We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“accessible room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Peoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Peoria to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Peoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7708 N Route 91, Peoria, IL 61615   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Peoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“accessible room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

After two days camping in the mud at a nearby music festival, the Wingate Peoria felt like a 5 star hotel to us. We booked an accessible room and I'd called a few days ahead of our stay to confirm they would hold a wheelchair accessible room for our very late arrival. For the most part, the room served our needs. The bed was very tall however and my friend was unable to transfer from her wheelchair into bed. I called the front desk and the night manager Omar arrived promptly to help us with the transfer and we were very appreciateve of his assistance. This was my first experience traveling with someone with a disability, and "accessible" regarding a hotel room is clearly subjective. Not only was the bed too high to transfer out of a wheelchair, the shower was not in any way accessible, the temperature control panel was too high for my friend to reach, the van accessible parking spots were not really wide enough for our van ramp.

Aside from the accessibility issues, the property was as I would have expected for the price point. Pillows were lumpy and not to our liking but the bed and bedding were fine. Coffee and breakfast options were better than expected. Our room and the public areas were spotlessly clean despite the many groups of muddy concert goers who had arrived seeking refuge from heavy storms; kudos to the staff at the Windham Peoria for going the extra mile to serve their guests this Memorial Day weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuperAwesomeWingate1, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Peoria, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
I am really glad you stayed with us and wrote this excellent review! I have not heard these issues before about the accessible rooms and I will meet with my bosses to see what we can do about some of these issues. Thank you very much! You have given me a lot of information to pass along and get some things more accessible! I sincerely appreciate it!
Thank you for mentioning Omar helping you. I will be sure to let him know of your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    131
    54
    15
    9
See reviews for
193
57
22
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

very pleasing stay. The staff was curteous & attentive. I usually recommend this hotel to my associates when they visit Peoria.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuperAwesomeWingate1, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Peoria, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
I am glad you had a pleasing stay and recommend us. We truly appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Terrific young man at the desk, still there the next morning, spotlessly clean.

HOWEVER.

Impossible to find--asked four locals including two police officers, since their given address DOESN'T WORK in map and GPS. I was told it's a business-oriented hotel, near several major local employers.

For $150 in Peoria, Illinois on a weekday night, here's some samples of what your get:
A cookie.
A single-serve Puck coffee maker that releases a blast of live steam against your finger when you try to pull the basket out to start a second cup.
The worst TV service imaginable. However they cheaped up on this, why even bother supplying HBO and other "premium" channels if they're obscured by interference?
Management decided to reduce water pressure to an absolute minimum, not only in the shower but also in the sink. That would have been tolerable IF THE WATER WEREN'T INCREDIBLY SOFT. Rinsing out a toothbrush became a major operation. My get-ready routine went from fifteen minutes to forty-five.
So what?
Well, as a business traveler, I don't have a thirty-minute chunk of my morning to give away. Didn't have time for breakfast.
This place is undoubtedly fine for a family on vacation. NOT suitable for business, on that one point alone. Sorry. Never again.

Room Tip: The interstate runs right behind the hotel, even-up with the second floor. Avoid a room facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuperAwesomeWingate1, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Peoria, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention and for your in depth review.
I am very sorry you experienced issues with your TV service. It is not normally like that and our service provider was experiencing issues during your stay and for that I am sorry. I wish you had called to the front desk so we could let you know of the issue our provider was experiencing so we could have apologized to you while you were here.
As far as the GPS: we are a newer hotel. If you have a very new GPS then we will be found but I find my GPS, which is a couple years old and has not had a recent update, will not find the hotel. We try to give the address of the large mall next door whenever a guest calls and is having trouble locating us and that always gets them here. I am sorry you had this issue. The older we are as a hotel the less we have guests experience issues with their GPS not finding us and I believe over time this will remedy itself.
Over recent years many of our guests have urged us to go green, so in addition to having recycling offered, we also have measures in place to preserve water and so our water pressure is reflective of that. I am sorry you were unhappy. Nearly all our weekday guests are traveling on business and we rarely hear complaints about water pressure but I wanted to let you know why it might not have been what you expected.
Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Peoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Peoria

Address: 7708 N Route 91, Peoria, IL 61615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Peoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Peoria
#2 Family Hotel in Peoria
#2 Business Hotel in Peoria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Peoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Peoria 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new upscale hotel designed for the business traveler. Located directly off of I-474/Rt 6 and War Memorial Drive. Features free local calls, high speed internet access, hot breakfast buffet, 24 hour business and fitness centers, all inclusive with your room rate! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Priceline, EasyToBook and Expedia so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Peoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Peoria Hotel Peoria
Peoria Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Peoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.