We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a perfect week!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay View Lodge

Save Saved
You added Bay View Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay View Lodge
Barra Road, 1300, Mozambique   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Stockholm, Sverige
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“What a perfect week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We (2 adults and a 7 year old girl) visited Bay View Lodge in May 2011, which is low season in Mozambique. Bay View Lodge is located about 30. mins from Inhambane by car. Indeed, it's not necessary to bring your own car since transport can be arranged, even just for refilling the pantry.

Our house was clean, snugly, comfortable and with sea view. The beaches are gorgeous. The area is quiet, and with at least 3 - 4 restaurants at walking distance.

An own restaurant and bar is under construction and is probably finished during 2011. The work is moving slowly forward without any disturbing noise at all.

And what a great service! The owners are very friendly and helpful, trying to make your stay as pleasant as possible. My wife got fever (turned out to be throat infection), and they helped us out with a malaria test at the lodge and also with a visit to the doctor in Inhambane the next day.

We also got the chance to borrow a wonderful, old car (!) to be able to visit a great restaurant, which was a bit too far to reach on foot.

As a whole, the place is a bargain. We will definitely stay at Bay View Lodge if we get the possibility to return to Mozambique and Inhambane/Barra in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    11
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

I read the other reviews and was honstly surprised! I guess wrong place at the wrong time, our check in was not what I expected, I can appreciate it if cleaning a unit has not taken place, however its quite a different kettle of fish when I had booked for a 2 bedroom unit and was given a one bedroom unit. To be told to phone the agent to rectify the mishap does not really assist me when the owner is standing infront of me. First impressions do count, I was not impressed. My severe headache and your "bad day" lethal combination, hence my departure. I am glad though that all your reviews have been positive and I am sure they will continue. Please be tentative in the future.

Room Tip: Did not stay to appreciate the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halfwaypost, Public Relations Manager at Bay View Lodge, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
The booking was made according to the enquiry we received - 2 x persons for 1 x night's accommodation. No mention was made that a two-bedroomed unit was required. Guest arrived early before unit was ready for occupation - main Easter period and was offered a unit with 2 x single beds. Apology from Management for inconvenience caused by our staff and is being followed up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Superb hospitality from John & Diane Bishop & the whole family. We were collected from the little airport of inhambane about 40 minutes from the resort & taken to our lodge positioned just off the beach with a sea view from our balcony.It was large & comfortable without being any fuss or frills & equipped for us to do all our own catering. The family had kindly got us some shopping for our arrival on a Sunday as it would be difficult to get supplies on a Sunday afternoon. Everything was better than we could have expected & nothing was too much trouble, they even loaned us some money untill the banks opened the next day. Anything we wanted was given freely & cheerfuly be it fresh towels everyday rather than every 2days, loan of body boards to use in the surf or lifts in to the local town to get shopping. We were made to feel like part of an extended family for the whole of our 2 week stay & cannot rate the whole experience highly enough. Travellers should bear in mind that they are travelling to a remote part of Africa & not to a mainstream resort so there is a lack of shops & facilites without travelling over 20 minutes, there are however several bars & restaurants within easy walking distance. The locals do deliver fresh fish & seafood, bread, fruit & vegetables to your door daily at reasonable prices & water & charcoal for the built in Barbeque are available from the Bishops.
The lodges are located on a safe & very well maintaind site & are seviced daily to an exceptional standard of cleanliness.All are within a stone's throw of the supeb wide & beautiful beach that is several miles long with hardly anyone to share it, There are other lodges & hotels on the same stretch of beach, but having seen most of them & having spoken to several other holidaymakers staying at them we realize how lucky we were to have booked with Bay View Lodge which has more to reccomend it overall than any other accommodation locally. An unforgettable experience that we have to reccomend 100%.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Beatiful location, set just back from the beach. Quiet and away from the crowds. Accommodation is within self-contained cottages. Not flashy or luxurious but good value for money. The management are very friendly and hospitable. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokia, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

The place is right next to beach, well maintained, beautiful, clean and cozy. The beach is fantastic with white sand as far as you can see. There are good diving centers nearby (I recommend especially Barra Lodge Dive Centre, they are real professionals and it was great fun diving with them). I would love to stay in Bayview Lodge some day again. My trip was perfect!

The owners are especially friendly and helpful, thank you so much for your kindness and company! Greetings from Finland. I hope to see you one day again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halfwaypost, Owner at Bay View Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2011
When it gets too cold in Finland you know where we are! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We had been to Mozambique before, but never on holiday. So when the family decided that Christmas 2010 was going to be in Mozambique, the search was on!!
In hindsight, nothing is more important in Mozambique than where you stay – this is true of any location, but in Mozambique, quite simply, this is critical and will make or destroy your holiday.
Our guardian angel was most certainly with us when we found Bayview Lodge in Barra on the internet. The actual accommodation and location is simply unbeatable and we saw no other place we would rather have stayed – the “can do” and helpful attitude of John and Di Bishop on site just never let up, even though we needed to ask “stuff” all the time. This was all complimented by the Johannesburg office contact Catharina Wilfinger, who answered our endless quest for information with contagious enthusiasm, which often was unrelated to Bayview.
What a memorable holiday they all made possible for us – we’ll be back for sure!! Bayview or not at all!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

All bungalows are virtually on the beach. White long stretches of sand and a place to have a cold beer, never far away at one of the bars, on the beach. Long walks and beautiful sunsets.

The bungalows have all you need including aircon in the bedrooms. The service and hospitality was great with nothing too much for the hosts. John took us on a great boat trip across the bay and to pansy island, which was fantastic.

The only problem? Time went by too fast!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Lodge

Address: Barra Road, 1300, Mozambique
Phone Number:
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 80 Specialty lodging in Inhambane Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay View Lodge is situated on Barra beach (Praia da Barra) on the northeastern tip of Inhambane peninsula with a long, sandy beach in front and an estuary behind. All units are within 90 m from the beach, offering self-catering or catered (full or half board) accommodation. The area is famous for snorkeling and scuba diving, and world famous for diving with whale sharks and manta rays. Inhambane town is one of the oldest trading centres on the east African coast, with one of the largest number of dhows (local fishing boats)occuring in the area. Guests can arrive over land - NO 4x4 vehicle needed - or can fly in to the lodge, with daily flights between Johannesburg, South Africa and Inhambane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Bay View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay View Lodge Mozambique/Inhambane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.