We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Really Nice Zoo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peoria Zoo

Peoria Zoo
2320 North Prospect Road, Peoria, IL 61603-2193 (Formerly Glen Oak Zoo)
+1 309-686-3365
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 37 things to do in Peoria
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Peoria Zoo is home to over 100 species of animals from around the world. From giraffes and rhinoceros to spider monkeys and sea lions, the Zoo is the wildest family place in town. The Peoria Zoo is open year round. Our Education Department offers programs for ages 2 and up. These include Home School classes, Zoo Tots, Jungle Jamboree, summer Zoo Camp and Zoo Teens volunteer program. During summer months we offer Giraffe Feeding in Africa and Budgie Feeding in the Aussie Walk About. From Memorial Day to Labor Day, scheduled Keeper Chats take place every day. Our two biggest events are the Easter Egg Hunt and Howl-Zoo-Ween. We offer a variety of birthday parties and Zoo Snoozes. Our Zambezi River Lodge is available for corporate events, wedding receptions, and special celebrations.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Really Nice Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was a small zoo but an excellent value for the money. It was pleasant to walk around and not very crowded. The animals appear to be well cared for and the enclosures all had enrichment activities for them. You can see the animals very close up. We were amazed how close the tigers were to the glass and got some great pictures. In the Australia area, we loved seeing a wallaby hopping around freely and we enjoyed walking into the aviary with the birds. I hope to come back once the Dingo exhibit is completed.

There was good signage around the zoo explaining about the animals, the environment, etc. The new Africa area had a nice walkway around it and we encountered some volunteers that stand in front of certain exhibits to tell you more about the animals. The zoo can easily been seen in just a few hours and is part of a nice park that also includes a lagoon and botanic garden as well as some other activities.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    59
    34
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, IL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I take my grandchildren to the Peoria Zoo and they thoroughly enjoy it. They are from the Chicago area and have visited world class zoos. While smaller, this zoo can still provide several hours of entertainment, more than enough for most children and adults. The Peoria Zoo has been completely overhauled and updated. Each exhibit is well done with the anmimal's natural habitat recreated to a remarkable extent. The zoo is visually enjoyable for walking around even if animals were not there. It is a part of Glen Oak Park, a beautiful place to visit as well.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great mid-sized zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and I took our 2 1/2-year-old daughter tot he Peoria Zoo and had a wonderful time. For city the size of Peoria, the zoo is surprisingly large, complete with two giraffes. The Africa exhibit (the newest part of the zoo) is very well done, especially the elevated viewing platforms. While I always wish zoo animals had more space, this zoo does give the animals a good amount.

The older part (reptiles and amphibians) leaves a bit to be desired (VERY loud in the concrete tunnel) but it's still nice. It could use some air conditioning but it's still a nice respite out of the direct sun.

After you visit the zoo, take your children to the other side of the park where there is a huge fort-like wooden playground to expend that remaining energy.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Noah says-------”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Since our name is NOAH'S ARK-----we feel the ZOO is a great place to go------two by two.
The Peoria Zoo has gone through a girant change and has more then doubled in size. Since Peoria in now a 2013-14 ALL AMERICAN CITY----the Zoo is just one of the great things to see and do when in town. Got kids------DON'T MISS IT.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A nice zoo for a mid sized city.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I live in Peoria and have watched this zoo grow and change for the better. It's a nice affordable place to take your kids. One of the many fine things Peoria has to offer.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peoria Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Peoria Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peoria Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.