We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Honeymoon!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay View Lodge

Save Saved
You added Bay View Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay View Lodge
Barra Road, 1300, Mozambique   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Pretoria
1 review
“Amazing Honeymoon!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

What a wonderful place to spend your holiday or even your honeymoon! My wife and I stayed at another lodge not far from Bay View Lodge, and the service there was terrible. We decided to look for another place to spend our honeymoon. The Bay View Lodge management went the extra mile from the moment we walked in. A bottle of champagne and a card to congratulate us waited for us in our room when we got there. There is a beautiful white beach that doesn’t feel commercialised. Amazing restaurant with exceptionally well prepared and well-presented food!! We will most definitely go there again!! Recommended for everyone!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    11
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maputo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Not only is the location and the self catering houses a delight. The restaurant tops it all, we loved the french cuisine mixed with mozambican and asian elements. We will come back, for sure!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Bay View Lodge provided excellent service from booking to check out...accurate info about place and activities was provided upfront, the shuttle service from the airport was on time and efficient, check in was seamless and we relaxed into the beautiful surroundings immediately.

Our room was very comfortable and spacious, the best part is the airconditioned bedroom with mosquito net around the bed. We didn't have to wear shoes...we were so close to the beach! Right on our doorstep was the most fabulous beach restaurant/bar (The Green Turtle)...we had so many delicious meals and the atmosphere is very friendly.

If you want quiet beautiful beaches...with delicious food and cocktails...and accomodation that is comfortable and private...this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Lodges 4 and 5 are closest to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Shepstone, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Bayview Lodge is a must for a holiday destination for families with loads to do. Beautiful beaches, well run resort with a wonderful family atmosphere. We loved every second of our holiday and will definitely be going back. Its our home away from home. Thank you John, Di and Sharron for all your help.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed at Bay View Lodge 5th-12th December 2012. We stayed in the Group House and it was neat, big and spacious! It get's serviced every day. There is a nice Restuarant on the premises, and also lots of other Restaurants and places to visit within walking distance. I would just suggest that if you are planning to spend time on the beach......... take a Gazebo with. The wind was a little strong when we were there and umbrellas was NO use! Maybe the Lodged would concider in the future to put up permanent Grass Umbrellas like some of the other places has got? Staff very friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful time and will definately return to Bay View Lodge if we go to Mozambique again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed at Bayview Lodge in a 1 bedroom casita and our friends stayed in another 1 bedroom casita next door, and it was absolutely amazing. The casitas are very well appointed, (and not too close together) and the aircon in the bedrooms was a life saver! All the staff from Diane, Sharon & John, to the security guards and the maids were so friendly & helpful. Gloria came daily from Inhambane with our delivery of fresh Pao every morning which was also a blessing. We could order any seafood we wanted from the local sellers, with the security guards keeping a watchful eye on negotiations, which was nice.

We were so close to the beach that we could just put on our costumes & slip slops and walk onto the beach for a swim, then walk back for an outdoor shower & dry off afterwards at the casita - perfect.

They had just opened a beach bar when we arrived - and the French hostess was kind enough to make us delicious rolls on the day we checked in, as we hadn't eaten since we'd left Maputo. We tried to get a table a couple of nights later but it was fully booked, a sign that the food is good as other restaurants told us that they hadn't had a great season.

I would definitely recommend Bay View Lodge to couples and families, it really was a fantastic resort which I will be returning to in the future. It's also fantastic value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for Casitas 4 or 5 to be closest to the beach (sleeps 2), or casita 2 if you want a solid covere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brits, North West
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We have been to Mozambique a few times before we found this little jewel... Our "housie" was perfect! As a family the accomodation was ideal. It was close enough to the beach that we could literally see our kids on the beach from our veranda! Our unit was very well laid out, comfortable and cleaned daily by friendly staff. For a self catering unit, I cannot think of anything I would add to the kitchen, as it was all there!! Even the big pots for those monster crayfish we bought... December heat is not for the faint hearted, but the aircons made it bearable, especially during the nights. A pleasure to have stayed at Bay View Lodge and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Lodge

Address: Barra Road, 1300, Mozambique
Phone Number:
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 80 Specialty lodging in Inhambane Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay View Lodge is situated on Barra beach (Praia da Barra) on the northeastern tip of Inhambane peninsula with a long, sandy beach in front and an estuary behind. All units are within 90 m from the beach, offering self-catering or catered (full or half board) accommodation. The area is famous for snorkeling and scuba diving, and world famous for diving with whale sharks and manta rays. Inhambane town is one of the oldest trading centres on the east African coast, with one of the largest number of dhows (local fishing boats)occuring in the area. Guests can arrive over land - NO 4x4 vehicle needed - or can fly in to the lodge, with daily flights between Johannesburg, South Africa and Inhambane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Bay View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay View Lodge Mozambique/Inhambane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.