We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daughter's Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barnett Hill, A Sundial Group Venue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Barnett Hill, A Sundial Group Venue to your Saves list
Barnett Hill, A Sundial Group Venue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blackheath Lane, Wonersh, Guildford GU5 0RF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wonersh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Surrey, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Daughter's Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We held our daughter's wedding here and we has exclusive use of the hotel and rooms. The staff were amazing as was the food and of course Mary Ann who helped us throughout the day. I would highly recommend this venue as it was perfect in every way.

Room Tip: The new Gardener's Cottages are beautiful .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill, A Sundial Group Venue, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Alan,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your daughter Samantha's 'exclusive use' wedding held at Barnett Hill on Saturday 12th April. We are all absolutely delighted that we were able to play a part in such a special occasion for you and your family and I thank you on behalf of all the team for your very positive comments regarding the food & service you and your guests received throughout the event. Please also be assured that I will draw Maryann's attention to your review if she hasn't read it already as I am sure she will most appreciative of your mention of her personal contribution!
Thank you also for your room tip regarding the new rooms in the Gardener's Cottage as these were only completed in August last year and are already proving to be very popular indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    89
    26
    12
    6
See reviews for
25
88
14
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Colorado
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Looking for a b and b near Surrey, England and found this wonderful retreat. Designed for conferences as well as a b and b hotel. Excellant staff and accomodations for the price. It has a bar and restaurant as well. Beautiful grounnd, 26 acres, and walking paths. Gloriously quiet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill, A Sundial Group Venue, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill. I am so pleased that you found us when searching for somewhere local to Guildford that offers B&B accommodation. As you rightly point our we are primarily a residential conference and events venue but in a 'country house' style setting within 26 acres of glorious grounds and gardens.
Thank you for your very positive comments in respect of quality of accommodation and service you received during your stay for which we are very grateful and we hope to be of service to you again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I booked in yesterday (Sunday) at the last minute. A warm welcome by Emma, a lovely quiet room, huge luxury bathroom, lots of lovely towels, a gorgeous bed, and a great breakfast helped make up my mind to stay again tonight. Perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill, A Sundial Group Venue, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Heather MD

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill and for completing the review whilst you were still in residence! I was delighted to note how much you enjoyed your whole experience so much so that you were encouraged to stay with us for a second night. Your comments are much appreciated and we hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future when you are next visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed as a red letter day. We were given a complimentary upgrade and stayed in a out house which was newly updated and it was great. There was a wedding going on so it was nice to be out of the way. The room was clean, modern and quiet. We had a lovely dinner. My only slight moan would be that dinner came very quickly. There was less then 5 minute wait between our starter and main.
We hired the free bikes and had a lovly bike ride around the grounds.
A lovely hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill, A Sundial Group Venue, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill on a Red Letter Days dinner, bed and breakfast break. I was delighted that we were able to offer you a complimentary upgrade at the time of your stay and that in providing you with accommodation away from the main house this added to your comfort and relaxation whilst we had a wedding celebration taking place.

Thank you for your very positive comments in respect of the recently developed new bedrooms in our Gardener's Cottage and the quality of the food you were served at dinner albeit a little too quickly for your liking which I am sorry if this made you feel a little rushed. It was also great to note that you made use of the complimentary bike hire to explore the gardens and grounds and I sincerely hope that you will consider returning to Barnett Hill for another visit in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Booked a last min night away here. When checking in we asked about the restaurant and was told there was 2 parties going on so we could not eat there and instead given a sandwich menu that we could have delivered to our room, which was not cheap! We wanted our evening dinner not a sandwich in our little room. We chose then had a call saying all they actually had was a cheese sandwich nothing else from the menu. Disappointing. The room was tiny, especially for a double room! It was away from to main building in the courtyard. Staff were not helpful and rude.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill, A Sundial Group Venue, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your stay at Barnett Hill in December last year. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and I apologise for our apparent failure to meet entirely with your expectations on this occasion.

Unfortunately so much time has elapsed since you stayed with us that I am unable to fully investigate your concerns however, from your comments it would appear that you may have arrived late after our kitchen had closed for the evening and last orders for dinner had been taken since this is the only time we would be unable to provide a full dinner service to individual hotel guests. After 9.30 p.m. we do normally offer a sandwich menu which is available 24 hours and includes a selection of fillings with a choice of white or granary bread. Once again I am very sorry if on the occasion of your stay we were only able to offer you cheese which would have been most unusual.

I am sorry if you found your room in our Courtyard accommodation too small for your liking and I apologise for any inconvenience or disappointment this may have caused you. As with many old historic properties the majority of our rooms do vary in terms of their size, style and appointment having originally been built as a family home in the early 1900's and some of our larger bedrooms which are situated in the main house do carry a rate premium as a result.

It would be most out of character for any member of the Barnett Hill team to be rude and unhelpful since it is never our intention to have anyone leave us feeling anything other than completely satisfied and generally the feedback we receive from our guests in this respect is always very positive. Therefore, I apologise once more if you were made to feel unwelcome in any way and I hope that you may consider giving us another opportunity in the future to demonstrate to you our usually high standards of service and hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

This is a very nice hotel in superb grounds it is out of the way in lovely peaceful suroundings. The staff are great and very helpful, especially Mary Ann who co-ordinated the wedding and catering events associated with it, she is a true asset to Barnet Hill.
We are pensioners and attended a family wedding for about 60 people, the service was very good the food well presented and very efficiently served.
The prices are good value for money and the bar was very well stocked with good choice.
As we stayed for two nights the only fault was our room (24) which was definitely not big enough to be described as a double room to say the least, (you could not walk round the bed, see photo's) The very small wardrobe was half a single size and could not accommodate the clothes we had taken for two days. I had to climb over the bed to get to my side and at 74 that is not easy. The bathroom was large and modern but with one small shelf and no other storage space We asked twice at reception if we could have a bigger room but were told it was not possible. Would we stay again? Yes, but we would check out the size of our room first as room 24 is very cramped and uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Avoid room 24 and check out room sizes, some other rooms we saw were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill, A Sundial Group Venue, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear John G

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill whilst attending a family wedding. I was very pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and that the food and service during the wedding celebrations was much appreciated. Thank you also for your very kind comments about Maryann who looked after you so well on the day. She was awarded 'employee of the month' for March and received £50 so your praise for her was duly recognised!
I am sorry that you were allocated room 24 which you found too small and cramped and that due to us being fully booked over the weekend we were unable to move rooms for you when asked. I fully appreciate that the room itself is quite small and that accessing both sides of the bed is a challenge so do please accept my sincere apologies and be assured that, had we been able to offer you an alternative room that better suited your needs we would have done so since it is never our intention to have anyone leave Barnett Hill feeling anything other than completely satisfied.
I do hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again in the future perhaps when you are visiting your family in the area when you have my personal assurance that we will do our best to allocate you one of our larger bedrooms and ensure that you are well looked after.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I have lived in this area for over forty years and never been here! What a fantastic venue , the whole evening was fantastic from the moment we were warmly greeted till we left , the meal was fantastic, well done to the amazing chefs , and Georgia and Colette were amazing!!!! Nothing was to much trouble!. I still cannot understand how I've missed this venue. Looking forward to another visit in the very near future! Perfect in every way.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill, A Sundial Group Venue, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Barnett Hill whilst attending a friend's 60th birthday celebrations. I was delighted to note that you enjoyed such a 'fantastic' evening with us and I thank you for your very kind comments in respect of the quality of food and service you received.
I have passed on your comments to the chefs and Georgie and Colette have both received Sundial Star nominations for this month which could result in one of them being awarded £50 at the end of the month if their card is picked out in our monthly draw.
You know what they say 'it's never too late' and now that you've found us, we hopefully look forward to being of service to you again in the future when we will do our utmost to ensure you are well looked after and that any future celebrations are equally as enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barnett Hill, A Sundial Group Venue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnett Hill, A Sundial Group Venue

Address: Blackheath Lane, Wonersh, Guildford GU5 0RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford > Wonersh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wonersh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnett Hill, A Sundial Group Venue 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barnett Hill, A Sundial Group Venue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnett Hill, a Sundial Group Venue Hotel Guildford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnett Hill, A Sundial Group Venue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.