We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bali Hai and the owners rock .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Hai Lodge

Bali Hai Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inhambane Province
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bali Hai Lodge
Save
You added Bali Hai Lodge to your Saves list
Barra, Mozambique   |  
Hotel amenities
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bali Hai and the owners rock .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Power is a problem all over in Moz and Bali Hai do have a Generater -Please just a reminder to invest in a Generater in SA as well ......hahahaha . Flamingo Bay with their Ash Flies will never see me again(Not even for a Coctail - service are bad and Ash flies bites, burn like hell ) Bali Hai suits our requirements and we love the fact that people from outside que to eat in the Restaurant ( The best in the area ) Candles are actually not allowed in the units because of the hazard of fires and people who are not used to handle candles are normally the ones who create bigger problems for the owners . Jannie and Dorothy make you feel at home and will go out off their way to accomodate any request. We visit Bali Hai 3 times a year and over Decembers for 3 weeks minimum ...... Bali Hai you are the best !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Any room - depends on your needs ( we prefer the single rooms )
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We chose this lodge as it offered decent standard rooms on a coastline with lots of very basic accommodation. Upon arrival we were indeed pleased with the standard and the lodge has a very good restaurant and nice views of the ocean. Food however can be rather slow as power cuts were frequent but i'm sure this isn't just a problem at this accommodation. We would recommend paying for room+food (breakfast and dinner) as it seemed good value. Rooms included AC, a fridge and mosquito nets and were decorated in a simple balinese inspired style. The lodge has two pools and the grounds are well kept by the staff.
Unfortunately the weather was terrible during our stay and we quickly realised that it's not easy to get around in Barra - there are no local taxi's and the quads are expensive and hard to hire. The more northern part of the beach was best for relaxing / doing activities and therefore turned out to be quite a walk. It takes about 3 mins to get from Bali Hai to the beach but there is no direct access in front of the lodge.
The owner and staff were very friendly and generous with lifts which helped compensate for the terrible weather. Their passion clearly lies in the fishing trips operated from the lodge and they appeared rather successful, kindly offering us samples of tuna sushi. This lodge would be the perfect base for those looking to do some serious deep sea fishing but you should book these trips in advance. Other activities such as the ocean safaris and diving take place mostly at Tofo beach and Barra Beach Lodge - probably more convenient bases if this is your focus for the visit. If you have a 4x4 vehicle this location would also suit trips to those areas. An internet terminal and phone line for customers would be a useful addition but i appreciate this is Mozambique! The area is still quite remote so take plenty of cash and expect things to be generally quite expensive.

I found the following a useful website when doing research: (-----------------------------------------)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prtetoria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

This was a shocking experience after staying at Flamingo Bay Lodge we were booked to stay at Bali Hai for three nights I actually ran away after one. The quality of these rooms are terrible to say the least. I am surprised that the owner could actually compare these rooms with Barra Lodge. Again as per my review on Flamingo, it seems like most of the Lodges in Moz are owned by SA Citizen who are under the impression that we should just keep on paying high rates for sub standard accommodation, you are in for a BIG surprise!! I have been going to Mozambique for the last 20 years and have seen the quality go up and very much down for the last few years.
My contact details in South Africa are as follow ---------

Room Tip: None of these
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

this place is nice, it is small enouth to allow you to talk to other but not so small that you are the only ones there. great views nice food, clean tidy rooms. It is a shame that there seem to be so many other lodges being built at the moment, must once have been very secluded.

be warned this place is at the end of a sand road, that a good 4x4 is needed to access.

they are not linked to a dive centre and recommend Barra Lodge, however you would be better to drive to Tofo takes 5 mins more but is much cheaper and a lot more choice.

while we were there the whole of the Barra region had a 3 day power cut, for this the lodge was totally unprepared, we were given 1 candle, that would not have really been a problem but with this 1 candle we were expected to read, eat everything! not realy that good. You may have noised I missed off wash we with no power Bali Hai has no water, and no generator so for 3 days we couldn't wash! lucky we were diving so used the shower at Barra lodge, I would have at leased expected a bucket of fresh water to clean some vital parts and flush the toilet.

Room Tip: bring a candle
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bali Hai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Hai Lodge

Address: Barra, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Inhambane Province
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Bali Hai Lodge Mozambique/Inhambane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Hai Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.