We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olive Garden to go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olive Garden

Olive Garden
5223 US Highway 251, Peru, IL 61354
(815) 220-0903
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 60 Restaurants in Peru
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Olive Garden to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I were feeling under the weather and for lunch a friend of ours delivered us some delicious soup and breadsticks. It was a nice warm treat that hit the spot. In fact we had leftovers the next day! They even gave us a plastic ladle to serve the soup.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    3
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We like to go out and eat wherever we travel and were very pleased when Olive Garden opened a location in our local area. This is a restaurant that's been open a year now so all the bugs and newness should be worked out and it should run well. We were disappointed in all levels at this restaurant to include service, time spent, food quality and value. The staff seemed overworked and acted tired in their performance. The food took too long to arrive, we had to ask for breadstick replacement and the food was average. Keep trying Olive Garden......we will stop back again and give you another chance after the holidays.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, IL
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Impressive New Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is a brand new Olive Garden that really impressed me with it's beauty, great food and service. Our server, Sarah H., was wonderful!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“First Time there, Slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was our first visit to this location...before the lunch rush, but with lots of empty tables, still had to wait to be seated for about 10 minutes? Long wait for just our breadsticks...then another wait for the salad...then one soup finally came, and two very simple kids meals...then another wait for my bowl of soup. My pet peeve is having to ask for refills on drinks, which we had to do each time. (If it's empty, please don't make me ask.) Waitress was OK. Overall, the food was good, just wish the service was faster and friendlier, esp. considering the price paid and the fact that our order was so simple.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“New to the area and busy with great service and the expected, but tasty Olive Garden menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The restaurant opened in the spring of 2012 and has the expected Olive Garden menu. The area didn't have anything with the menu choices though. A brand-new building and (obviously) new furnishings make it a pleasurable dining experience when coupled with a not-yet jaded wait staff here. In fact, I received such excellent service from my waitress, Angela, that I can't think of anything she could do to improve. The menu had some limited time-only selections that were very tasty and it is easy to order everything from these choices.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Garden also viewed

 

Been to Olive Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.