We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Original Pancake House

The Original Pancake House
15256 S La Grange Rd, Orland Park, IL 60462-3711
708-349-0600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 178 Restaurants in Orland Park
Price range: $5 - $10
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My could things get any better ? But the Pancake house was the icing on the cake, the food and service was awsome.I will tell you this Orland Park is an excellent get away from the ordinary!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    1
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orland Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“GERMAN PANCAKES”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I love their German Pancakes here. There is not a better place in Orland to get a Great Breakfast like this.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Won't be back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

I was visiting Chicago for the Thanksgiving holiday and met up with a friend for breakfast. It was four of us total for breakfast on black friday. The service was decent, not fantastic, and the food was just ok (i.e., our turkey sausage was dry and overcooked). When we arrived at the restaurant, it was during the breakfast rush, but by the time we were done with our meal, the place had cleared out with several empty tables and booths in our area. That didn't seem to matter, because apparently they wanted to seat someone at our table. Instead of coming up to our table, asking how everything was, and if we needed anything else, the manager proceeded to continually walk past our table and then stand a couple feet away from us, staring us down. Who does that? By the time we left to go, they were so intent on turning over our table (again, no one was waiting, several tables/booths were empty), they almost ran us over to start bussing the table, and there wasn't even anyone at the register to ring us up. The Original Pancake House in Hyde Park is SOO much better, and I've never had any problem with service or food at that one. They probably have different owners, as I've never been treated like I was on Friday!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, MI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The customer is never right. There are rules”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Make sure you read the rules posted on the front door - there are many, all punitive. No, you can't sit there, even if there are many empty tables. No, you can't be seated until everyone is here, even if your husband is visible on the lot parking the car. No you can't have coffee in your own cup, even if you planned on buying the coffee to fill it. And if you ask for a different table (because the one where you are seated is at the entrance to the non-doored kitchen with staff yelling orders), watch where they seat you next. It's not about the customer, it's all about them and the rules, and they'll defend them to the death rather than just say, "I'm sorry you are having a bad experience. What can we do to make it better". Enough for me. I'll not be back - to this one or any of the others, either. I'll take my money and spend it on the small local cafe instead.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Local spot, owners care about good service and food. Great coffee.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to The Original Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Original Pancake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.