We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Muddy Duck

The Muddy Duck
42 Monkton Farleigh | Bradford on Avon, Monkton Farleigh BA152QH, England
+44 1225 858705
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Muddy Duck is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Set within a 17th-century stone-clad building, The Muddy Duck - Monkton Farleigh has preserved many of its original features and offers quality British fare. Overlooking a charming hillside hamlet, The Muddy Duck in Bath, Avon features a flagstone courtyard for al fresco dining, alongside a spacious garden with views over the local farmland. Inside, sunken sofas and a sprawling fireplace make the dining area a cosy affair, whilst the bar champions fine malts and real ales.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Following a Condo Nash review, we visited the Muddy Duck tonight with my father. The welcome was friendly and the menu and specials clearly explained. The option of 'nibbles' was well worth the sample, and my duck liver was full of flavour. The pace of the meal was respectful to unhurried dinners, and the presentation of the mains very good. In summation, the main courses were plentiful and very tasty but sadly a significant piece of cling film left on the ox cheek detracted from what was an excellent meal. This flaw was raised with the manager and the positive response recovered the 'error'; the issue was handled both promptly and professionally.
In summary, I would return, the meal experience was worth the travel, being both flavourful, ample and with a courteous and unobtrusive service.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    40
    16
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

First time at this restaurant and disappointed to be honest. Service was slow, despite it not being full when we placed our order - waited for what seemed an eternity - actually joking that perhaps they had gone to catch the cows for the steaks!! The food was absolutely nothing to shout home about - over-priced and nothing special. My husband had the steak and said he had had far better steaks elsewhere and cheaper than what we were charged. What is it with the fries - £3+ for potato sticks - horrible!! The sticky toffee pudding was awful - the worst one I have ever eaten - a little bit of sauce on top and then nothing but dry sponge - not good at all. Overall it was a failure as far as we were concerned, and we will not be returning to this venue in a hurry.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Revamped and renamed.......but work still to do.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We used to visit when this place was 'The Kings Arms' - after a few disappointing experiences we haven't been back for a while but decided to give it another try after looking at the website and realising that it has been updated and revamped....
The pub has been reworked with the old bar becoming the new restaurant and looks welcoming and well thought out.....however, our main criteria is not the decorations (looks can be deceiving after all!!) Service was not unfriendly but slightly perfunctory - when we were undecided on wines, there was not much assistance to be had. When the food arrived, it was fine but really nothing to rave about...standard pub fare plated thoughtfully.....we had duck and it was served in two large slabs, making it really difficult to cut and appearing very tough. It would have been better had the duck been sliced thinner - skin was also flabby not adding to the appearance...
All in all, an experience we have repeated in many country pubs - decent food but nothing to write home about...not sure I would be keen to return in a hurry - perhaps if we were passing by and not wanting to cook, I would stop for a burger or fish and chips. Not a place I would recommend for a special celebration or 'occasion.' Shame.....as it could be......

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“We chose our next evening's meal before we finished the first one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

David and I were spending our 13th wedding anniversary weekend at the Muddy Duck accommodation, and for us it was an all-round welcoming and delicious experience.

At our first evening meal for starters I had devilled kidneys and David had the pork terrine, and for our main course I had the rib-eye steak and David had Haddock in beer batter which was so light. We swapped our main courses at the half way stage!

When looking for a relaxing home from home to stay near Bath, the Muddy Duck won us over because of the mouth-wateringly descriptive menu and the imaginative bedrooms. As we were staying in room No.2 (see separate accommodation entry) for two nights we had already made our minds up what to eat on the second night at the same time we were eating our meal on the first evening!

It had to be the slow cooked belly of Wiltshire pork with lemon and herb stuffing and roasted root vegetables (for two to share). Before we tucked into this excellent meal we enjoyed pork crackling with a chilli apple sauce – just look at the photo as to how inventive the Muddy Duck chef is – two foot long strips of the tastiest, crunchiest crackling you will ever munch on!

Breakfast on both days were also up to an excellent standard; David had full English and I enjoyed the kippers. We never have kippers at home because the smell seems to last in the house all day, so this was a special treat for me. The meals and accommodation make the Muddy Duck an excellent place to stay and superb place to eat. Certainly worth a repeat visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Went for a Sunday lunch and the place did not disappoint. The roast shin beef was excellent and the portions were very generous. The place is clearly well run and the has been tastefully refurbished. This is the second time we have visited and the food has been great on both occasions. Must not forget the staff. Friendly, helpful and efficient.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Muddy Duck also viewed

Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Muddy Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Muddy Duck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.