We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old to New in Peoria” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette to your Saves list
Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Main Street, Peoria, IL 61602 (Formerly Hotel Pere Marquette)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Peoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Old to New in Peoria”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Pere Marquette has a lot of history behind it. Unfortunately, with the remodeling done by Marriott, there is not too much of the old historical atmosphere left. The entrance is spacious, bellhop was very friendly, the staff were very helpful, and our room was nice. There is a restaurant in the hotel, but there is no complimentary breakfast. While construction is still underway, we had to use the valet, which is an additional fee. We were not happy with the total cost. (Could have stayed a block away, for half the price.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    54
    26
    7
    8
See reviews for
42
43
8
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I remember quite well the Pere Marquette Hotel from decades ago. I am familiar with the major renovations that Marriott undertook in Proiidence, RI and Chicago so I was quite excited about seeing the renovated Pere Maqrquette when I was in Central Illinois.

They have done a fantastic and beautiful job with the hotel. It is truly gorgeous. They have made the rooms larger and with all the modern day amenities that were, apparently, lacking in the Pere Marquette. The professional, courteous, helpful staff from the doorman to the front desk employees to the restaurants, and to the housekeeping staff were just outstanding--each and every one. of them A very, very impressive staff

I didnt get to have dinner in the restaurant but did have breakfast a couple of times, The meals were excellent. During one breakfast the chef over and introduced himself. He was very, very pleasant and nice.

I did have a snack in the lobby lounge area a couple of times. As in the restaurant, the staff in the lounge was extremely pleasant, courteous and helpful. The snacks were also delicious.

The stay at the hotel was a most delightful and wonderful experience. that, sadly, isnt too often the case now days in customer service in the hospitality industry or any other industry. I think that Marriott wil do quite well with this property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmer City, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Love what they have done to this fine old hotel. They left all the old charm and brought this hotel up to date. It is ready for the next 100 years. Best location in Peoria. Rooms delightful and more roomy than before.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

As for cleanliness and overall quality of the hotel I can't be more than happy. The overall service level of the staff was not perfect. I would expect better service etiquette knowledge from a hotel of this caliber. The restaurant had good food, but again missed the mark on front of the house service delivery.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I wanted to pick a nice hotel in the Peoria area for our anniversary. I knew that the Pere had been renovated but I was surprised to find that they offered such a low weekend rate when I checked into prices. We reserved a room with a king bed and could not have been happier! The entire hotel looked WONDERFUL.The updates were very classy. We were told that even with the renovations, the historic iintegrity was able to be kept. It was gorgeous! We were also happy to see how clean it was. The staff was so courteous and made sure that we were happy guests. We even needed to extend our checkout time and they were happy to comply. We experienced a gorgeous setting, great value, the perfect downtown location, with great service....We truly could not have asked for anything more!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week on business. This is a nice hotels but several highs and lows. the highlights: Renovations were nicely done. Very nice bar restaurant area on first floor that is very comfortable. Very nice suites, ample regular guest room. Nice concierge lounge though the chairs are too big for the space and movements is difficult and awkward. Staff very friendly. The lowlights: no one cleaned my room two of the four nights. Seriously? Concierge recommended Hooters for dinner. No kidding. Hotel is working out the kinks -- ran out of glasses in the bar, yes, really. These folks struck me as genuinely interested in making sure their guests are happy and comfortable. They will work out the kinks and if I have to go to Peoria again, I will stay here.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Stay 2 nights for business. Service was awesome, rooms extremely clean. Air conditioning very loud but really cant complain. I didnt get into hotel until past 2am and when i asked for my company rate, they said it would be on the bill the next day. Usually a front desk never gets this right but they did! They were extremely professional and nice. Will be back for sure!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette

Address: 501 Main Street, Peoria, IL 61602 (Formerly Hotel Pere Marquette)
Location: United States > Illinois > Peoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Peoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historical elegance of the most premier hotel in Peoria, Illinois. The Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette Hotel invites guests to experience the $70M renovation which has retained the essence that made this hotel in Peoria a favorite choice among celebrities. The hotel features 15,500 sq. ft. of new commercial space on the ground level and coming in 2014, will be connected to the Peoria Civic Center via skywalk. In the hotel lobby, an inviting great room greets guests and leads to Table 19, an upscale restaurant and bar where delicious entrees, drinks and lively conversation are the order of the day. In each of the brand new 286 rooms, guests will relax on comfortable linens, custom duvets, and plush mattress toppers. Wireless high-speed Internet access and new HDTVs balance the historical ambience and elegant décor. With modern amenities and simple luxuries, it’s our mission to make every business trip a pleasure and every vacation the trip of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.