We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent again , Lewis Partnership!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dog and Doublet Inn Sandon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Dog and Doublet Inn Sandon to your Saves list
The Dog and Doublet Inn Sandon
Sandon, Sandon ST18 0DJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Sandon B&B and Inns
Staffs
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent again , Lewis Partnership!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Great day spent yesterday chilling, drinking and eating at the Dog and Doublet. We arrived at 11.30am armed with papers and took up residence in comfy chairs in what appeared to be a chill out area. We spent a very pleasant 4 hours relaxing and chatting and after consuming a fair amount of great food and drinks the bill was very inexpensive. We will definitely be paying more visits, great staff too so a pleasant day all round! Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLMilwich, Owner at The Dog and Doublet Inn Sandon, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm so glad you enjoyed using our 'Snug' (as we like to call it)! It was our intention for customers to use this area for reading the papers, eating, drinking and relaxing to make for a more informal way of dining.
We hope you will vist us again soon.
Chris Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    45
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
36
56
1
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, England
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

For once, a place in Staffordshire to revisit! We are a family group of 11 spread around the country and meet up for in Staffordshire for Sunday lunch every 3/4 months. We wanted to go to their 'sister' hotel, The Moat House, but they were booked up and we were recommended to come here, which we did last Sunday. We were very satisfied with the venue, very good menu and food and reasonable prices. Check their website for the menu and prices. We've already booked our next Sunday lunch at the Moat House inJuly but will definitley return here later in the year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

A relaxed evening meal with work colleagues and overnight stay. Have enjoyed good food and excellent service on previous visits to the restaurant but disappointed by the steak main course this time. Didn't detract from an enjoyable evening though! Double room was modern, adequate, clean and a comfortable bed. Small bathroom with a good size shower enclosure.
Excellent breakfast. Pleasant, friendly staff. A genuine smile and good sense of humour go a long way! A fair price for a comfortable night and hearty breakfast in a pleasant Inn.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

First visit since the Lewis Partnership take over and would very highly recommend. Not overly expensive but the quality of the food was great, thyme infused chicken on risotto was excellent as were my wifes' cheese tartlets served with some really nice fresh sauteed potatoes - a change from chips or jacket with everything. Wine is a little on the expensive side, almost nothing below £14 per bottle but again is good quality. The interior has been refurbished to a really chic & cosy level and what is so nice is the outdoor courtyard with modern furniture & heaters converted from what used to be dead space - can't wait to go in the summer & sit out there. Highly recommended for decor, atmosphere,staff & not least the food.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLMilwich, Owner at The Dog and Doublet Inn Sandon, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Sorry it's taken so long to write a response. Many thanks for your kind comments. I'm so glad you enjoyed your meal experience with us. Our aim was to make the Dog and Doublet chic and cosy and it is even better in the sunshine so hopefully we will see you back with us very soon.
Chris Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We visited the Dog and Doublet on New Years Eve with a party of 10. The food was excellent quality from start to finish. The resturant was packed full yet the level of service was first class. All the food was served warm and together. The steak was the highlight, the meat being absolutley first class. All in all it was very enoyable experience. I would reccomend this restaurant to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose the Tables in the middle section opposite the windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

I found the room on the small side as I needed to do some work, however the rooms are very good clean and tidy. The restaurant looked very nice I ate inn the bar form the smae menu and had the fish pie which was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We needed accommodation whilst attending an office Christmas party in the Stafford area and were recommended the Dog & Doublet, what an excellent piece of advice. The place has only recently benefitted from a refit and the work is done to a very good standard. From the welcome when you first walked in to the help offered until we left, it couldn’t be faulted. Never did it feel forced or false, the staff genuinely seemed to want to help, what a lovely change this all made. As an example, I foolishly didn’t think how busy the taxis would be on the Saturday evening and Nathan (it almost seems unfair to name one person as all the staff were excellent) and he rang round and around to try and find us a taxi – even to the extent of trying to find out if any other residents were using a taxi going near to where we needed to be.
The breakfast the following morning was fantastic, far better than many more hotels trying to offer a Boutique experience at a huge premium cost. The Smoked Salmon with scrambled egg was superb and full breakfast is worth the stay alone!
My only problem??? What excuse can I find to go back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dog and Doublet Inn Sandon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dog and Doublet Inn Sandon

Address: Sandon, Sandon ST18 0DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Sandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Dog and Doublet Inn Sandon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dog and Doublet Inn Sandon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.