We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic atmosphere and great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mark Allen's American Kitchen

Mark Allen's American Kitchen
1402 Peoria St, Peru, IL 61354
815-220-0642
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 60 Restaurants in Peru
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ottawa, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic atmosphere and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Driving to the restaurant doesn't seem very impressive, the exterior leads you to imagine what could be held within. Upon entering an immediate feeling of a romantic atmosphere overtakes your senses, while also leaving an avenue for a wholesome family experience.

the wait staff are very prompt, ensuring you have an opportunity to get your drinks to sip while perusing the menu. There are many specials to choose from, pasta, steak, chicken..... One can easily find the right meal to satisfy any craving. Appetizers are delivered quickly allowing you time to snack and enjoy the conversation of your party.

Meals are visually tasty as they are delivered to your table. Everyone at my table had very good comments on the appearance and taste of their meal. The stakes were cooked to order without going over or under in preparation. Very tasty, tender and filling. I will enjoy a meal here at every opportunity I get, even to the point I will gladly pay for a buddies meal. Of course I will always bring my wife, she really enjoyed the experience ( doesn't happen too often).

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    13
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lostant
2 reviews
“Our favorite place to dine in the Illinois Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Everything from top to bottom is outstanding at Mark Allen's. My wife and I have ate here many times over the years. The bartender Clint makes the best Long Island Iced Tea's. The waitresses are outstanding. Polite, quick and thoroughly professional. I love the ribs at Mark Allen's and my wife loves the Cajun pasta. But the steaks are delicious also! We love the atmosphere, very comfortable. My wife never argues with me when I suggest eating at Mark Allen's !!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Winter Comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

With this interminable winter still lingering, I wanted some comfort food. One of the features for the evening was cavatappi alfredo with grilled chicken. Yum! This is no boxed dinner. The cheese is flavorful, the pasta is just the right consistency, and the chicken was tender. The portion was enough for two meals. I will be ordering this again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BBQ RIBS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is our favorite place to have BBQ Ribs, they are excellent, but what else can you expect from a great place with excellent service and friendly faces. This is one of our favorite restaurants and the Margaritas are awesome!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, IL
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Hope the Local Residents Appreciate You!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is a gem that this city guy really did enjoy. We met the owner Mark and his Wife (sorry I cannot remember your name) they have done their time in the urban area and have decided to go back to their roots. I only hope that the locals appreciate their fine food.
I had the sirloin steak (I am very picky ask my wife) and it was very good. My wife had fish and she to enjoyed it a great deal.
It was a terribly cold, windy and snowy evening and they could not have been more friendly and “warm.”
What guy would not love a restaurant that has “Legos” on every table?

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mark Allen's American Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Mark Allen's American Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mark Allen's American Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.