We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good chain BBQ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Famous Dave's Barbeque

Famous Dave's Barbeque
7411 N. Grand Prairie Drive, Peoria, IL 61615
309-691-7427
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 346 Restaurants in Peoria
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
USA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Consistently good chain BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Have been here many times and will be back. With one glaring exception service has been friendly and well done.

Portions are large bordering on huge. Brisket has always been fine with only once exception. The flash fried onion strings are delicious. I haven't ever tried the fish. This is mass produced chain food and is fine for that setting. Each table has a tray of 6 different BBQ sauces that are OK but a little unimaginative for my taste.

There is full bar service. They have most of the standard beers on tap and every so often have something interesting on rotation.

Weekdays they have a cheaper menu during the day.

There are several TVs in the bar area where food is also served. There is an open seating area for use in warmer weather. The inside can get crowded and noisy at times. The bar area has never been that way.

Personally, I think the BBQ is better at Hickory River across the street but for a full sit down meal I come here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    23
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“So much food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

My husband and I visited Famous Daves and ordered the platter for two. It was quick and delicious. It was a crazy amount of food. The roasted chicken was our favorite. The sides were tasty as well. Supposedly on Tuesday night two can eat for $19.99. That is a great deal! We enjoyed our dinner and our waitress Emily was very efficient as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not for the price conscience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My wife headed to Dave's knowing we were going to have corn muffins. If you haven't been there that is the first thing I think about. As we started looking at the menu, we couldn't bring ourselves to pick the 13 to 15 fish pick. Our burger and fries were still over 10 each. Granted my burger was outstanding and so were my fries. Our waitress was friendly and attentive. We did have our corn muffins. Which are still outstanding. I think however that some budget meals could be incorporated like bandanas. It will be a while before we are back but good experience overall.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Yummy, yummy ribs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I like ribs and I never get to eat them enough. I ordered the ribs with burnt ends and really enjoyed the ribs. I enjoyed the burnt ends but they all looked the same like they were institutionalized, cut into the same squares.
They made a tasty sandwich on the texas toast with coleslaw.
The leftovers; beans with bacon, cornbread muffin and ribs were devoured by my kids at home.
We joined their eclub; P.I.G and will be back to try out their other offerings like pulled pork, brisket and chicken.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Georgia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Disgustingly disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This one is 100% the most awful terrible tasting barbecuing food I have ever had. I do not understand what the hype is? I thought it was generic, watered-down, and not worth a dime

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Famous Dave's Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famous Dave's Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.