We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luthy Botanical Garden

Luthy Botanical Garden
2520 N. Prospect, (turn at the corner of Prospect & Gift), Peoria, IL
309-686-3362
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 11 Attractions in Peoria
Type: Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Surround yourself with spectacular displays of spring blooming bulbs or the blazing color of autumn, the Garden offers a tranquil setting to enjoy the beauty of each passing season. Established in 1951, Luthy Botanical Garden encompasses five acres and offers over a dozen theme gardens, a Conservatory, a garden gift shop educational programming, numerous events, a rotating sculpture exhibit and magnificent floral displays.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Small but beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Took an hour to wander the paths and enjoy the beautiful varieties of plants, trees and flowers. Nice peaceful afternoon. Several places to sit and relax. Very tranquil.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    14
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Possibilities unrealized”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Small, redundant contents in greenhouse. Outside is nice. Been to weddings there.
Not the easiest place for non-locals to find.
Only need an hour or so for the whole thing.
Please donate, they need to update the plants in the greenhouse

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Small but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Small garden that is easy to walk around. I was very surprised it cost to get into the small park, but is not expensive. Quiet and peaceful

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

My young son and I visit here often, it us very close to our home. The different gardens are lovely and there is such a sense of peace there. My son loves to check out the gazebo and fountain. It is a nice hideaway in the middle of town.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin, IL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Don't miss their annual plant sale!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The plant sale is usually held in late April. They always have very unique plants! I have purchased several kinds of aromatic geraniums - this year I got a ginger-scented geranium. They also have cinnamon and lime scented basil. Herbs and perennials galore. This hear I also purchased French lavender and succulents. Their store has many attractive garden accents and fun things like wind chimes, door mats, and flags.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luthy Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Luthy Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luthy Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.