We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disgusted” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown

Save Saved
You added Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Hamilton Boulevard, Peoria, IL 61602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #19 of 23 hotels in Peoria
Sycamore, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“disgusted”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel filthy, noisy, and in great need of repair. The hotel room had paint peeling, wallpaper peeling, and dirt visible on hard surfaces including fixtures in the bathrooms. The bathtub faucet was leaking, but more disturbing was the unremovable mat in the bathtub that was filthy. When I set something down on the nightstand, dust circulated in the air. The lampshade was torn and had stains on it. The bed was NOT comfortable. It felt as if someone put a pillowtop on a piece of plywood. I brought clorex wipes......not enough and I should have brought bleach instead. The hotel was hosting a convention. There were drunken men in the hallway yelling and knocking on doors all evening. Please, please stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    28
    36
    28
    26
See reviews for
30
15
2
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

If you need to be downtown Peoria, the location will fit the bill. That said, I would not recommend this property. Our room had a certain funky smell, it was dingy with tired furnishings and carpet. Ice was located on a few floors only which was a pain. One good feature was a pool. It is quite large, the kids loved it. Bottom line, we won't be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stay here each year during a conference. We bring the kids, who enjoy the pool and the glass elevators. Benigan's is great to have right there, and the parking garage is pretty easy to get in and out of. It's getting updated and has improved over the last few years.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Hotel has potential of being very nice if updated. Room was clean, bed comfortable. Service lacked. Room service got our order wrong both mornings. Leak in sink. Wall paper peeling in places. Able to regulate room temp which was a definite plus. For what we needed and what we paid it was fine.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
It’s good to learn that you enjoyed your stay at The Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown. We were happy to have you as a guest and are pleased that you enjoyed your Four Points by Sheraton Four Comfort Bed™ as well as your clean, spacious accommodations. We hear all that you have to say, however, and want you to know that we are planning additional renovations this year to improve and update the hotel and our rooms. We thank you for your comments and will review them carefully with our staff to make sure we are providing quality, friendly service at all times. Please come back and stay with us again so we can demonstrate to you how highly we value you as a guest and how committed we are to customer satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I never write bad reviews and I'm stuck in the middle with this hotel. The check in was good and staff nice, the lobby and elevators were nice. However, the parking garage which is around back of the hotel was very dark and walking from the garage into the hotel looks old and ran down. I think we were the only ones put on a floor with an entire teenage girls softball team with no parental control. They did offer to move us to a different floor because of the chaos in the halls, but that was at 11:30pm. Some of the grout on the bathroom floor was black and so was some of the caulking in the shower and the bathroom door didn't latch so it wouldn't stay closed. In short, the room needed some attention. One good thing was it's within several blocks to the river walk area and activities in that area which we were there for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed our convenient location in Downtown Peoria, only blocks away from the Civic Center and many other attractions, as well as courteous and professional service from our staff. However, we regret that other elements of your stay did not meet your expectations. We will thoroughly review all of your comments and make improvements where necessary, and please know that in addition to that, we are planning renovations at the hotel this year. We encourage you to visit us again. We’ll do everything we can to make it a superb stay from beginning to end. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Spent two nights at this property while attending a conference. I expected more but it was just average. Dust on the phone, Doritos in the cushion of the chair; Called front desk about the issues and was told that they would make a note of it. They have upgraded to a flat screen TV. I enjoyed the complimentary breakfast buffet and the 3 drinks at the bar!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed much of your stay, including our breakfast buffet and our lounge. We want each guest to experience complete comfort and relaxation while with us. We regret that elements of your stay did not meet your expectations and thank you for informing us of issues in your room; we will review our policies and procedures to make sure the situation was handled appropriately and to determine if any changes are needed. We encourage you to return for another stay at the hotel when we will do everything we can to impress you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The title tells the best part of this hotel. The bed was great. I had a wonderful night's sleep despite the difficulties in other areas of the hotel. Luckily, I normally stay up very late.

I was there as part of the IHSA state boys' basketball tournament. I don't think the hotel was prepared for the situation with so many teams staying there. Many of the student athletes and their fans did not behave well. They were inconsiderate and very loud even late at night. The open atrium layout allowed for all of the noise in the lobby and public area off of the lobby to travel to all of the guest room floors. I know this is just a layout problem, but more staff should have been on duty to help control the crowds. If people don't know how to behave, they may need a staff member to point out proper behavior to them so the other guests may also have a pleasant stay.

I saw no attempt at crowd control on Friday night. On Saturday night I did see security on the 5th floor which is where we stayed. He spoke to several girls who were shouting at each other in the hallway after 10 PM.

On Friday night there was a very messy pile of food in the middle of the elevator floor. We rode the elevator twice with the food on the floor after hearing someone tell the front desk about the mess. I did finally see a staff member with cleaning equipment heading to the elevator.

I know that a lot of what we saw was probably not typical of this hotel, but if they book many rooms with high schoolers, they need to schedule extra staff to handle the situation. That seems to be common sense to me.

Our room appeared reasonably clean, although a clothes hanger was hanging from the shower curtain pole, which made me question how clean it really was. There were some small repairs that should have been done, like part of the door to the bathroom showing damage. Overall the room was okay. The bed was comfortable and clean though, and easily the best part of our stay.

The hotel is located within easy walking distance of the Civic Center so that's a plus!

Room Tip: If it looks like a loud crowd, ask for a room as far away from the elevators and atrium as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown. We are so glad to hear you got a great night’s sleep on our comfortable Sheraton Four Comfort Bed™ and that you enjoyed your accommodations. We regret that other parts of your stay were not equally restful. We will review all of your comments thoroughly to see if staffing or other changes are needed. We hope that you had fun at the state basketball tournament and invite you back to stay with us again – for our convenient location in Downtown Peoria and our comfortable, clean rooms – but most of all, so we can demonstrate our dedication to customer service and satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown

Address: 500 Hamilton Boulevard, Peoria, IL 61602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Peoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 hotels in Peoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown is near I-74, the civic center, medical areas, and O'Brien Field. Our IL hotel has free shuttle service, 22,000 sq ft of event space, and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Peoria Downtown Hotel Peoria
4 Points By Sheraton Peoria Downtown
Peoria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.