We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly managed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Richard's On Main

Richard's On Main
311 Main Street, Peoria, IL 61602
(309) 674 8007
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 346 Restaurants in Peoria
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Poorly managed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Did not honor my reservation, they were very busy because of concert and when I made a reservation they took name and number, when our party arrived there were no reservations. I blame the management, many people waiting and there was not anyone at the hostess both. Poorly managed and expensive, won't be spending our hard earned money in this establishment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    16
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“interesting, but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The bartender was super nice - food was great but overpriced. Drinks were okay - decor was kind of strange and oppressive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Handy to Civic Center”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were going to attend a show at the Civic Center, and didn't have a lot of time to explore the area. Jim's Steak House couldn't accommodate us (no reservations and we wouldn't have made it to the performance on time), suggested we try Richard's around the corner. We were surprised to find that we needed to take stairs to a basement, and they were so busy that we ended up in a still lower level near the pool tables.

The food was okay (standard bar food) and we were glad of the prompt service (server was very busy but treated us well). Probably wouldn't come here "on purpose" as a destination but we had no complaints. The pizza at the next table looked and smelled delicious, so if we were here again and had enough time we might order that.

All in all, it would probably be a fun place to have a beer, pizza or sandwiches, and play a little pool.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Standard bar food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Richard's is the place to go later in the evening as it's open late and lends itself to a place to eat after being out on the town all night. Otherwise it's a decent menu of bar food, with very large portions. It is a little bit creepy, as the place is dark and the bathrooms are absolutely filthy. The burgers are great though, and the famous Illinois Horseshoe (open-faced sandwich on thick-sliced toasted bread, with a hamburger patty and topped with cheese and fries) is well represented here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elstree, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A stopgap location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Went on night of superbowl - we were the only customers.
The 1 or 2 steaks on the menu were sort of OK as were the fries.
But most menu items are standard stuff from restaurants where menus have pictures on.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richard's On Main also viewed

 

Been to Richard's On Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richard's On Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.