We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Old Rectory to your Saves list
The Old Rectory
Chicklade | Hindon, Chicklade SP3 5SU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Chicklade B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

After my overnight stay at The Old Rectory I have to say that I was hugely impressed. It all starts with the welcome for me, and a huge welcome is what you get from both of it's owners Lynda & Colin, and after what can so sometimes be a long journey, this can be much needed. I was given my key and shown up to my room, and for a B&B I couldn't get over the size of the room allocated. This en suite double room was very comfortable and impeccably clean.

After settling in nicely I went into the local village for a bite to eat at a pub that Polly my researcher had also chosen and features in the Wiltshire restaurant section. Upon returning to the Old Rectory, I was greeted by the owners who proceeded to ask if I fancied a hot chocolate… how could I possibly resist! After what turned out to be the best nights sleep I'd had in 6 days travelling, I headed downstairs for a wonderful breakfast of 'Poached Eggs & Smoked Salmon' with great coffee, true breakfast heaven! The owners obviously put enormous importance on sending their guests on their way not feeling hungry!

Lynda and Colin are great hosts. The Old Rectory is just a short drive to attractions such as Stonehenge, Longleat and Stourhead The Old Rectory is also an ideal base to visit the Medieval City of Salisbury and the beautiful Roman city of Bath,

Joshua Stevenson (Travel Journalist)

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
26
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Although we only stayed one night, the hosts Lynda & Colin, made us feel especially welcome. From the moment we booked the family room, after chatting to Lynda, I knew we had made a good choice. It is listed as a bed and breakfast, but the quality of the rooms and fittings were better than many hotels I have stayed in.
The family room, was two separate rooms linked with an adjoining door, the children had two big beds to sleep in and enough play space on the floor to build the Lego. The main bedroom had a large comfortable bed, with plenty of cupboard space, tea and coffee, TV on the wall.
The breakfast in the morning was plentiful, great selection of cooked food, cereals, juice etc
The location is just off the A303, but they have a big drive to park in and I could not hear any traffic. A great spot to visit Longleat for the day or Avebury.
Lastly, Lynda & Colin are exceptional hosts, warm, friendly and could not help us enough to make our stay wonderful. Better than excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Amazing place to stay...They make you feel so welcomed it's truly great to stay up here...it was only 19mins from Longleat and after we went to Salisbury with the helpful direction from the wonderful owners...truly amazing

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

My wife and I had a great holiday here. Lynda & Colin are great hosts with good advice and ideas when required. Breakfast was great with a good choice of cooked to order food plus different fresh fruit each day. Plenty to do in and area the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Just Stayed for 4 nights in this lovely B&B .The owners going out of their way to provide you with good service .Although we have visited this area quite often as it is not that far from home Lynne was still able to come up with little gems each day of something different for us to see.If you were new to this area then the list of places to visit would be endless .It is close to Longleat,Stonehenge,Stourhead and Salisbury.I was a little concerned as the house is just off the busy A303 but once inside was amazed at how quiet and peaceful it was in our room .There are only 3 guest rooms which are all on the third floor of this impressive property and we were fortunate to get a free upgrade to the family suite which would have been ideal for a family .We were greeted with tea and cake on arrival and the breakfast was cooked to perfection.There is also ample off road parking .If you are looking for somewhere to stay in this locality I can not see how you could find better hospitality than the Old Rectory

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We went away for my boyfriends 27th birthday, the old rectory was prefect for our stay and catered our every need (and more). We stayed here for two nights in 2 of the rooms, the service was lovely! So helpful and friendly, and the rooms were very nice! I would most definitely recommend staying here for anyone of any age, the rooms are very homely and the area is lovely.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

We could not have been made more welcome! The attention to detail in the Family Suite guaranteed a delightful stay. Run by a charming family who truly believe in hospitality, this calm, beautiful house is simply a pleasure from arrival, through a cosy night in a superb bed, to a tasty, well-presented breakfast to the final farewell. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Address: Chicklade | Hindon, Chicklade SP3 5SU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chicklade
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chicklade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory is conveniently situated on the A303 but well set back in its own grounds nestling next to All Saints Church. Stonehenge is just a 20-minute drive, Longleat 20 minutes and Salisbury 25 minutes. It offers a great location base for your holiday and to explore the many local attractions within the beautiful Wiltshire, Dorset and Somerset countryside or to break your journey while travelling to and from the West Country. Walkers and cyclist are very welcome we are very close to Dorset and Wiltshire walkways. The Old Rectory has been sensitively and stylishly refurbished by the present owners Lynda & Colin Masefield. Guests are assured of a warm welcome, friendly service in lovely surroundings. The affordable price includes a delicious full English breakfast using locally sourced produce. The en-suite bedrooms including a family suite have been refurbished to a very high standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Rectory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.