We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Pub in Palatine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Donkey Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Donkey Inn
923 S Plum Grove Rd, Palatine, IL 60067
847 359-5451
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 126 Restaurants in Palatine
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Palatine, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Little Pub in Palatine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you like the "up norh" feel, that's what it reminds me of when I'm there. My husband, my two 5 year old boys and myself were there right after the holidays. It's a great little place where you can go casually there. We sat in the bar area where there were lots of TV's so the boys were happy to watch some of the bowl games going on.

My husband likes the Patty Melt and I love their Chicken Wings. I prefer them with no sauce. They are very meaty, not dry and just plain old good! They server breakfast all day so my boys had pancakes for dinner and ate them completely up.

We also had their homemade blooming onion and they server it with Cajun Ranch that is so tasty. The first time we had the onion, it wasn't cut well so it was hard to pull it apart but this second time it was much better. Either way it was realy good.

What I like at the Donkey Inn, it's clean, it feels good to hang out there. They have a huge bar if you just want to go somewhere to have a beer and watch a game. You can feel comfortable bringing your family there.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere and attentive staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Fun atmosphere and reasonably price menu. The staff is attentive and prompt. When crowded, impossible to have an intimate conversation. Meals are always consistent and fresh.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

This place has great burgers. I haven't had a bad one yet. They are always packed, so I can't advise on when to get there. The fish fry is awesome. There are few places around that have a good fish fry outside of Wisc. Big variety on their menu. There is something for everyone.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“This is a wonderful neighborhood pub with consistently good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Love it, but the "regulars" at the bar can be quite loud...but even with that it's a great place.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

Please is super cool & upgraded with lots of flat screen TV's. Great food & service too. Owner is on site at all times maybe that is why it's very popular. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donkey Inn also viewed

 

Been to Donkey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donkey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.