We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Housekeeping Never Showed....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Hamilton Boulevard, Peoria, IL 61602   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Peoria
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Housekeeping Never Showed....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a college-related event in nearby Eureka and spent two nights. Maybe it was because of the weekend, maybe it was Peoria, but just a tad sketch in the lobby. After returning from a day long event Saturday, found our room just as we left it, beds unmade, towels still on vanity. Maybe staff takes the weekend off too. Atrium design means that ALL noise from the lobby (or anywhere else) permeates the entire building, charity auction lasted until 11ish, then revelers made their way to their rooms for another hour or so - what ambiance!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We regret that your recent visit was not what you had hoped. Our goal is to provide outstanding accommodations in a warm and friendly environment, and it seems we missed the mark with you. We also like to respond to any guest’s room or housekeeping concerns immediately and wish we had that opportunity in your case. Our Housekeeping Department will review your comments thoroughly and make any changes that are warranted. We truly appreciate your feedback and value you as our guest. Please come back to stay with us again so we can demonstrate our commitment to customer satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    28
    36
    28
    26
See reviews for
30
15
2
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
waterloo
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

parking garage was scarry. elevator smelled bad. check in was ok. the room was dirty and needs to be updated. Bathroom was small and not clean. beds were very small but comfortable. heater in room was very loud all night. shuttle bus was not available when I needed it.the ice machine was broken. When I asked staff they said it had been broken for some time. overall the hotel is dirty and outdated. it was worth the 45 dollars but not worth much more. I expected a nice hotel from sheraton.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
It’s good to learn that you found comfort and value with us, but we’re sorry to hear that not all elements of your stay lived up to your expectations. We want each guest to have an outstanding stay with us from beginning to end, and we hope that guests like you will notify us of any issues or concerns during your visit so we can address them immediately. We are dedicated to customer service, and invite you back for another visit so we can prove that to you and regain your trust in our hotel and brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwaubenon, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at the Four Points hotel as it was close to the Civic Center(two blocks). The front desk staff were polite, knowledgeable and prompt. There were several large groups staying the same weekend so the place was busy but they were able to handle the pace. Parking is close and with ticket validation is free. Unlimited in/out privileges. Our room was average and the beds were on the firm side. A smoke free hotel is a plus! The pool area is spacious and reminded me of a smaller version of the old Holidomes. If you had a large group and wanted a place to hang out with other families with the coolers full of snacks and beverages this would work nicely. The exercise room is better than most with free weights and enough treadmills and elliptical machines to accommodate most crowds. We ate at their brunch and it was adequate. We used their free shuttle service and were able to have a late checkout around 1:00pm. I would definitely stay again for an event at the Civic Center.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown and that you were able to take advantage of much of what we offer, including free parking and our Fitness Center. We are also pleased that you received excellent service because that is our goal for each of our guests. We look forward to having you back at the hotel when we will do all we can to provide another superb experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The best part of this hotel are the location and the staff. Located smack in the middle of Peoria, it is walking distance to most things in the downtown area. The staff is always warm and friendly and always doing what they can to get you what you may need. Despite the fact that several floors have had new carpeting installed, the rooms are in need of a makeover and major refreshing. Additionally, the wireless service can be sketchy, especially if you are staying on the wrong side of the hotel. The elevators can require a long wait, especially in the morning when people are headed out and about. I am wondering if big changes are coming as Marriott adds two new hotels a block away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your thorough review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location in the heart of Downtown Peoria and that our staff impressed you with friendly, professional service. Regarding the appearance of the hotel, you noticed the new carpeting that is being installed. Each floor will have new carpeting when that project is completed. We are also planning additional renovations this year, which should address some of your other concerns. As you point out, we do offer free Wireless High Speed Internet Access. If a guest ever has a problem with the service, we ask to be notified immediately so we can take steps to rectify the situation. We hope you’ll be back to stay with us in the future to see the improvements we’re making and to enjoy more of our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Kudos to the staff at the Four Points in Peoria for expert management during a music convention this weekend. The hotel was completely booked. Many of the rooms had four people in them. The check in process for my group of 35 staff and students went smoothly as did the check out. Breakfast was included in the cost of the room and was hearty and healthy. The beds in my room were comfortable.
For the location, service and meal, I rate this hotel five stars.
The carpet is in need of replacement. The bathroom fixtures are worn. Some of my party reported that they had no hot water for showers. The lighting fixtures are old and do not fully illuminate the guest room. The guest room doors slam, so sleep is interrupted. The individual heating units sound like a hair dryer when they cycle, interrupting sleep. The elevators are small and slow, making the wait time for an elevator during peak periods as long as 15 minutes.
It is time for this property to be renovated. I rate the facilities two stars.
Still, I would stay at this property with our group for next years convention because of the location, breakfast and service, so the overall rating is 3 stars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your thorough assessment of the Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown Hotel. We are very pleased that we were part of what sounds like a great weekend at your music convention. We thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, location and service. We also appreciate your comments about elements of your stay you believe could have been better. We listen to our guests and will review your comments and address the issues you mention. If any of our guests has an issue during a stay with us, we ask to be notified immediately so we can rectify the situation as soon as possible. It is great to know that you will be back to see us again. We look forward to it, and hope to wow you in every way next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have stay at this hotel twice in the last month because I am a loyal Starwood member but the last time might be the last time. I try to Peoria to visit with a client and found this hotel to be one of the worst I have stayed in recently. It is not only in need of a total renovation the quality of service is horrible. Last stay I parked my car in the lot attached...it is scary and the elevator and walkway to the hotel is dark and dirty...Lobby is old and tired. My room was not great, bathroom is very small, bed not bad, window treatment needed some repair and the hot water was limited. The second morning of my stay they missed my wakeup call and when I returned my room was not cleaned...Ladies serving breakfast are very nice and efficient....Starwood take your name off this property and but it on another in Peoria...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our Breakfast Buffet, but regret that your visit was not what you had hoped. We will look into the issues you address, whether it was housekeeping, a missed wake-up call or parking, and take steps to prevent a reoccurrence. We value you as a repeat customer and rely on feedback like yours to make adjustments to improve the overall quality of our accommodations and service. We hope you’ll be back to see us again when we will do all can to win back your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

-Front desk service was great, especially Whitney. We were travelling with our 18 month old who's still drinking lots of milk and she worked to ensure we had a room with a mini-fridge.
-Room temp was fine
-Bed and pillows were comfy though the light down comforter on one bed had some gross black markings on a corner that looked like mold . . . or shoe polish
-Bathroom was gross with scum buildup in toilet, mold/mildew in caulking of tub and sandpaper towels and inconsistent water temperature
-Window shades were filthy and stained and had a couple of small holes in them, didn't let a lot of light in, just more signs of apathy and neglect
-HDTV with no HD channels (not just this hotel, but an increasing pet-peeve of mine with most hotels)
-Pool itself was fine, but the water temp and area temp were too cold for January
-We didn't try Bennigan's, but woke up Sunday morning and couldn't figure out why our room (721) smelled like fried grease . . . until we stepped out in to the hallway where it was even stronger - Bennigan's breakfast buffet was the culprit.
-Hotel needs updating, not just aesthetically, trim is cracking, paint and wallpaper are peeling, most of the wood (and the hotel) just looks old and neglected.

I'd really only recommend this hotel if you need a cheap place (<$60) to stay for a night and probably wouldn't do multiple nights. You can find better (newer, cleaner) hotels similarly priced in nicer areas with complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
While we are glad to read that you enjoyed top-notch service during your stay, we deeply regret that your overall experience was not more positive. Guests are encouraged to reach out to members of our team with any concerns preventing them from enjoying their stay. We wish we had the opportunity to resolve the issues you mentioned while you were here, however, we appreciate that you alerted us to them and would like to let you know that we are planning renovations to address much of what you have outlined. In the meantime, we have asked our maintenance and housekeeping teams to look further into your comments to ensuring we are at our best for future guests. Thank you for your review, we hope you’ll consider another stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown

Address: 500 Hamilton Boulevard, Peoria, IL 61602
Location: United States > Illinois > Peoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Peoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown is near I-74, the civic center, medical areas, and O'Brien Field. Our IL hotel has free shuttle service, 22,000 sq ft of event space, and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Peoria Downtown
Four Points By Sheraton Peoria Downtown Hotel Peoria
Peoria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.