We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh water lake, Dunes, Pristine forest and the Indian Ocean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes de Dovela eco-lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inhambane Province
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunes de Dovela eco-lodge
Rua de Manhame | Parcela 198, 26, Mozambique   |  
Hotel amenities
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh water lake, Dunes, Pristine forest and the Indian Ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Marvellous place! You can choose between kayaking into the lake, discovering local villages and their traditional culture, diving with whale sharks and manta rays in Zavora (20 minutes from Dovela) or walking on white sand hills at sunset.
The friendly and welcoming French owners offer delicious dishes of French cuisine revisited in a tropical way (that it means crabs, lobsters, etc.).
Price are a little high (look at the pormotions all year around) but you can be sure you won't be disappointed!
Definitely, the place to be when you want to spend some days in a peaceful site and dive along the coast of Inhambane, far away from the Tofu chaos.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We spent a great journey their right in the middle of the forest, looking at the wales "splashing" and hiking around between sand desert and clear blue water. During our travel in Mozambique, my boyfriend and I were looking for a different place far from stress but close to Mozambican people and nature. Hopefully we find this eco-lodge and we really appreciate the way it is run.
We choosed the budget option and we stayed in a big tent on a wooden plateform overhanging the canopy and the sea.
My favorite : the outdoor showers and toilets !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Dunes de Dovela is an incredibly amazing place at mid-distance between Maputo and Vilankulo. It is located on the seashore at only 12 km from the national main road nr. 1. Only 12 km... but another world for sure. Thomas and Fred built this lodge wih their own hands and resources, training and employing people from the neighbour villages and with local material exclusively. We often regret not being proactive to protect the earth and mankind. Meeting people like these helps to keep faith in the future. Yes, there are practical ways to get involved in this battle! The nature is totally respected at Dunes de Dovela. You walk alone or accompanied by a guide in the dune forests, watching at birds, monkeys and whales for real!.. The only risk is being unwilling to leave. Magics still work at some places on our planet. Dovela is one of them. Definitively

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Imagine you had a dream to set up a lodge on the wild, isolated coast of Mozambique.

Imagine your vision was to work hand-in-hand with the local community, so that the dream became as much theirs as yours.

Imagine that you found the perfect spot, perched in a sea of rolling dunes, overlooking expanses of ocean.

Imagine that even before you could start, you had to carve a road miles through the bush just to get there.

Imagine that you wanted your guests to lose themselves in nature, with miles of footpaths cut between lagoon and sea....

We were incredibly lucky to find this special place just after it opened. No TV, no pool, no noise -- just a dream brought to life by Frédéric, Sophie-Anne, Thomas & Alexandra. It's a very special place indeed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dunes de Dovela eco-lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes de Dovela eco-lodge

Address: Rua de Manhame | Parcela 198, 26, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 80 Specialty lodging in Inhambane Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our eco-lodge is situated in a preserved area of Mozambique. It results from a 4 years project involving the local community. "Dunes de Dovela" proposes either sea view en-suite bungalows or furnished tents. Restaurant, bar and esplanade also overlook the sea. Environment discovery is the focal point of the activities and a personalized accompaniment leads people to really enjoy the beauty and the energy from the place. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunes De Dovela Eco-Lodge Mozambique/Inhambane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunes de Dovela eco-lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dunes de Dovela eco-lodge to your Saves list