We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not may options” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Hamilton Boulevard, Peoria, IL 61602   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Peoria
Boston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not may options”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have stay at this hotel twice in the last month because I am a loyal Starwood member but the last time might be the last time. I try to Peoria to visit with a client and found this hotel to be one of the worst I have stayed in recently. It is not only in need of a total renovation the quality of service is horrible. Last stay I parked my car in the lot attached...it is scary and the elevator and walkway to the hotel is dark and dirty...Lobby is old and tired. My room was not great, bathroom is very small, bed not bad, window treatment needed some repair and the hot water was limited. The second morning of my stay they missed my wakeup call and when I returned my room was not cleaned...Ladies serving breakfast are very nice and efficient....Starwood take your name off this property and but it on another in Peoria...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our Breakfast Buffet, but regret that your visit was not what you had hoped. We will look into the issues you address, whether it was housekeeping, a missed wake-up call or parking, and take steps to prevent a reoccurrence. We value you as a repeat customer and rely on feedback like yours to make adjustments to improve the overall quality of our accommodations and service. We hope you’ll be back to see us again when we will do all can to win back your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    28
    36
    28
    26
See reviews for
30
15
2
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

-Front desk service was great, especially Whitney. We were travelling with our 18 month old who's still drinking lots of milk and she worked to ensure we had a room with a mini-fridge.
-Room temp was fine
-Bed and pillows were comfy though the light down comforter on one bed had some gross black markings on a corner that looked like mold . . . or shoe polish
-Bathroom was gross with scum buildup in toilet, mold/mildew in caulking of tub and sandpaper towels and inconsistent water temperature
-Window shades were filthy and stained and had a couple of small holes in them, didn't let a lot of light in, just more signs of apathy and neglect
-HDTV with no HD channels (not just this hotel, but an increasing pet-peeve of mine with most hotels)
-Pool itself was fine, but the water temp and area temp were too cold for January
-We didn't try Bennigan's, but woke up Sunday morning and couldn't figure out why our room (721) smelled like fried grease . . . until we stepped out in to the hallway where it was even stronger - Bennigan's breakfast buffet was the culprit.
-Hotel needs updating, not just aesthetically, trim is cracking, paint and wallpaper are peeling, most of the wood (and the hotel) just looks old and neglected.

I'd really only recommend this hotel if you need a cheap place (<$60) to stay for a night and probably wouldn't do multiple nights. You can find better (newer, cleaner) hotels similarly priced in nicer areas with complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
While we are glad to read that you enjoyed top-notch service during your stay, we deeply regret that your overall experience was not more positive. Guests are encouraged to reach out to members of our team with any concerns preventing them from enjoying their stay. We wish we had the opportunity to resolve the issues you mentioned while you were here, however, we appreciate that you alerted us to them and would like to let you know that we are planning renovations to address much of what you have outlined. In the meantime, we have asked our maintenance and housekeeping teams to look further into your comments to ensuring we are at our best for future guests. Thank you for your review, we hope you’ll consider another stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

First room was above an incredibly loud wedding reception. Moved to a second room at 10pm, but that room had no heat (in December) and the HVAC unit was falling out of the wall, letting in a rush of cold air and street noise (this hotel is downtown, next to the interstate and three hospitals that attract ambulances with sirens). Night manager was friendly, apologetic, and offered free breakfast vouchers and a third room which was fine aside from the incredibly loud squeaky bathroom door (only a problem when your kid goes to the bathroom at 2am and wakes everyone up). The next day, a different manager told us not to make noise in the pool because guests were in the rooms adjacent to the pool. The pool was the reason I selected this hotel! Wish I brought my family to a different hotel so they could enjoy the pool without looking over their shoulder for the manager. Ironic that we had to be quiet at the pool, but the loud reception was allowed to disturb dozens of rooms during sleeping hours.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
While we are glad our staff was able to find you suitable accommodations, it is truly disappointing that your stay was not more positive. Please accept our deepest apologies for any inconvenience you experienced while you were here. It is obvious that we did not exceed the expectations of stellar service that we’re known for. Our maintenance team is looking into your comments, ensuring all guest rooms are at their best. We will share your review with our entire team, as it gives us valuable insight into areas where we may improve. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, it is our hope to have a future opportunity to change your impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, IL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had stayed at this hotel when it was a Holiday Inn. We didn't noticed that many changes. The bathroom looked like it hadn't been updated at all. The beds were very comfortable. The air conditioned turned on and was very noisy. Great location if you're attending an event at the Civic Center - a 2 block walk. For parking, you have to get your ticket validated by the front desk every time you leave.

Room Tip: Request a room on an upper floor if you can for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We feel extremely fortunate to be situated so close to the Riverfront as well as many Peoria attractions like the Civic Center and it is just great that you enjoyed our location. It is certainly disappointing, however, that we did not surpass your expectation of us and we apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. It is our top priority to ensure our guests have a comfortable stay and will pass along your valued feedback to our team in an effort to improve the experience we offer our guests. Thank you for your review, we hope you’ll consider returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here in October of 2012 and had a good experience with the front staff, the location, and having a Bennigans connected to the property, but the hotel needs considerable updating in the room itself to simple things like the shower head and ironing board. I would not stay here again unless the hotel made considerable changes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts from your recent visit to the Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown. We’re so pleased you enjoyed Bennigan’s Grill & Tavern located in our lobby, the service our staff provided and our downtown location. We also greatly appreciate your suggestions as it allows us to further investigate areas throughout our facilities that may be improved upon. It is our hope to welcome you back for a future stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I had stayed at this hotel about two years ago when it was a Best Western - I think. It was ok at best. I was a little nervous but gave it another try as it was very close to the civic center. I must say the upgrades were very nice! The rooms were redone and now have nice flagscreen tv's and they also offered a wonderful breakfast with a huge selection of food! I look forward to staying in this hotel on my next stay in Peoria. The one recomendation I would make is to request a room on a lower level becaue the elevators are painfully slow and I ended up taking the stairs almost everytime. The staff through out the hotel was wonderful!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
It makes us smile to learn that we exceeded expectations and surprised you with a great experience. We’re so glad to have been able to provide you with everything you needed for a comfortable stay during your recent visit to Peoria. Your kind mention of our team and in-room amenities are appreciated, we will be certain to share your feedback regarding our elevator with our management team. Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our check in was fast,the staff were friendly and helpful.The location and views were nice.The openness of the lobby and the restaurant made for noisy place.Our room was good except that the bathroom was small.No breakfast in the a.m.was disappointing for the price.Bernnigan had a very nice evening meal.Beds were comfortably and a good night sleep followed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We’re happy to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay at the Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, including our Four Points by Sheraton Four Comfort Beds. We’re sorry, however, if you were disrupted by any noise in our common area or if the size of your guest room did not exceed your expectations. We offer packages which include breakfast so we hope during your next visit to Peoria you will be able take advantage of those savings! Thank you for feedback, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown

Address: 500 Hamilton Boulevard, Peoria, IL 61602
Location: United States > Illinois > Peoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Peoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown is near I-74, the civic center, medical areas, and O'Brien Field. Our IL hotel has free shuttle service, 22,000 sq ft of event space, and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Peoria Downtown
Four Points By Sheraton Peoria Downtown Hotel Peoria
Peoria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.