We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely owners and rooms!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Old Rectory to your Saves list
The Old Rectory
Chicklade | Hindon, Chicklade SP3 5SU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Chicklade B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely owners and rooms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We went away for my boyfriends 27th birthday, the old rectory was prefect for our stay and catered our every need (and more). We stayed here for two nights in 2 of the rooms, the service was lovely! So helpful and friendly, and the rooms were very nice! I would most definitely recommend staying here for anyone of any age, the rooms are very homely and the area is lovely.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
26
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

We could not have been made more welcome! The attention to detail in the Family Suite guaranteed a delightful stay. Run by a charming family who truly believe in hospitality, this calm, beautiful house is simply a pleasure from arrival, through a cosy night in a superb bed, to a tasty, well-presented breakfast to the final farewell. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Very warm welcome, lovely house. Parking very convenient. Owners will recommend local places to eat and know all there is to know about the local area.
We stayed here for one night to visit old Wardour castle.
Breakfast was lovely, cooked to order. Stayed in the French themed room on the top floor which was comfortable (lovely bed) and well decorated and has en-suite.
Would recommend! :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

The bed and breakfast was excellent the room was more than expected. The breakfasts were very good cooked English breakfasts as well as a choice of cereals and yogurts etc. The service was great and they both made us feel at home an recommend us places to visit in the area and where to eat locally. Would love to return again with out a doubt.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

The Old Rectory is situated on the A303 and as such is subject to much noise from this very busy highway, but this is really the only detraction. Windows are double pane so I could hardly hear the traffic with the windows shut. I arrived very early and was courteously received even though there was no obligation to do so. Breakfast was great and bathroom facilities etc were first class. Car park is convenient to rooms and safe. No complaints a good stay at a reasonable price

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Par, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I have never felt the need to leave a review so have only signed up to Tripadvisor for this review. My wife, 2 children (12 and 2) and I planned a trip to visit Longleat Safari Park, among other places. Searching for nearby places The Old Rectory caught my eye. The website was really helpful with plenty of pictures. So I booked the family room. And what a room! Well actually two rooms with a private bathroom. There was so much space to move around in it made it feel like a real home from home. It was light, clean and had brilliant facilities including a fridge and hair dryer (for my wife). The Old Rectory is really easy to find as it is just off the A303 in Chicklade. It is set back from the road with fantastic parking and grounds. In the room you can not hear the traffic at all. My wife is lactose intolerant and Lynda and Colin provided a top notch lactose free breakfast for her. I would recommend to anyone, especially families. Longleat is really close, as is Stonehenge. Thank you Lynda and Colin.

Room Tip: Family Room is excellent, Lovely double bed for a couple and two single beds in the adjoining room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were looking for a b and b near Longleat Safari Park and found this one and saw the other reviews so decided to book this place, arrived their and it was so beautiful pulling up, Lynda and Colin was so warm and welcoming and showed us to our king size room which was beautiful and very clean, great nights sleep as bed was so comfortable, breakfast was excellent. They went out of their way to help. Would definitely recommend this B and B to other people.

Room Tip: if you are a couple try and get the king size French suite like me and my fiancé did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Address: Chicklade | Hindon, Chicklade SP3 5SU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chicklade
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chicklade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory is conveniently situated on the A303 but well set back in its own grounds nestling next to All Saints Church. Stonehenge is just a 20-minute drive, Longleat 20 minutes and Salisbury 25 minutes. It offers a great location base for your holiday and to explore the many local attractions within the beautiful Wiltshire, Dorset and Somerset countryside or to break your journey while travelling to and from the West Country. Walkers and cyclist are very welcome we are very close to Dorset and Wiltshire walkways. The Old Rectory has been sensitively and stylishly refurbished by the present owners Lynda & Colin Masefield. Guests are assured of a warm welcome, friendly service in lovely surroundings. The affordable price includes a delicious full English breakfast using locally sourced produce. The en-suite bedrooms including a family suite have been refurbished to a very high standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Rectory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.