We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as promised.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Chicago Palatine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Chicago Palatine to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Palatine
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1550 East Dundee Road, Palatine, IL 60074   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Palatine
West Lafayette, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not as promised.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The 2 stars is because of the kind people there but otherwise the hotel is not good at all.
I booked a room there, and they said that they have shuttle service during my stay and when I went to stay there, there was no shuttle service.

The room itself was in a livable condition and nothing amazing. But then the price was not so much either.

The breakfast in the morning was ok, but can be improved.

Overall, I was disappointed, because of the shuttle service.

Room Tip: Chose a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Palatine, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear rachit389,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the friendliness of our staff. Please accept our sincerest apology for the misinformation you had with our Shuttle service and any inconvenience the situation may have caused you. We're also sorry our breakfast selections was less than satisfactory. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    19
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
9
5
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
drvivekgarg
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My flight from ORD was delayed and I had to wait for the next day flight. UA staff gave me a discount coupon for the hotel booking and Holiday Inn express was an obvious choice. The hotel was however quite far from the O'hare airport but the stay was comfortable for an overnight stay. The hotel had an express check in and within minutes I headed towards my room. Basic amenities were complete and the staff was very helpful. The hotel did not have a restaurant of its own but there is enough to order from nearby places. In 80 USD it was the best I could have thought of.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The stay was for five days and all during that time the staff was always very friendly and made me feel welcomed. The room was always fresh and clean and the breakfast was a great way to start each day. Would highly recommend this location and I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Rooms were very clean. We stayed 1 night for a wedding great price on the room that included a great free breakfast. There was way more of a selection of food than I thought there would be. Everything was very fresh.

Room Tip: Easy on and off highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and was very pleased with everything this hotel has to offer. The breakfast was great, staff very helpful and being attached to a Golds Gym with full access to everything was awesome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here with my son's traveling basketball team this past weekend. This hotel is definitely accomodating to large groups. There were several other teams as well as a few wedding parties staying at the same time we were. The layout of the hotel makes it easy for them to host these groups without it causing chaos. The pool and gym are in an area connecting to the hotel which cuts down on traffic and the breakfast area is separated into two rooms to allow for a better flow. While noise was present in the hallway even late at night due to the wedding receptions, once you were in your room it was quiet. Accomodations were clean and nothing fancy. Our room had a king bed and a sofa sleeper. The bed was fine, but the sleeper was a very thin mattress. For the money it was a great deal. Cold breakfast is available before the regular serving times and the staff did a great job of replenishing as needed. We would definitely stay here again for the price and location.

Room Tip: Bring change for the toll roads!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Palatine, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear eceteacher1,

I want to thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such important information about your recent stay. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and your experience makes you want to come back to our hotel. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This Hotel has a 100% rating. I have grown to dislike Holiday Inns. This Hotel changed my mind. It was a true 100% Hotel. check in was exceptional. One of the few Holiday Inns that understands Priority Club. Everything done right the first time. No Bad Odors in the Hotel. I saw a staff worker helping a wheelchair bound man with his breakfast. Making the toast and serving. I was touched by this act of compassion and caring. It is good reflection on the character and integrity of the entire staff and management. The location is perfect right off the Highway and well marked. Oh I forgot the TV was a razor sharp LG with perfect color. A variety of free movie channels.(That's rare)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE-PAL-MGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Palatine, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
To rd400,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our property from your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express in Palatine. We do pride our self in giving excellent service and we do know how important our Priority Club members are. I am also happy you enjoyed our LG LED High Definition television programming which comes with three HBO stations that are all complimentary. I am also glad that our location which is right off of I-53 worked for you as we feel we are positioned perfectly for all travelers coming to the northwest suburban area.

Thank you.
Jim Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chicago Palatine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chicago Palatine

Address: 1550 East Dundee Road, Palatine, IL 60074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Palatine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Palatine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chicago Palatine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You won't believe your eyes! The hotel has just completed a multi-million dollar renovation. Book your room now to see the new luxurious look of the Holiday Inn Express-Palatine/Arlington Heights. With completely renovated rooms and bathrooms, you'll be Staying Smart. The Holiday Inn Express is conveniently located one block west of Rt. 53, 15 miles from O'Hare Airport, and only 30 minutes from downtown Chicago. The hotel is also close to many local attractions and businesses such as Woodfield Mall, Long Grove Historic Shopping District, Medieval Times Dinner & Tournament, Motorola, Siemens, and Home Depot. Play Smart while Staying Smart with complimentary use of the adjacent World Gym Fitness Center. This 65,000 square foot fitness facility offers an indoor pool, sauna, basketball court, racquetball courts, 200 pieces of cardio and weight training equipment, aerobics studio and much more! Excellent customer service is why this hotel has consistently been rated as Chicagoland's #1 Holiday Inn Express. All rooms are now wired with complimentary high-speed access and new beds, with the meeting rooms, lobby and breakfast areas all offering complimentary high-speed wireless access! Lastly, don't forget we also feature a complimentary hot breakfast and free local shuttle service within 5 miles, subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chicago Palatine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Palatine Hotel Palatine
Holiday Inn Palatine
Palatine Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Palatine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Chicago Palatine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.