We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but I expected better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Hamilton Boulevard, Peoria, IL 61602   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Peoria
Naperville, IL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice, but I expected better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had stayed at this hotel when it was a Holiday Inn. We didn't noticed that many changes. The bathroom looked like it hadn't been updated at all. The beds were very comfortable. The air conditioned turned on and was very noisy. Great location if you're attending an event at the Civic Center - a 2 block walk. For parking, you have to get your ticket validated by the front desk every time you leave.

Room Tip: Request a room on an upper floor if you can for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We feel extremely fortunate to be situated so close to the Riverfront as well as many Peoria attractions like the Civic Center and it is just great that you enjoyed our location. It is certainly disappointing, however, that we did not surpass your expectation of us and we apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. It is our top priority to ensure our guests have a comfortable stay and will pass along your valued feedback to our team in an effort to improve the experience we offer our guests. Thank you for your review, we hope you’ll consider returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    28
    36
    28
    26
See reviews for
30
15
2
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here in October of 2012 and had a good experience with the front staff, the location, and having a Bennigans connected to the property, but the hotel needs considerable updating in the room itself to simple things like the shower head and ironing board. I would not stay here again unless the hotel made considerable changes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts from your recent visit to the Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown. We’re so pleased you enjoyed Bennigan’s Grill & Tavern located in our lobby, the service our staff provided and our downtown location. We also greatly appreciate your suggestions as it allows us to further investigate areas throughout our facilities that may be improved upon. It is our hope to welcome you back for a future stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I had stayed at this hotel about two years ago when it was a Best Western - I think. It was ok at best. I was a little nervous but gave it another try as it was very close to the civic center. I must say the upgrades were very nice! The rooms were redone and now have nice flagscreen tv's and they also offered a wonderful breakfast with a huge selection of food! I look forward to staying in this hotel on my next stay in Peoria. The one recomendation I would make is to request a room on a lower level becaue the elevators are painfully slow and I ended up taking the stairs almost everytime. The staff through out the hotel was wonderful!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
It makes us smile to learn that we exceeded expectations and surprised you with a great experience. We’re so glad to have been able to provide you with everything you needed for a comfortable stay during your recent visit to Peoria. Your kind mention of our team and in-room amenities are appreciated, we will be certain to share your feedback regarding our elevator with our management team. Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our check in was fast,the staff were friendly and helpful.The location and views were nice.The openness of the lobby and the restaurant made for noisy place.Our room was good except that the bathroom was small.No breakfast in the a.m.was disappointing for the price.Bernnigan had a very nice evening meal.Beds were comfortably and a good night sleep followed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We’re happy to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay at the Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, including our Four Points by Sheraton Four Comfort Beds. We’re sorry, however, if you were disrupted by any noise in our common area or if the size of your guest room did not exceed your expectations. We offer packages which include breakfast so we hope during your next visit to Peoria you will be able take advantage of those savings! Thank you for feedback, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The bed and linens match what you would expect from a Starwood property and are very comfortable. Unfortunately that's where it stops. This is an old property formerly operated under another brand. When they converted to Four Points it looks like they replaced the carpets, bedding and TV's but did not replace any other furniture or remodel the rooms. The rooms are ok sized but the bathroom was very small. The tub in my bathroom was rusting. The paint on the bathroom and room doors both were chipped and looked bad. The light switch and one of the walls were grimy and the plaster on one of the wall corners was busted up. The room also had a musty smell to it. there was a nice LG 42" tv but there was no HD content and the channels that were there had poor reception.

Overall this property did not meet up to the Starwood experience that I have had else ware.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Guest feedback is important to us, especially when we receive comments that allow us explore areas where we may improve upon the guest experience we offer. Please accept our sincerest apologies that your stay did not exceed your expectations. Your comments will be shared with our management team to ensure we’re doing everything we can to offer the best service and accommodations available to our guests. It is our hope to have an opportunity to make a better impression in the future, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night on our way to St. Louis, during this stay there were some pros and cons. Lets start off with the pros:
- This hotel is located downtown within walking distance to the Riverfront and the Peoria Civic center.
- The entrance was an "open space" kind of area and clean.
- Our room was spacious.
-The staff was friendly and helpful.

The cons:
- There was only 1 elevator working during the time we were there. We had to take 8 flight of stairs to our room cause there was a major line up at the elevator with all the guests and university students. There are only 2 elevators at this hotel.
- The restaurant was in the lobby and we had sunday brunch there and for the price we paid the selection was very marginal, but the staff was great.
- The bathroom could use some updating and some other parts of the room.

For being a Sheraton hotel, this hotel in my view is an "average" Sheraton. As we only stayed here for one night, it was not to bad.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
While we’re pleased you enjoyed our central location, friendly staff and spacious accommodations, we regret any inconvenience you may have experienced in regards to our elevator maintenance. We are sorry that some aspects of our guest rooms were not quite up to your expectations. These are areas we can look to improve and appreciate that you took the time to point them out. Thank you for your review, we hope that you will visit us again in the future for an even more enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This has got to be the worst place I have stayed for sleeping....
Housekeeping is extremely loud....
I called over five times to request they quit slamming door...
I actually went out into the HALLWAY... on four different occasions and requested the PLEASE STOP SLAMMING DOORS>.. to no AVAIL... THEREFORE...
THEY GET A ZERO ! ! !

Awful place.... I don't recommend is for this reason... also, first out of three days, NO HOT WATER.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We are truly disappointed to learn that your stay was not the relaxing getaway we hope to provide our guests and extend our deepest apologies for the disruptions you encountered. Your comments have been shared with our management team so that we may investigate areas where improvements can be made. Our maintenance staff is looking further into your review as we have no reports of issues with water temperature on file. Thank you for sharing your feedback, we hope you’ll reconsider a future stay so that we may change your impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown

Address: 500 Hamilton Boulevard, Peoria, IL 61602
Location: United States > Illinois > Peoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Peoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown is near I-74, the civic center, medical areas, and O'Brien Field. Our IL hotel has free shuttle service, 22,000 sq ft of event space, and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Peoria Downtown
Four Points By Sheraton Peoria Downtown Hotel Peoria
Peoria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.