we have experienced. The weather was excellent! In addition, we were surprised this visit that there were very few mosquitoes compared to what is normal during the “wet” season. (French Polynesia is a tropical location, and there WILL be insects, no matter where one stays!) We have never experienced mosquitoes in the grass areas, only around the beach at dawn and dusk, or after a hard rain, and Fare Miti provides mosquito coils for those occasions. Again, a well-researched traveler would have brought some insect repellent to a tropical location. Insects are present even in the five-star resorts!

The bungalows have recently been renovated, and the new bed mattresses are the “memory-foam” type, which we have found to be very comfortable, and more luxurious than most other places we have ever stayed! The tap water is certainly drinkable – we made coffee with it every morning and iced tea several times during our stay, with no problems. There is absolutely no need to boil water to wash dishes; there is a very effective “on-demand” hot water heater in each bungalow that provides adequate and perfectly safe hot water for dishes, showers, etc. There are no “little ants” unless one leaves food out on the sink or counters – again, this is a common occurrence in ANY tropical location. A little research and some care in storing food goes a long way…

We have camped in Mexico for many many years, under all kinds of condition there, and there is NO WAY we would possibly compare this location to that experience! Fare Miti provides a simple, clean, spacious, airy, immaculately-clean and comfortable bungalow, at a reasonable price, at a beautiful location, with wonderful proprietors who do everything possible to assure their clients’ comfort and happiness while there. Family-owned pensions with their simple accommodations are not for everyone; if you are looking for more amenities, you might be happier at a resort, but be prepared to pay a much higher price. But if you want a simple, comfortable little bungalow at an excellent location, and don't mind sweeping your own floor or making your own bed, or providing your own soap and shampoo, then this might be the place for you.

If travelers would properly research their destination before leaving home, and familiarize themselves with the available amenities offered where they are going, there would be less negative reviews on Trip Advisor written by reviewers with unrealistic expectations. We feel that the last review posted here was unfair and inaccurate. Our visit for the entire month of March was relaxing, comfortable, and extremely enjoyable, and Fare Miti is still our favorite place on earth!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    21
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
34
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern Calif.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

The good: Right on the beach. Owners are very nice. Good restaurants nearby. WIFI cheap
The bad: No screens on windows. No air conditioning(hot & humid). Curtains that don't close all the way. Bed is hard! Morning, noon and night mosquitos in the grass. You will get woken up every day by the roosters. You can't drink the water. You have to boil the water to wash dishes in. Little ants everywhere. We likened it to camping in Mexico with a shower and bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

this place is a few small natural huts, thatched roof that when the wind blows, which is does often, leaves you with bugs and bits all over the floor.
Each hut has different appliances, some have a little fridge, some a little stove, so check what you need and if you get the right hut.
There is no AC and it can get pretty hot. there is a fan in the bedroom, as long as you do not mind the noise all night, you will need it on.
Bring one of those mossie repellants that you plug in the wall, great to keep the bugs down at night when you sleep.
It is best to get your own food at the shop down the road and cook as a meal in the restaurant could cost as much as a night for the room.
The owners are recently moved to Moorea from France, so they do not have the same cultural attitude as the locals.
Neighbors have said that they are not very friendly and can be a bit unreasonable at times. We did not stay too long, but that can give an uncomfortable feel which I think new immigrants should make a priority to fitting in and making relationships a priority rather than making enemies.
Note the electricity is 220 volt and uses the 2 round pin plug.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

We've just returned from another two-month stay at Moorea Fare Miti, and I just wanted to provide some updates from our prior reviews. As always, this little pension just keeps getting better and better! The proprietors Celine and Laurent have now completed a full renovation of all the bungalows, and there are new mattresses, pillows, and kitchen supplies since our last visit. As we left, they were expanding their reception building, which will provide for one additional renovated bungalow where reception used to be. Laurent is always busy grooming the property, and making improvements, and the improvements are really outstanding! The beach is amazing.

This a terrific place for families! Kids can safely play on the beach, and during school holidays there are lots of them doing just that. Fare Miti has a loyal following of clients now, so if you are planning a visit during either a local school holiday period or the high season, I would recommend making your reservation early! In the low season and during week days, the property is very quiet and tranquil, but I've never seen it completely empty, despite a declining tourist economy on Moorea.

We LOVE it here! And we will be returning again soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

Firstly, remember that this place is budget for Moorea. Simple accommodations - foam mattresses, vinyl floors, no TV or aircon etc. Having said that it was a wonderful place to stay with a family for a few nights. The location is superb - one of the best little sand beaches on the island, with a huge tree leaning out across the very middle to provide shade when you need it. The lagoon was very peaceful and calm, with lots of little fishes swimming along the edge, and more colorful ones a few meters out amongst the rocks.
Fares have traditional exteriors, with one bedroom, bathroom and a lounge/kitchenette with 2 day beds where the kids can sleep comfortably. Best thing is that about 25% of the roof area is covering a lovely outside area with big table and 4 chairs, so even if it rains or you need to get out of the sun you can sit outside and enjoy the view and the warmth. Both rooms had fans, which was more than sufficient for comfort overnight when we were there. And delivery of fabulous baguettes each morning made it easy to cater, along with the couple of elements for cooking simple meals.
Pros - great, safe location for kids. Beautiful beach, warm waters, incredible sunsets. Very relaxing. Kitchenette meant saved heaps on eating. Provided Wi-Fi although unsurprisingly expensive, but you pay by the minutes you use (in 30min lots) not by the day which makes it affordable.
Cons - Bed not the most comfortable, but adequate. Recommend you bring your own pillow! Fridge wasn't clean when we arrived. Very few plates, cups etc - could do with a bit more.
Overall would highly recommend if you don't mind basic accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

My wife and I have stayed at Moorea Fare Miti several times now and I just have to say that it gets better and better each time! Most recently, we spent the month of March 2010 in the renovated beach bungalow, and were amazed at all the improvements since our last visit in summer 2009.

The proprietors, Laurent and Celine, have been busy installing new floors, appliances, ceiling fans, light fixtures, bedding, and painting everything for a fresh and clean and new look. All the bungalows have new pandanus roofs, truly Tahitian! The beach and garden are immaculately groomed, and new beach furniture and kayaks have been added to the amenities. There is a mini-store at reception now, with available necessities for purchase (including ice cream!), and a full menu available for order from a nearby restaurant, with meals delivered right to your bungalow.

As always, this is one of the nicest locations on Moorea, with a long stretch of sandy white beach, and within walking distance to shops, restaurants, and groceries. The kitchens in all the bungalows have been more fully equipped with everything needed to self-cater for a family of four, which is a nice convenience. Many nearby activities are available for booking through reception, which will also arrange your airport transfers on request. WiFi access is available, with good reception. Bikes and kayaks are available for rental, at reasonable prices. The proprietors can make arrangements for your transport to and from the Moorea ferry or airport on arrival and departure.

Moorea Fare Miti is a nice alternative to expensive resorts without sacrificing comfort and location, and is very family-friendly! We will return again and again!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

I can't believe I haven't done this sooner, but here goes. Moorea Fare Miti, a part of what is left of Moorea Village, is the most unique, inexpensive and ultimately most enjoyable place we stayed in Moorea. It has a welcoming atmosphere, no frills, and is adjacent to a wonderful french bakery, a supercool little grocery store, a five star restaurant, and has BY FAR THE BEST BEACH ON THE ISLAND!!!! Not for people who want to be pampered and have people waiting on them, but save one night at the end for a place like the Moorea Pearl resort for that. If you are lucky, Barbara and Randy will be staying at Fare Miti the same time you are...They are wonderful, kind people and will be happy to say hi and offer advice like they did for me and my wife. Highly Highly recommended for those of you who still have a pulse!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moorea Fare Miti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorea Fare Miti

Address: PK 27, 5 Haapiti C/Mer | BP 1569, Hauru 98729, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Hauru
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hauru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenue à la pension Moorea Fare Miti, à Moorea, l'île soeur de Tahiti.Idéalement situé dans la commune de Haapiti, à 300 mètres des commerces, des restaurants et des activités du Petit Village, Moorea Fare Miti vous propose des Fares tout équipés,au coeur d'un jardin de fleurs exotiques.Lagon turquoise, plage de sable blanc et couchers de soleil inoubliables.Fare bord de mer: Vous rêvez d'une vue de rêve sur le lagon? Optez pour un Fare plage. Détendez vous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Moorea Fare Miti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorea Fare Miti Hotel Papetoai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moorea Fare Miti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.