We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked it better as the Rave” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carmike Grand Prairie 18

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Carmike Grand Prairie 18
5311 West American Prairie Drive, Peoria, IL
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 16 Attractions in Peoria
Attraction Details
Peoria
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Liked it better as the Rave”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I still think this is the nicest/best movie theater in Peoria, but we don't care for some of the changes that happened when it stopped being the Rave. For one, I don't like that there is only one size Icee now--small. With refills not being free on them, it was nice to just pay for one of the bigger sizes, instead of possibly getting two of the smaller ones. They have also done away with the "scoop" straws for Icees; regular straws make it difficult to eat/drink them.

If you are part of their membership club (or whatever it's called), be careful as your coupons expire and quickly. They only give you about a month to use coupons for free drinks, popcorn, and movie tickets. When it was the Rave and we were part of their rewards club, the coupons never expired, which was nice. I also wish they hadn't taken out the ticket kiosks, as it was a fast way to get tickets and you could bypass the line on busy nights.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Clean, Huge and Comfy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just saw "How to Train Your Dragon 2". This theater is HUGE! We had room to ourselves and the floors werent sticky. The concession prices, as most anywhere, will make you cringe. Several theater choices in the area, but this one trumps all of them! P.S. The previews are too long...25-40 minutes! Why?

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria IL
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Best in Peoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Great multiplex on the NW side of Peoria. IMAX option and well maintained. Close to shopping and eating places.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great seating. Rarely crowded.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I usually go to the matinees. It is usually so uncrowded that I wonder how they stay in business.

The seats are unusually comfortable and spacious. The theater is steeply inclined so viewing is excellent. My favorite theater in Peoria.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Illinois
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“go to the late afternoon show!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Our local theater was not going to run Saving Mr. Banks, and our kids were begging to go. As it was Christmas break, we decided to bite the bullet and drive over. We didn't have popcorn or treats since we were going to dinner after the show, so I cannot speak to concession prices. However, imagine my surprise when tickets were $5.50! We went at 4:30 and were thrilled at the price. This is not a cheap venue, to be sure. But it seems like with a little planning, it need not break the bank!

We enjoyed the comfortable, stadium-style seating and large screen. The bathrooms were clean enough, unlike some places. This was a treat on a cold winter day!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmike Grand Prairie 18 also viewed

 

Been to Carmike Grand Prairie 18? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmike Grand Prairie 18, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.