We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming and lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Old Rectory to your Saves list
The Old Rectory
Chicklade | Hindon, Chicklade SP3 5SU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Chicklade B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very welcoming and lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed at The old Rectory on Sunday night with my husband and 21 month old Daughter.
Lynda and Colin were both very welcoming and we all felt instantly comfortable.
We were greeted with a pot of tea and home made scones and jam/cream- delicious!
We stayed in the King room, as the family room was already taken, but this was plenty big enough for the three of us. The room was very well decorated, clean and with a very comfortable bed.
The on-suit was a shower room and perfect for our needs.
Lynda recommended a place for us to go for dinner, and even called a booked us a table. The Angel pub in Hindon didn't disappoint, and we had a lovely roast dinner.
Breakfast the next morning was also very good- a selection of cereals, fruit and juices, as well as a full English and toast- we certainly didn't leave the take hungry!
All in all, our stay couldn't have been any nicer- nothing felt like it was too much trouble- even when my daughter managed to throw almost an entire packet of honey Cheerios all over the stairs carpet!

I would highly recommend staying at The Old Rectory, and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
28
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We recently stayed here for 2 nights with our 2 children (aged 3 and 4 months) and would highly recommend it. Lynda and Colin (like every other review has stated) are wonderful hosts and really do make you feel welcome. Couldn't ask for a better service.
The room we had was the family one and it was fantastically furnished and very clean and modern. The beds were SO comfy - always overlooked by places... you can't beat a good bed for a good sleep!
The breakfast was very tasty and sent us off both days with a well nourished stomach!
Definitely a thumbs up for this charming B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

A very happy find situated on the A303 ideal for exploring Stonehenge, Longleat, Salisbury etc - the list is endless. The property is very pretty and our en suite room comfortable, well appointed and scrupulously clean. We found the hosts, Colin and Lynda, were genuinely interested in their guests' comfort, convenience and happy to spend time over maps and guide books sharing local knowledge of 'pretty routes' and places to visit that might otherwise be overlooked. Breakfast rates an eleven out of ten. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We booked this place based on recommendation and had a family room (Salisbury Suite) which is two rooms interconnected (both areas were beautifully decorated and immaculately clean), with all the nice little touches you appreciate but don't expect. Both rooms had a flat screen TV and my children (aged 10 & 8) loved their "room". The service was faultless - both Linda & Colin were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The whole place was lovely and tastefully decorated. Breakfast was just as lovely with all tastes catered for. We stayed for two nights and wish we'd stayed for longer, will definitely return again and would recommend to anyone. Really was perfect - have never stayed anywhere as nice as that, all credit to Linda and Colin for all their hard work in making this place as lovely as it is. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Very last minute booking, so glad we found this lovely b and b. We were made to feel so welcome, and with children that is something important to us. Shown to the Salisbury Suite straight away, which had two rooms! The room was spotlessly clean, the decor was lovely, and the beds very comfortable. Lynda gave us a jug of fresh milk to make tea/coffee. Felt that nothing would be too much trouble, they them booked us a table at a local pub for dinner.
Breakfast in the morning was wonderful, all freshly cooked to order. Lynda's homemade muesli was really lovely.
Will definitely return for a longer stay next time.

Room Tip: Salisbury suite was fantastic for families, as the grown ups get a room to themselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was my favorite of all the places we stayed in England. Its a pretty white house in a sweet garden below a little church, and we were given a thoroughly clean and comfortable suite on the top floor, perfect for a family. What makes the Old Rectory special is the attentiveness and deep local knowledge of the proprietors, Colin and Linda, who know everyone in the neighborhood and who have furnished their house with a wealth of literature on the nearby towns, attractions, and businesses. They reserved us a spot for a delicious dinner at the inn in nearby Hindon (and Colin personally gave us a ride there), directed us along the prettiest route to Salisbury, found us a good teahouse in Tisbury, told us of a wonderful walk around the lakes on the estate, and suggested a trip into Shaftesbury, which was a breathtaking old town I would have missed without their guidance. I don't know when I have ever stayed anywhere and felt so looked after. If I had it to do over again, I would plan a much longer stay at the Old Rectory. I very much recommend it.

Room Tip: The family room is two rooms and a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at The Old Rectory and it was just as good as the first visit. The Amesbury rooom is modern, very comfortable and clean. Lynda's cooked breakfast is something worth getting up for. I will stay again when I am driving down to Cornwall on business.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Address: Chicklade | Hindon, Chicklade SP3 5SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chicklade
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chicklade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory is conveniently situated on the A303 but well set back in its own grounds nestling next to All Saints Church. Stonehenge is just a 20-minute drive, Longleat 20 minutes and Salisbury 25 minutes. It offers a great location base for your holiday and to explore the many local attractions within the beautiful Wiltshire, Dorset and Somerset countryside or to break your journey while travelling to and from the West Country. Walkers and cyclist are very welcome we are very close to Dorset and Wiltshire walkways. The Old Rectory has been sensitively and stylishly refurbished by the present owners Lynda & Colin Masefield. Guests are assured of a warm welcome, friendly service in lovely surroundings. The affordable price includes a delicious full English breakfast using locally sourced produce. The en-suite bedrooms including a family suite have been refurbished to a very high standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Rectory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.