We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Ottawa Starved Rock St Pk Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Ottawa Starved Rock St Pk Area to your Saves list
Super 8 Ottawa Starved Rock St Pk Area
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   500 East Etna Road, Ottawa, IL 61350   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ottawa
Bourbonnais, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed one night and found the hotel to be very friendly and clean. The rooms were bigger then I expected for such a low price. We even had a whirlpool tub in the room. My only complaint was the water did not get hot enough for the tub (or shower).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen Z, General Manager at Super 8 Ottawa Starved Rock St Pk Area, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
My staff and I want to Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review concerning your overnight stay with us.I am glad that you found my staff to be friendly and the hotel to be clean. I am very proud to say that our Super 8 of Ottawa has been a Pride of Super 8 since we opened our doors 24 years ago.We are also the proud recipient of the award " Decades of Excellence for Customer Service and Cleaniness. I am so glad that you enjoyed the size of your room. I am sorry for the inconvenience of the temperature of the water, I was able to have that adjusted by our maintenance staff. Thank you for informing us of that matter. My staff and I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    45
    11
    0
    4
See reviews for
56
38
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed over one night in the Super 8, taking into account the high tripadvisor rating this hotel received. It was easy to get to, and we had a very quick check in. However, we were met with an intensely strong odor that we couldn't immediately identify when we reached out floor, but it wasn't unlike the kind of smell you'd associate with a permanent marker or some sort of strong aerosol. It was POWERFUL and we had pounding headaches within 15 minutes of getting into our room, even with opening up our windows.

We got there early enough to duck out for part of the evening, hoping that leaving our window open would air out the strong smell. However, upon our return, it still smelled awful. At that point, we went downstairs and explained our situation to the night manager, Heather. She apologized profusely and explained that despite the hotel being a non-smoking building, one of the guests had decided they were above the rules and had been smoking in their room on our floor and stunk up the whole hallway. Whenever that happens, the maids have to run an ozone machine so the smell doesn't settle into the carpet. The hotel was completely full that night, so there wasn't any room we could move to. Heather found us a box fan to blow the air out of our room, and that helped a lot. Within an hour, everything seemed back to normal.

Our stay wasn't the best, but it certainly wasn't the hotel's fault. We have an unbelievably rude guest to thank for that. We appreciated how sympathetic and genuine Heather was, and we'd certainly return again, hopefully this time without someone smoking who shouldn't be.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen Z, General Manager at Super 8 Ottawa Starved Rock St Pk Area, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
I want to Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review concerning your overnight stay at our Super 8 of Ottawa, Illinois. First I have to apologize for the inconvenience that you had with the smell of your room.I want to Thank you for your understanding of the situation. I am so glad that Heather was able to help.and showed great customer service. I will defintily pass the compliment on to Heather. My staff and I look forward to having you stay with us again, we truly want you to enjoy your overnight stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

enjoyed the tv, clean and quite room. Manager Karen is very good,polite and friendly. Iwill certanly recomond to friends

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen Z, General Manager at Super 8 Ottawa Starved Rock St Pk Area, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
i want to Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write a review. It is very important to my staff and I that our return guest are pleased with each and every time that you stay with us. Your feed back is very important to me, your information helps me to ensure that all our guest will have and enjoyable evening at our Super 8.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

my wife and I were very pleased to stay at this super 8 motel apple very last minute, we were able to stay in a jacuzzi suite room, being that was are 16 wedding anniversary. The hotel next door to the west we received a discount that was supposed to have a free upgrade to a just jacuzzi suites, but we could not use due to a water heater not working.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen Z, General Manager at Super 8 Ottawa Starved Rock St Pk Area, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for writing a review. My staff and I very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. My staff and I hope to see you again in the near future. Please call us directly at 815-434-2888 for your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Called into hotel to check rates and availability, was asked to hold by staff member at hotel was busy at moment,said fine no problem. After noticing that I wasn't put on hold listened for next 10min to front desk personnel joking,conversating to guest about everything in the wind except hotels info as well as conversation with another employee at hotel. By this time I was disgruntled and hung up & recalled hotel, front desk answered, asked if she had forgot me on the phone? She didn't know what I was talking about. She had then informed me she had just started her shift and was previous shift that answered my call. when asked for that name of employee it was given then asked to speak to manager and she informed me that person who took my call was "The Manager"! Needless to say I hung up phone and said to myself; between the two of these employee's (one a manager) being unprofessional I would sleep in my car before ever staying at this place.. If this is how management is and as well as that front desk personnel I could just imagine what else I would be instore for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Ottawa Starved Rock St Pk Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ottawa Starved Rock St Pk Area

Address: 500 East Etna Road, Ottawa, IL 61350
Location: United States > Illinois > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ottawa Starved Rock St Pk Area 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 Ottawa Starved Rock hotel is the proud reipient of the award "Decades of Excellence for Customer Service and Cleanliness" We are 100% Smoke Free and Pet Free. The hotel is conveniently located off 1-80 at Exit 90. The Super 8 of Ottawa,Illinois is minutes away from 4 State Parks, Starve Rock, Matthiessen State, Buffalo Rock State, and Illini State. All of our rooms feature Micro-Refrigerator, personal coffee makers, hair dryer, iron and board, and 32" flat screen television. Enjoy a free SuperStart continental breakfast or, if you are in a rush, grab a free coffee to go.Connect to the web with free Wi-Fi from your room or in the business center. Whirpool Suites are available.Children 17 and under stay free with parents.Other attractions in the area include Boy Scout Museum, W.D. Boyd Burial Site,founder of the Boy Scouts of America. Reddick Mansion, I and M Canal.Our Super 8 makes it easy to enjoy the natural splendor of Illinois,Fish,camp,photograph casading waterfalls or hike 13 miles of trails at Starved Rock State Park. For the true adventurer SkyDive Chicago is just 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 Ottawa Starved Rock St Pk Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Ottawa
Super Eight Ottawa
Ottawa Super 8
Ottawa Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Ottawa Starved Rock St Pk Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.