We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay But PASS on the restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown
500 Hamilton Boulevard, Peoria, IL 61602   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Peoria
Frankfort, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Stay But PASS on the restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Conveniently located, nice clean rooms, decent price, very professional and helpful staff. Pass on the restaurant!!!!! Saturday morning had the buffet. Most of the food was cold and tasteless. Sunday we tried again. About 10 AM, no hostess to seat anyone, had to grab a seat when someone got up. Waited 20 minutes for a waitress to clean the table and take our order. This time we ordered off the menu to get hot food. 35 minutes later with no coffee refills or food we left without eating. They were busy but very disorganized. Need a new manager who knows something about running a restaurant.

Room Tip: Stay here but plan to eat elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    28
    36
    28
    26
See reviews for
30
15
2
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Peoria, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Worst experience ever! I booked a room for one night and left the next day and was charged for 3!! They set me up with room 831 and i was given keys to 831 and when I left the next day I turned in my keys for 831. Then i get a call from Kraig the security guy, calling me at home at 3:00 am, saying I will be charged for a completely different room than the one I am staying in!! I wasted hours with these people and the manager won't talk to me but he has his security guy call me at 3 in the morning??!! Uncalled for! Unacceptable! This hotel deals in underhand dealings! And none of the staff cared! Never Again! Avoid Avoid Avoid!

Room Tip: Do not Stay here! Save yourself the hassle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear theunluckycustomer,
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. We clearly did not meet or exceed your expectations. Please contact me at lrose@fourpointspeoria.com to discuss your experience further and to ensure that you were charged correctly. We sincerely hope the rest of your stay in Peoria was a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week along with many other teams during the World Series of softball the week of 7/22. The cleaning, maintenance and front desk staff were wonderful and tried very hard but this Sheraton is poorly run. I'm guessing they are not used to being busy and even knowing they would be at capacity were not prepared. The good - beds were comfortable, service staff were kind and helpful, we had a nice view of DT Peoria and the river, easy access to highways. The bad - rooms are in dire need of a thorough cleaning (under beds etc), 1 of 2 lobby elevators was out during our stay - we were told all week by staff the motor was on its way but learned as the week progresses from business travelers who stay here regularly it had been broken for MONTHS! With 2 little ones and a ton of softball gear stairs were not an option and we had to leave 20-30m early for the elevator. There is only 1 set of washer/ dryer for guests of the hotel. The hot tub was broken. The signage inside the hotel was poor. Also. The waitress we had at the onsite restaurant was overwhelmed, charged us incorrectly and insisted we pay for drinks that weren't ours just because she had rung them incorrectly (we didn't).
Aside from the hotel, DT Peoria is really quiet, a bit of activity down by the riverfront but not much. There was a Joe's Crab Shack and a great pizza place we went to while there but a lot of things were shut down and we spent more time on the other side of the river. I'm a Starwood Preferred member and stay at a lot of Starwood properties, overall I would say this one did not live up to expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Jaguilar24,
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at Four Points. We are delighted that you enjoyed our accommodations, service and location. We apologize for the inconvenience of the elevator. This has been resolved. We hope we can make this up to you should you give us another chance. Please feel free to contact me at lrose@fourpointspeoria.com to discuss your experience further. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was looking forward to using and building my status with spg so I chose this hotel. I realize now I should have checked the reviews here first! First of all it took forever for me to find my room, considering the signage listing didn't even include my room number. After three trips to the front desk for directions (dragging my luggage) I found that my room was with the indoor pool and no outside window (never mind that my reservation read "river/city view"). I figured I could live with the pool right outside my door even if I don't swim, but I couldn't live with the dead drain flies on the windowsill or the ants crawling in the bathroom. Seriously! Three calls from the house phone to the front desk went unanswered so I called the hotel from my cell phone as I was repacking my bag...again no answer. The worst was the total lack of reaction from the desk clerk when I told him I'm leaving...it was as if he hears this regularly! It's a shame because its a good location and nice building, lobby etc. and there's no other Starwood property in the area. Oh well, at least I found another room nearby much nicer and less expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear MWMan,
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at our hotel. We clearly did not meet or exceed your expectations. Please contact me at lrose@fourpointspeoria.com to discuss your stay further. We sincerely hope the rest of your visit in Peoria was a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Aside from the outdated tired decor and state of the property, the service is really spotty. I waited 90 minutes for room service because they forgot my order and had a hard time reaching the front desk, room service and guest services by phone. Probably the most disappointing Four Points I've stayed in, the Marriott down the street looks much nicer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear mcamym,
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. Great customer service is very important to us and we will ensure that we implement the necessary trainings to ensure that we are delivering great guest experiences. Please contact me at lrose@fourpointspeoria.com to discuss your stay further. We sincerely hope the rest of your visit in Peoria was a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Hope you packed patience in your luggage; you're going to need some extra if you stay here.
We were part of the Girls Softball World Series for our M - F stay in downtown Peoria, IL. The hotel was teaming with many families, all with gear that goes along with this type of event. My daughter booked the room in February. The hotel canceled the booking 2 weeks prior to the stay. The only way she found out they had done so was through an email from the father of a member of the team; he had received an email asking how his stay at the hotel went. When he called the hotel to say he wasn't due to arrive for another couple of weeks, he was informed that they couldn't find a reservation for him for the date he gave. They did find a room for him. Subsequently, the team parent sent out an info email to other parents. There were other such happenstances with others. Could need to retrain reservationists and keep an eye on the process. This needs to be a focus of management.
During our stay, only one of the two lobby elevators were working. They opened up the tiny maintenance elevator at the back of the hotel. It was difficult squeezing softball equipment & cleaning trolleys together along with people. Plan to leave 20-30 minutes to wait for the elevator. Of course, you could use the stairs.
Our room was clean, but do check under the beds. We had candy, feathers, & could tell it hadn't been vacuumed in a while. Also, the tub had a chunk taken out of the enamel on the top. However, the beds & bedding were clean & comfortable. We had two double beds & could see the river. Currently, only floors 6 & above have small refrigerators if you need one. The opposite side of the hallway either look into or down on the hotel parking garage. It was nice to have the garage connected to the hotel.
The cleaning staff was fantastic, friendly, & responsive. They are the jewels of this property. I need to give kudos to the maintenance man, too. He was quick & helpful in repairing a broken chain in the tank of the toilet. YAY!
We did receive cocktail tickets, which was nice. A buffet breakfast was provided on the lower level, as part of the GSWS attendees. Food was prepared nicely & had a good variety. The room was difficult to find the first time. Needed to have more signage pointing the way.
Downtown Peoria is quite quiet. There wasn't much goin on. Call restaurants before you go; they may have closed.
Speaking of restaurants...there is a bar & restaurant (used to be a Benigan's) at the hotel. Slow service, mixed up bills (check the items & price; we were handed a bill that had another group's bar bill on it.), & had to ask for flatware AFTER our food was served. There is a pizza place about a block away that delivers.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Eledind,
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. We clearly did not meet or exceed your expectations. Unfortunately the new elevator motor we ordered was delayed, thus we were down an elevator during your visit. We sincerely apologize for the reservation confusion. We have had some staff changes and will do our best to ensure that we are consistently delivering great customer service. Please contact me at lrose@fourpointspeoria.com should you wish to discuss your experience further. We sincerely hope the rest of your stay in Peoria and the softball tournament was a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Like I said, I'm generally not very impressed w/Four Points by Sheraton. They often seem like old properties that have been recycled one too many times. This certainly isn't a new property, but I thought the room was completely fine -- it good sized and comfortable. Staff were completely pleasant. The food in the bar was OK.

One thing to be aware of: the parking ramp is seriously weird. You enter in from an alley. If you park on the ground level (the level you drive in on), to leave the ramp, you have to go up one level, and then be quick to see where the exit down is. Really, it's confusing the first time you confront it.

But the parking is free. The ramp is a little dark. So, I could imagine some people might feel a little uncomfortable in there at night. On the other hand, it's so non-intuitive to get into, I can imagine someone up to no good just might not find the place either. :-)

Room Tip: 8th Floor Facing the River was a completely great place to be.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear rw939,
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at Four Points Peoria Downtown. We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel amenities and restaurant. We will share your comments about the parking ramp with our team as we continue to evaluate ways to improve our hotel. We hope you'll come back to see us should your travels bring you back to Peoria in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown

Address: 500 Hamilton Boulevard, Peoria, IL 61602
Location: United States > Illinois > Peoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Peoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown is near I-74, the civic center, medical areas, and O'Brien Field. Our IL hotel has free shuttle service, 22,000 sq ft of event space, and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Peoria Downtown
Four Points By Sheraton Peoria Downtown Hotel Peoria
Peoria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.