We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and menu” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mill at Elstead

The Mill at Elstead
Farnham Road, Elstead GU8 6LE, England
+44 1252 703333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Elstead
Price range: $9 - $31
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery
Description: One of Surrey's best country pubs, the unique converted mill at Elstead is steeped in history and surrounded with beauty. The pub, on the river Wey, invites you to relax with great food and drink while the swans, ducks and water wheel outside play their part in the magic.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful setting and creative menu. We've eaten here a few times and unfortunately it can often be a little disappointing. To be fair it's better when quiet.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    67
    40
    38
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Birthday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

What can I say but "wow". The location is totally fantastic on the waterfront and is lovely in the summer sun (even on 5 Oct it was warm enough to sit outside though!). Staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We had sandwiches for lunch (sausage and red onion chutney without butter and posh fishfinger sandwich with butter but with tartar sauce on the side) - both were the best of any recent pub lunches. Good wine selection too. The main menu was sufficiently wide to cater for meat and non meat eaters and vegetarians. The portions we saw coming out of the kitchen were good sized. They have a daily specials board too. The owner is a lovely, friendly lady.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Decided to try the Mill as such a beautiful setting, and a cousin was coming to lunch with us from Dorset.
Although not busy we had quite a wait for our food.
My husband chose fish pie which was all white fish and very bland.
I had a burger with bacon and cheese topping. The burger and the bacon were over done. The chips were O K but would have liked a salad garnish with the meal.
Our guest from Dorset had the belly pork, which was served with plated up vegetable of spinach (no variety of vegetables in a separate bowl) if you like spinach OK , our guest didn't, and had no choice other than the spinach. The crackling was inedible-it was so hard. The mash also looked quite sloshy, and so overall we were very disappointed. Our guest very politely said nothing!
My husband was looking to book for a gentlemen's lunch here but sadly he will be looking elsewhere.
Julie Davey.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Consistently good experiences”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We first visited this pub a couple of years ago and have been popping in when in the area ever since, always having consistently good food and service; the pub itself and location are delightful in Summer or Winter. We had sandwiches today which were tasty and well presented. The staff are well trained, friendly and efficient. Good selection of food, from sandwiches to hot meals and Specials. Nicely kept ESB Real Ale. This must be one of Fullers success stories.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pub Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I were staying at Tilford Woods near Farnham so we decided to try out The Mill.

I am so glad we did. The staff were friendly and helpful. We both had a burger and chips but it was lovely. We were both full and just could not look at the dessert menu.

We sat near a window which gave us a good view of the actual Mill Wheel turning but the other views are stunning. Outside there was a lovely seating area, ducks nearby etc. Perfect setting.

We are not in the area holidaying often but when we return, we will go back there and try something else on the menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mill at Elstead also viewed

 

Been to The Mill at Elstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mill at Elstead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.