We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and very good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Fourteen

Cafe Fourteen
300 N Northwest Hwy, Palatine, IL 60067-5329
847-705-6330
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 126 Restaurants in Palatine
Restaurant details
Palatine Il
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great service and very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The food is always quite good and the service is impeccable.....too fast sometimes.
If you're looking for a freindly place with good food and great service this is it!!!!
We have only done breakfast here but we've done it many, many times.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“For years and years, the best Breakfast/ Lunch spot in town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Try this pleasant place for extensive breakfast items and nice lunches.
Our meals are always prepared as ordered - try the steel cut oatmeal with all the fixings, or any of the excellent
waffle combinations; my favorite has the bacon crumbled
on top, as well as mixed in the batter. The children like the
skillets, my daughter sticking to her Veggie Skillet.
Super friendly servers and hosts keep the very good Kona
coffee flowing. (They have a decent decaf, as well).
Even though we've relocated, Cafe Fourteen is a must-stop
each time we visit Illinois!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The soup alone was great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We used to go here for dinner before but they switched 6-3 seven days a week but since I was passing through at lunch time I thought I would give it a try again. The soup alone was amazing. It was cream of potatoe but it was more like baked potatoe soup with bacon , cheese and chives on top 'mmm' the cranberry turkey sandwiches were very good and some thing different. The other person with me on this trip had a turkey burger and it was slightly over done but had good flavor. The bread basket had sliced French bread with good taste but a little dry. I hope all restaurants will eventually wrap bread in the bread basket to keep it fresh and not handled a lot. I would say over all a good rating especially because of the soup.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A Noon Time coffee shop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Food is ok, service is friendly. Prices can seem a bit high, but they give you a load of food when you order a sandwhich. Open only until mid afternoon.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Large delicious entrees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We went to eat on a Sunday morning about 11:00AM, and I had a sandwich, which came with some and fries. It was very delicious cream of chicken soup. I think it was the best soup I ever had. My boyfriend ordered a breakfast dish, and loved it. The manager is so nice and was walking around talking to everyone and joking with customers. Our server was fantastic and very friendly. It is open for breakfast and lunch and we would definitely go back there. The bathrooms were very clean, and that says a lot about a restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Fourteen also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Fourteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Fourteen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.