We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprisingly hip hotel, but don't stay in a room facing the river” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mark Twain Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mark Twain Hotel to your Saves list
Mark Twain Hotel
225 NE Adams St, Peoria, IL 61602   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% off, Book Now!
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Peoria
texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Suprisingly hip hotel, but don't stay in a room facing the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Staff, room and free breakfast in the morning were great as was the wifi, sitting room and decor. Even better was the free dvd's and popcorn. Not so great was the noise from the interstate if your room faces the river. Once my room was changed, it was a perfect stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    79
    20
    16
    8
See reviews for
39
61
19
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

When we lived in Peoria a few years back, the Mark Twain had a reputation for mediocrity. We had heard they made significant renovations, decided to give it a try and are so glad we did! They have really freshened up what had been a very tired hotel. It now has a boutique hotel feel instead of a run-down atmosphere. The rooms are lovely - comfortable and nicely decorated, and they have made an effort to provide storage space in what are fairly small rooms. (It is still an older hotel!) They have yet to get around to replacing the old TVs with flat screens, but since we were not there to watch TV that was not an issue. They have also added a fitness room, which was not the best but served my needs. Our room rate included 2 free drinks per person per night plus a decent hot breakfast. We did not have a chance to go to the restaurant (Two25) for dinner, but locals tell us it is outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

Very nice hotel from the lobby on up. Lobby is an old fashioned library--very plush. With a coffee/hot chocolate machine. Staff are nice and helpful. Room was nice and spacious and the bed comfy. Had DVD player and good sound system. Also had a whole catalog of movies to borrow from them. Room had the quietest fridge ever and the best use of space for their ironing board. Restaurant on site is very good. Dinner is not included but breakfast is and the chefs make anything just the way you like. Excellent waffles. FD also gives you two free drink coupons per night of stay.
Lodging there gets you admission to the Riverplex which is a great gym offering everything you need. Hotel uses Bath and Bodyworks products. John the concierge was very helpful and can help you plan anything you need. Hertz onsite. Everything in Peoria is just a few mins drive away and quite a few things walkable.

My only problem with hotel staff is that upon checkin they didn't tell me about the Riverplex and I found out later. Only reason I did not give this hotel full marks is for the noise outside. My view of the river was very nice but there is a lot of traffic. Usually it really bothers my sleep but it did not this time. I am going back there!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

We booked this hotel as part of a trip through Illinois. What a great find. The hotel has been newly remodeled and the rooms were clean and bright. A little on the small side but we were just there for the night. The room rate came with 2 free drinks per person which we enjoyed at the bar before our dinner at the hotel restaurant Two25 I would have to say that our dinner there was one of the best we've had in a long time. Our room rate also included a free made to order breakfast the next morning. We each had an omelet and it was a fantastic way to start the day. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

The staff was very friendly, helpful and resourceful. The renovated rooms are not huge, but furnished nicely. The daily drink tickets, free breakfast, and free shuttle are a great bonus. I'd definitely come back again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

My only other hotel experience in Peoria was the deteriorating and much-reviled Holiday Inn just down the street. The Mark Twain, which is about the same price as the Holiday Inn, is VASTLY better. It's clean, beautifully decorated, and the staff is very pleasant and friendly. The amenities are a bit limited (particularly room service, which is somewhat grudgingly provided by the adjoining restaurant), which makes this hotel less suitable for vacation travelers looking for a luxury getaway, but if you're in Peoria on business or attending a family event, you probably won't care. As other reviewers have pointed out, the rooms are extremely small, but they are pleasant and comfortable. The Mark Twain will definitely be my first choice on future trips to Peoria.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

My boyfriend and I were planning to stay with our dog in Peoria after a baseball game and doing some bar-hopping and the Mark Twain was perfect. It was during the summer, so we were able to score a deal with water park, 2 free drinks for each of us at the bar, and free breakfast for under $120. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly - and there was a complimentery shuttle to the game (they offered to pick us up too). The drinks are house wine, well drinks, and a couple of draft beers, but hey! they were free! The breakfast was also pretty standard, but there were omelets and waffles made to order, which was nice. The room was cute, the carpet was slightly dingy, but we had a view of the river and the bathroom products were Bath and Body Works. We also brought our dog, which wasn't a problem at all! She was able to stay in the room while we went out. Overall, I think it's a great deal - and the best location for going out in downtown Peoria.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mark Twain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Twain Hotel

Address: 225 NE Adams St, Peoria, IL 61602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Peoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Peoria
#6 Business Hotel in Peoria
#9 Family Hotel in Peoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peoria's Premier Boutique Hotel. Proud to be independent and locally owned. Guests receive complimentary Starbucks coffee and cocoa in the lobby, Seattle's Best in-room coffee, free parking, free drinks, free wi-fi, free smiles. Featuring a complimentary breakfast including made-to-order omelets and Belgian style waffles. Business or Pleasure - why not both? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Mark Twain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mark Twain Peoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mark Twain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.