We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox River Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ottawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fox River Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Fox River Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
3367 E 2072nd Rd, Ottawa, IL 61350   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A delightful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed out three night stay at Charlotte's wonderful B&B in July, 2013. The house is beautiful and very comfortable. We got every encouragement to make it our home for the days we were there. Charlotte (the innkeeper) is very kind, thoughtful and pleasant to visit with as well that we will definitely look forward to our next visit with her.

Our room, the Hala, was very comfortable and had everything we needed. The bathroom was nearby and also nicely appointed. The breakfasts she served were absolutely delicious, and a bit decadent! (Fortunately we were spending our days biking to burn off some of those scrumptious calories!)

It is a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    4
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Fox River B & B is a perfect getaway! I live in Chicago; it's a short trip (hour and a half) from the city. The owner is so welcoming and makes you feel right at home as soon as you pull in. Any stress you're carrying with you will melt away. Plenty to do nearby - canoe, kayak, or hiking Starved Rick. Or just enjoy the vast property's tranquil setting with a book. You'll want to go back, I will!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely - they have rooms with 2 beds if you're traveling with friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waunakee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We chose the Fox River B&B for its proximity to Starved Rock State Park, and for the history of staying in Charles Lindbergh's Room.

The home and the hostess (Charlotte) were both warm and welcoming. We were a bit concerned about sharing a bathroom, but this really was not an issue as we were the only guests on the 2nd floor both nights we stayed there.

The quiet country setting was just what we needed after staying at a busy (and damp) Baymont Inn for the previous 2 nights.

We were grateful for a m/w and a refrigerator in our room. The Satellite Dish had so many channels to amuse my 12-year old daughter, too.

When asked, Charlotte offered suggestions and information. Breakfast was yummy. Each morning had a hot casserole egg dish, bacon, fruit salad, biscuits or muffins. When she noticed that my tween was picking at her casserole, she generously offered to make her "plain eggs." (A lesson followed on how to pretend better in the future. :) The adults loved EVERYTHING. :)

I highly recommend the Fox River B&B, enthusiastically and without reservation.

Room Tip: We chose the Lindbergh room for the history.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Morris, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

We had our wedding in July at the Fox River B&B and it was a wonderful experience. Charlotte, the owner, was like having a wedding planner on hand. She made sure everything ran smoothly. We had 85+ guests and the Inn is beautiful. Little decoration was needed. Our wedding party was able to stay at the Inn the entire weekend. We hosted a wedding rehearsal BBQ and had a ton of fun. I highly recommend the Fox River B&B for weddings or get aways. It is an awesome place.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

Been there last weekend and - I liked it very much. It's a secluded house, homey arranged and I felt like sleeping over my aunts house. The air is great, its peaceful and very very clean. Usually when I go to hotels, I don't have that feeling of cleanliness like in my own home, but here, I felt really safe. Breakfast was very tasty, some egg sausage and hash brown bake, plus the fruit salad was excellent. Outside in lawn is a table where you can sit, read and catch some sun. There are few chickens walking free around a house and was thinking this is a chicken paradise.

The lady that owns the house is Charlotte, she was very kind, polite and soft. She was there all the time but left us the right amount of freedom. I was very satisfied. Will I go there again? Yes, in September. It seams to me that in Fox River B&B I get more then I pay. But have in mind that this is not for people who love chain hotels and minimalist interior design. Its too flavorable and "homey like".

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARLINGTON HEIGHTS
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

We were looking for a B&B near the I&M Canal Bike trail. This was convenient for that (just a short drive), and darn close to Starved Rock and Matthiessen State Parks. Also must be the nearest spot to SkyDive Chicago. and C&M Canoe rental (and perhaps the Wedron Grill facory if you have business with them.)

All five of the rooms seem good, each decorated uniquely. Charlotte makes a great breakfast just for your group at the time you request.

Price is right at about $100/room. The Website and some of the reviews here are out-of-date. Host is only Charlotte Beach now, so ignore some of the mixed review comments related to the past proprietors.

And if you want a deal, consider the opportunity to pitch a tent on the property in one of the secluded field spots. No bed or breakfast provided, but a quiet spot with firepits.

Only negative I can even think of is the 2 shared bathrooms for the 5 rooms, but this was never an issue for us at all. The place just isn't crowded, and that's why I highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Seclusion, yet with a short distance of outdoor activities.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

My wife and I stayed for 8 nights this July and were very impressed with the bnb. Charlotte is the new owner and Bobby Joe is not involved anymore. Charlotte was very helpful and friendly. She cooks excellent breakfasts with fresh muffins, bacon and eggs from her hens. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. We did not eat dinner there as there are lots of local restaurants. Hanks Farm in particular was particularly good. I would recommend this bnb to anyone. It is quiet enough for a romantic get away and yet there is plenty to do nearby for a family holiday.

  • Liked — The original house
  • Disliked — A shared bathroom
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox River Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox River Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3367 E 2072nd Rd, Ottawa, IL 61350
Location: United States > Illinois > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adventure! Romance! Relax on 17 wooded acres in private secluded 1901 Victorian. Enjoy fresh country air and our Gourmet Breakfasts. Endless fun just minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fox River b&b
Fox River Hotel Ottawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox River Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.