We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cigarette smell everywhere! Yuk.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5240 Trompeter Rd, Peru, IL 61354 (Formerly Baymont Inn Peru)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Peru
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cigarette smell everywhere! Yuk.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Pretty so- so hotel overall (clean, okay beds) but what really stood out was the strong smell of cigarette smoke that permeated our hallway and elevator - we are non-smokers. The floors are divided into half smoking and half non-smoking rooms which doesn't work as well as you might hope for the common areas. Our room smelled kind of flowery but did seen to be smoke-free. The kids are still making jokes about the pool which was the smallest I have ever seen in a hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
10
9
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I just love it when I have a problem with the WIFI connection, call the desk and their response is "there is nothing wrong with my WIFI". While the room was clean and well kept, bed and pillows comfortable, there was no coffee for the coffee maker and the internet was so lousy, I couldn't get my work processed. Oh, and another thing. Ask for a room on the third floor if you don't want to listen to your neighbor pacing the floors all night. I hope you have a considerate next door neighbor, because you can hear their television if it is too loud. I actually checked out very early in the morning to go to a local Starbucks to get my work done.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

It wasn't terrible, but it wasn't good either. The place looked cheap and dirty, the corridors felt dingy, and the breakfast was lacking.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Peru hotels

GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

This was a spur of the moment choice but a good one. Newly renovated and quiet even though right off I-80. Average cont. breakfast though. Overall well worth the money.

  • Liked — newly renovated
  • Disliked — cont breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenyluv
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2008

The Good-The lobby was clean and the staff friendly. We had a 3rd floor smoking room. The linens were fresh and clean, the room was big, and nicely decorated. The bathwater got hot very fast and lasted through 3 showers. The king size bed was very soft and comfortable.
The Bad- a bit overpriced, the continental breakfast was bagels, English muffins, and dry cereal, not as good as I expected. The pool is very small. You can hear traffic outside your window loudly. The credit card swiper to order movies did not work, there was no phone book, the parking lot was slippery with ice and I almost fell. 2 of our towels were stained. The heater in the room only blew cold air and there was a light bulb in the bathroom that was burned out.

Overall the room wasn't too bad, but for the $80 we paid for it, I expected better, this room is more like a $50-$60 room, not $80. I probably will not stay there again.

  • Liked — The size of the room, it was a pretty big size.
  • Disliked — The heater and light bulb not working, and the breakfast.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

The first piece of advice is to drive past Peru, Illinois altogether. It appears as though this is the best hotel option in town and while it is clean and quiet, it has issues.

"Breakfast" is white bagels, white English muffins, white donuts, a toaster, and a microwave oven, though it is not clear what the latter is for, as there is absolutely nothing to microwave. The cold cereals are in bins that are 90% depleted, not exactly confidence-inspiring. Coffee is vended instant. Thanks a bunch. There is a McDonald's within 10 seconds out the front door to the left.

Why hotels think that piling up laundry carts and deliveries in the corridors is attractive is just baffling, but some do it, and this one does.

There is free wireless, but you need a password (your room number) which they don't tell you at the front desk when you check in. Why hotels think it is fun for travelers to play Treasure Hunt with getting on the Internet after a long day of traveling is a mystery. Just tell us when we check in.

This hotel is off the I-80 and from Davenport, IA to here, there ain't much choice. I suspect as you get closer to Joliet, you'll be better off.

P.S. There's road signage for a Fairfield Inn, but I could not find it after driving around town for a little while.

  • Liked — They had a room available
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aiken, sc
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

Stopped on our way to Minnesota for a one night stay. The motel was clean and well kept. Our room was clean (bathroom, bed linens, and carpet), there was plenty of space, and the bed was comfortable. There is a McDonald's next door, and a shopping center across the road from McDonald's. There is an indoor pool, which we didn't use, but it looked like it was well kept.

The only complaints I have about the motel -- We had a coupon from the Illinois travelers guide which would have saved us money, but it was not honored on a weekend. It's only honored during the week. I believe if they put a coupon in a traveler's guide it should be honored at all times. The continental breakfast is not worth getting up for. For 80.00 or more a night, the motel should have a hot breakfast, not just muffins, cereal, etc.

The Front Desk staff is really nice. Very personable and professional.

  • Liked — Clean, spacious room
  • Disliked — Coupon not honored, breakfast
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 5240 Trompeter Rd, Peru, IL 61354 (Formerly Baymont Inn Peru)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Peru
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Peru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Quality Inn and Suites of Peru Illinois is conviently located next to I-80 and minutes from Starved Rock State Park and other area attractions for an affordable and friendly family stay. We are newly renovated, and offer a hot breakfast including eggs, waffles, and biscuit and gravy. We as well are proud members of Choice Hotels and are eager to share our great customer service with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn Peru Hotel Peru
Peru Baymont Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.