We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than impressive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Hamilton Boulevard, Peoria, IL 61602   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Peoria
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Less than impressive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Unfortunately, I did not have the best of stays at this Four Points by Sheraton.

The hotel room was in desperate need of an update. When we pulled back the curtains there was nice spider web waiting there for us. The bathroom was small and the tub was stained and dirty. The only upside was a comfortable bed and large TV.

I found myself sneezing and blowing my nose constantly in this room. On the suggestion of a friend staying in the same hotel we checked the filter of the air conditioner. Horrifying. The filter was caked with dust and lint. It was awful.

On top of all this, another fellow occupant had a rowdy hotel guest attempt to break into their room in the middle of the night. The hotel was not very active in settling the matter, letting the offending guest check out without any action taken against them.

This hotel was not my favorite. Not terribly unclean, but not a place you would walk around in with bare feet. I would be reticent to stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We are deeply disappointed to learn that your stay with us was not more positive, however, we appreciate that you let us know of the aspects of your time that did not meet your expectations. We wish we had known of these issues during your time with us and had the opportunity to resolved them when it mattered most. Our maintenance and housekeeping teams will be sure to look further into your feedback to ensure that our guest rooms are at their best. Our onsite security takes the safety of our guests very seriously and responds swiftly to any reported incidents. Thank you for your review, we hope you’ll reconsider a future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    28
    36
    28
    26
See reviews for
31
15
2
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Although it needs some updating, the room was a good size, the bed was very comforable and the air conditioner worked great. My only negative was that our room was never vacuumed and they forgot to replace things like coffee cups and those (very) small soaps. The breakfast buffet was always plentiful and good. Whenever we did need anything they were very courteous and prompt.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We're so glad you had a pleasant stay at the Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown. It's great that you enjoyed our spacious accommodations complete with our signature Four Points by Sheraton Four Comfort bedding. Our on-site Bennigan's Grill and Tavern is a great place to fuel up before a busy day and we're glad you agree. We regret if anything in your room was amiss, your comments will be shared to ensure our rooms are at their absolute best. Thank you for your feedback, please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The room was well appointed, immaculately clean and well stocked with personal supplies including cotton balls. Large open closet with a ton of hangers. Comfortable temperature control with constant white noise made for restful sleep for me. Comfortable bed and linens with huge, fluffy pillows, four per bed. Microwave and fridge in my SPG room. As a woman traveling alone I confess to being alert and wary in the area esp. at night. FREE shuttle service around town to restaurants etc, and back. Pleasant staff, alert to needs and friendly. Gift shop can have funky hours, inconsistent times. Bennigans restaurant on property. Work out room. I will definitely go back. This was my second time there in two years. About three blocks to riverfront area. Two blocks to civic center. Beautiful parks, memorials and sculptures sprinkled through area, with some interesting old architecture nearby as well. Easy to get to from route 74. Close to major hospitals, too.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Your glowing review of the Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown means a great deal to us as it is our top priority to provide guests with everything they need for a pleasant stay. We appreciate your kind mention of our convenient location and spacious accommodations. It is wonderful that you enjoyed our comfortable Four Points by Sheraton Four Comfort beds and numerous hotel amenities. We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I recently went to a conference, and many of us stayed at this hotel. People who had rooms above the first floor (like, the 8th floor) had great things to say ..... but my colleague and I had a double-bed room on the first floor. Beds were great, but there were stains on the one chair, scorch marks on the lampshade, and the room was very cramped. Bathroom had a few issues also (and, um .... please consider adding a fan, not just a light). Another colleague had a first floor room where there was only 1 set of curtains (not the usual 2 that rooms have), and she was on the first floor, also -- she felt very unsafe, and requested a room change for the second night. She got one of the rooms on the 8th floor and said it was wonderful.

I think the hotel is okay, but it would be nice if they could close off and remodel the first floor rooms to bring them up to the level found in the rest of the hotel.

Room Tip: Anything above the first floor rooms should be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Our greatest hope is to deliver comfortable accommodations and stellar service to each of our guests, so please accept our sincerest apologize if your stay missed the mark. We can assure you that our hotel, known for high standards in regard to our accommodations, takes your feedback to heart and will further investigate comments related to your guest room. Thank you for sharing your review with us, we hope you'll consider giving us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 1 night, as the guest of a conference being held there. I'd read the reviews and was worried - correctly, as it turned out. The parking garage was poorly-lighted and not convenient to the hotel, for starters - that is, there as no way to get to it from the hotel itself; you had to walk across a drive which didn't look very well lit, and get in a rather sinister-looking, dirty elevator to reach the higher levels. I would not have wanted to traverse this at night. When I left this morning, there was no one at the gate to receive payment (although my parking was validated by the hotel).

Check in was lukewarm, the lobby was really tired and outdated. The room, however, was worse. I'm not saying it was filthy - the bed, at any rate, was clean and comfortable. And it wasn't as if there were massive stains in the very old, worn, carpet, which appeared to have been decently vacuumed. At first it only appeared to be a very tired, outdated room. But upon closer inspection, it was more than that. The waste can in the room hadn't been emptied from the previous guest. The full-length mirror in the bathroom hadn't been cleaned in who knows how long - it was coated with residue and water spots. There was a gaping hole where the fan was - it was just a big, dust-covered blade in a big round hole, dry-wall exposed, not covered at all. The wallpaper was torn, and the baseboard, at one corner, was held together with tape. The sink in the bathroom drained very slowly.

It was so distasteful that I got the heck out of there first thing this morning, unwilling to shower in that bathroom. I left a comment card (I forgot to mention the sink drain, however), and the front desk read it, and tried to summon a manager to see if they could do something for my bill - so there's that, I guess. But I explained that someone else had paid for my room, so if they did anything, they should contact that organization. Also, while I was checking out, someone else was voicing complaints about her room, as well.

I definitely would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
It is truly regrettable to learn that a guest's experience does not meet expectations. Please be assured that our on-site parking deck is secure and offers ample self-parking to our guests. We sincerely apologize if you found any aspect of your accommodations to be lacking, your comments will certainly be shared with our housekeeping and maintenance teams to ensure our rooms are at their best for our guests. We're grateful you shared your concerns with our front desk staff and wish we had the opportunity to make your stay more comfortable. Thank you for your review, we hope you'll reconsider a stay with us in the future so that we may change your impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Perfect location for downtown festivities, close to waterfront. Free shuttle service gets you to restaurants a bit further away. Had a poolside suite that was roomy, but a bit of a walk from the lobby. Nice pool and hot tub outside our door, but it did get noisy with kids in there in the morning. Connected to Bennigan's for convenient meals, as long as you eat breakfast by 10:00, or 11:00 on Sundays.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
The Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown is the perfect place to work and play in Peoria. We're lucky to be situated just a short walk from the civic center and waterfront and couldn't be happier that you enjoyed our central location. Thank you for sharing the highlights of your stay, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Falls, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Nice sized room, bathroom on the small size, large flat screen and new carpet. Nice walk to the riverfront area, about 4 blocks. Bennigan's restaurant attached but closed at 10:00 on Sat. night. Overall great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPeoria, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
How wonderful that you had a chance to enjoy a stroll by the RiverFront! We also offer a complimentary shuttle to area businesses and attractions within a 3 mile radius of our hotel for guests interested in exploring the local scene. Your kind mention of our guest rooms, location and recent upgrades are greatly appreciated. Installing new carpet is just one of the many ways we strive to continually improve our hotel and the experience we offer our guests. We look forward to a future opportunity to welcome you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown

Address: 500 Hamilton Boulevard, Peoria, IL 61602
Location: United States > Illinois > Peoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Peoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown is near I-74, the civic center, medical areas, and O'Brien Field. Our IL hotel has free shuttle service, 22,000 sq ft of event space, and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Peoria Downtown
Four Points By Sheraton Peoria Downtown Hotel Peoria
Peoria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Peoria Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.