We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jambe De Bois

Jambe De Bois
Pigeon Island, St. Lucia
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I visit St Lucia with friends or family every year, and at every visit Jambe de Bois in Pigeon Island's nature reserve is a must for supper on a Sunday evening - there's music as you eat on Sundays. Lovely place, wonderful seaside setting, fabulous views, yummy food, delicious cocktails, nice people..... and a fantastic jazz band with perhaps the liveliest drummer you've ever witnessed. Great, great stuff.....

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    78
    16
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vaughan, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lunch after the hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had luch here after walking around Pigeon Island nat park.
We were very lucky and arrived a few minutes before the rain.
The service was great and i was very surprised at how good the food was as well.
They also sell paintings inside and if you bring a book there is a book exchange as well but you have to bring one in order to take one.
We sat outside and there is a great view of Rodney bay

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just a wonderful place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

If you are staying in the north of St Lucia, 'Jambe de Bois' for lunch is a must, even if it means missing out on an "all inclusive" lunch at a resort complex.

Located waterfront, in the National Trust managed Pigeon Island nature reserve, with a fabulous view across Rodney Bay. The local staff are wonderful, service is Caribbean speed, food is delicious. I thoroughly recommend the Spring Rolls and Seafood Lasagne, in fact that's just what I am enjoying now while I wait for a most infrequent shower of liquid sunshine to pass, one of the delights of St Lucia is that everywhere is so beautifully green.

The place itself is straight out of a romantic novel, all crafted wood and natural vegetation, a million miles from the ubiquitous 'chain' restaurants that are destroying any concept of 'place' back in the U.K.

Having bought a house here, I have visited many times, either with my wife or alone, or with the countless guests that we have welcomed here. Go there!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coulsdon, Surrey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We have visited here many times for drinks as we love the ambiance and view from the terrace, and always thought the food looked delicious. This time we decided to stay for lunch having spent the morning wandering about Pigeon Island - we were not disappointed! We went for the legendary roti and they were delicious - both the meat and fish varieties were worth trying. We also had a plate of calamari with a spicy dip - again perfect food to pick at while drinking our beer and soaking up the atmosphere. We were stuffed and couldn't believe how cheap the bill was considering the beautiful location. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place for a relaxed lunch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cool beach caribbean food with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We turned up lunchtime in the tail end of Tropical Storm Isaac (45mph wind, lashing rain, 30 degree heat) from a walk on Pidegon Island, bedraggled, soaked, hungry and expecting the Wooden Leg to be shut.

However, we were greeted with a warm smile, a cold beer and a beautiful vista across Rodney Bay from this shaded castaway driftwood beach hut setting on the beach.

We tried to span the laid back caribbean menu by having fried squid and olive and pitta, jerk wings to start (all very good indeed), but to be honest, their legendary roti earned it stripes for main course - rich, meaty, with a robust but not hot curry sauce.

And as we've been finding in St. Lucia, the more authentic (and so flavoursome, fresh and filling) the menu, the lower the price, oddly.

The service was charming, attentive without imposing, and to top it off, they insisted we sat back after lunch with a drink to chill out, but only when we'd finished (we were the only ones there), they shut up shop and went home due to the poor weather and lack of trade.

Worth noting is the confusion about having to pay the park's entrance fee to get to the restaurant. The restaurant is inside the Pidgeon Island National Park, whcih means to get to the restaurant you do need to pay the US$5 (EC$13.35) to get in. However, entry to the park is free after 5pm.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jambe De Bois also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Jambe De Bois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jambe De Bois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.