We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent zoo for a small city” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peoria Zoo

Peoria Zoo
2320 North Prospect Road, Peoria, IL 61603-2193 (Formerly Glen Oak Zoo)
+1 309-686-3365
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 37 things to do in Peoria
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Peoria Zoo is home to over 100 species of animals from around the world. From giraffes and rhinoceros to spider monkeys and sea lions, the Zoo is the wildest family place in town. The Peoria Zoo is open year round. Our Education Department offers programs for ages 2 and up. These include Home School classes, Zoo Tots, Jungle Jamboree, summer Zoo Camp and Zoo Teens volunteer program. During summer months we offer Giraffe Feeding in Africa and Budgie Feeding in the Aussie Walk About. From Memorial Day to Labor Day, scheduled Keeper Chats take place every day. Our two biggest events are the Easter Egg Hunt and Howl-Zoo-Ween. We offer a variety of birthday parties and Zoo Snoozes. Our Zambezi River Lodge is available for corporate events, wedding receptions, and special celebrations.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Decent zoo for a small city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have been here several times with grandkids. The zoo is fairly small, and the animals aren't always available, but overall, it's a good experience. Cost is fair, the place isn't usually too crowded, and you can see everything in about an hour.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    59
    34
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gridley, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Big zoo animals in a small venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I really enjoy the Peoria zoo. Since my wife and I live within 45 minutes, we take the kids here often. Sure, the zoos of Chicago or St. Louis have more to see, but the convenience of Peoria is great. Free parking, like $8 to get in, and it doesn't take a whole day to see everything. There are some quality exhibits as well. There's giraffe, rhino, tiger, lion, zebra, and others. My daughter was standing at the lion exhibit glass when the large male decided to stroll by. It was quite the experience forher to have that big cat just 2 feet away! I highly recommend the Peoria Zoo for a affordable and convenient afternoon.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Play at the Peoria Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

All the new attractions are wonderful for all ages! My daughter lovers to explore the entire place with her cousins.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, IL
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice for the Price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This zoo is a wonderful way to spend the day with your kids or grandkids. The new Africa exhibit is wonderful, and my grandson loved seeing the animals that he hadn't seen in a zoo before. Educational and fun!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois, United States
1 review
“We have loved watching the tigers grow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a transformation our zoo has made over the years. I am proud to be a member. I am looking forward to continue taking all of my kids (ages 13 to 2 months) to the zoo on a regular basis. We go most Sundays. I love when the volunteers teach my children about the different animals and then for the next week they tell me what they have learned over and over. :) I am so impressed that I talked my brother into buying a season pass last week. Our zoo is not the largest zoo but it has the most love for their animals. Thank you Peoria Zoo for all of the past present and future memories.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peoria Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Peoria Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peoria Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.