We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Homestead

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Historic Homestead
Save
You added The Historic Homestead to your Saves list
611 East Main Street, Plano, IL 60545   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Plano B&B and Inns
Mequon, Wi
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Couples Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Truly a relaxing place to unwind. We needed this night and it was more than
our expectations. Mary Kay and Chet were wonderful hosts with a setting
that proved to be relaxation extraordinary!!!!! More than a 5 Star B & B.
You will find it a wonderful experience.
Thanks.
The Wontors Mequon, WI

Room Tip: Be sure and see Sandwitch, IL antiques. It was the BEST!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Kay S, Owner at The Historic Homestead, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Chet and I had a lovely time getting to know you during your stay at The Homestead! Thank you for spending some time in Plano and the surrounding communities. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This place is what I needed after a long day driving, nothing to say unless is that this place is awesome! I loved that I could walk to the train station so I was able to rest more. It was very cold so I didn't spend as much time as I wanted in the labyrinth. I will be back this summer!

5 stars!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I recently went for a girls weekend at The Historic Homestead. It was my first experience staying at a B&B and what a pleasant experience! The owners were so delightlful, charming and accomodating to our needs. I could have spent the weekend inside looking at all the detailed painting inside and relaxing, but it was so beautiiful outside we spent time on the patio just relaxing and at night sitting in the library was so much fun laughing with my friends. The bed was comfy and everything was clean and immaculate. Every room was simply amazing, The breakfast was wonderful, tasty and the portions were big. I can't wait to go back! You won't be disappointed! Linda from WI

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Kay S, Owner at The Historic Homestead, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Wow, how wonderful that you so enjoyed your girl's weekend at The Homestead! Thank you for sharing about your experience, and for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next weekend, or weekday, get away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My first Bed and Breakfast stay and what a wonderful time. I did not know what to expect but what a surprise. The house is rich with history and everywhere you look something interesting to look at. The grounds are inviting and you have to do the maze and labyrinth or just sit on the patio and relax. Every comfort is thought of and you will never want to get out of the comfortable beds but you will, for the breakfast which was over the top and I must have the recipes. Went for a girls weekend and wanted to stay longer, you will not be disappointed. So get online and book your stay, I will be back. Lynn S. from WI

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Kay S, Owner at The Historic Homestead, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for the kind review-what a wonderful women's weekend! How great, and thank you, for selecting The Homestead as your first experience bed and breakfast experience! Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Homestead is an exquisite Bed and Breakfast. The owners are a joy to meet and you will leave feeling rested. We enjoyed listening about the rich history at the Homestead as well! Each room is designed with comfort and luxury. You can also explore the labyrinth and maze while there. The innkeeper made us feel right at home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Kay S, Owner at The Historic Homestead, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share about your experience! How wonderful to know you could relax and enjoy-you deserve it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This B&B is terrific - 1850s mansion completely renovated with today's amenities. Truly, they have thought of everything! My husband and I had a terrific stay--only wish we had stayed longer! Mary Kay and Chet are wonderful hosts, and they pamper their guests at every turn. And breakfast was delicious! Lots of shops and restaurants to explore while you are in the area. We will definitely go back -- soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Kay S, Owner at The Historic Homestead, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Sharon,
What a pleasure to have you and your husband select to stay at The Homestead! We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay and found the area shops to be so charming. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Quite simply, the perfect Bed & Breakfast experience!

The house was perfect in every way. From the historic aspect, to
the finishes, to the condition and cleanliness 10 out of 10.

The Breakfast
Was high quality and well rounded. Just what I want to see at a B&B!

And most importantly, the innkeeper Mary Kay was an absolute pleasure!



And all this, only about an hour from Chicago! Not too close and not too far.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Kay S, Owner at The Historic Homestead, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you! We do hope that traveling a little ways out of the city for the weekend made you feel as though you took a week off! What a pleasure to have you stay and The Homestead and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Historic Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Homestead

Address: 611 East Main Street, Plano, IL 60545
Location: United States > Illinois > Plano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Plano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover-Induldge-Relax and Enjoy! Just minutes from Mies van der Rohehe's Farnsworth House, The Homestead Bed & Breakfast and Special Event facility re-opened by Chet and Mary Kay Sergo in September 2012.Built in 1854, The Homestead is the home of the City of Plano's founder Lewis Steward. On two acres, that features a labyrinth and hedge maze, the home is listed on the National Register of Historic Places by the United States Department of the Interior. The Homestead is a boutique bed & breakfast featuring five cozy bedrooms, a spectacular dining room, quaint parlor and other beautiful common rooms. Guests marvel at all the ornamental painting that grace the walls, ceilings, and woodwork throughout the house and delight that the remarkable attention to details carries over to the luxurious amenities.The Homestead is a unique destination for overnight guests, the history buff, those interested in architecture and the arts and people who love labyrinths and mazes. For a perfect romantic getaway or an unforgettable intimate ceremony or family retreat, the historic Homestead is the ideal spot to create life's happiest memories. The Homestead is also a unique and inspiring place to host small corporate retreats and cocktail parties.With all the different aspects of The Homestead it is no wonder why the following phrase has become the adapted slogan, "Where the past and the present mingle for a moment." ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.