We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paddle Wheel Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Paddle Wheel Inn to your Saves list
Paddle Wheel Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1457 Illinois Route 2 North, Oregon, IL 61061   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oregon
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for a fathers day get away. We got one of the rooms on ground level along the river. Being able to walk out onto your private patio right there along the river is very relaxing. We ordered room service from the hotel across the parking lot and they delivered it right to our room! We also enjoyed use of their spa area. They have a very nice oversized in ground jacuzzi and a sauna available to any guest staying there. All in all it was a very relaxing weekend. Beautiful place, lots of additional ammenities and friendly staff. We will be returning very soon!!!

Room Tip: Get the rooms along the river!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    11
    5
    9
    14
See reviews for
20
29
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Went out there for a wedding and room was great. Clean. And customer service was great. Room was clean, very quite location and right on the river!. any issue they help in anyway!

Thank you paddle wheel inn!
-Matt McHugh

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I drive two hours to get here. Staff was rude and demanded cash up front before I was allowed to enter my room. Worst breakfast offered. Will never stay here again. I ended up leaving and going to a different inn.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PWIowner, Owner at Paddle Wheel Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
I am sorry to see you left these comment. I am sorry your were unsatisfied with the free continental breakfast we offer each morning. You made the comment we demanded cash which is a false statement. Upon check in you asked if we accepted personal checks, the desk clerk informed you that we do not accept checks. You then ask if you could pay cash upon check out and the clerk advised you that you must pay upon check in. You then asked your mother to borrow the cash so you did not have to go to the ATM. This is a standard hotel practice. You checked in on Thursday with Amy and repeatedly thanked her for all of her help throughout the evening. On Friday you came to me and personally told me how great Amy was and how much you were enjoying your stay. You requested to stay through Monday but were booked on Saturday so were not able to extend your stay, contrary to what you wrote above you did not leave because you were unsatisfied with the Paddle Wheel Inn. We offered to make you reservations for Sunday night which you agreed to do. On Sunday you did not show up for your guaranteed reservation. We called you and you stated that you checked in to another hotel on Saturday and decided that is was too much hassle to move back to out hotel on Sunday night. We understood and waived the cancellation/ No show fee for this reservation. This is a very unfair review, as you complimented myself and the staff multiple time throughout your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed again and enjoyed it just as much as the first. We are recently back from a trip to Florida, where we could not find a clean room. It made me appreciate even more how clean and maintained this hotel is. The staff was friendly and attentitive. We will be back, this is our getaway hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were, apparently, the only two rooms booked during our visit this month, April 2013. Neither friendly nor unfriendly; the desk clerk just was totally disconnected. It was the same on departure; nothing of a friendly nature said or offered. Two different clerks but the same very odd feeling. The noticeable feature of the motel was the prevalence of many negative signs: desk is/will be closed; various "employee only" signs; various large signs about "no" this and "no" that. Perhaps each reflects some prior problems with guests; in any event it added to absence of any charm or positive ambience for our visit. It's just a very basic motel that happens to be on the Rock River. I am guessing that an in-season summer visit would make some of my observations less relevant. Pretty basic cold packaged pastries for the continental 'breakfast' offering. We did have a good time at the Black Hawk Steak Pit across the parking lot.

Room Tip: You are either on the river or on the parking lot. Three stories with one long hallway by floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PWIowner, Owner at Paddle Wheel Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I reviewed the video and audio video at the front desk. I agree your check in with our desk clerk was just average. This is unacceptable to me for my staff to be average. I have addressed the issue with the desk clerk. I also reviewed your interactions with my daytime desk clerk and I found her to be pleasant and helpful in the video. She smiled and recommended a place to eat, she also called and informed your daughter upon your request that you were in the breakfast area waiting for her. This interaction was not accurately reviewed. The signs around the lobby are consistent with any place of business. The employee only signs are to keep guest from entering areas that are for staff only or unsafe for our guests. No smoking signs are required by the state of Illinois to be posted by every entrance and exist. We want our guest to be informed and safe. We also want to comply with all regulations imposed by the state. I am sorry our free continental breakfast did not meet your expectations and appreciate your comments. I hope you will stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Beloit, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I really loved my stay here. The staff is so nice, the hotel is clean, and on a beautiful setting. Highly recommend! This was a family stay, but this would be a great place for a wedding party to stay!

Room Tip: River side rooms have the best view. We stayed in the Luxury River View Suite, which is the most exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PWIowner, Owner at Paddle Wheel Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeville
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Love the room, the price, the view and the location. Great litttle place. I check in the hotel and was told that the lobby closed at 11 and that there would be no one there until 7am so dont lock yourself out. So if there is a fire our a emergency or simply a drunk guest in the hotel who is going to take care of the guest...... Wont be back to much of a risk for me

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PWIowner, Owner at Paddle Wheel Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you loved the room, the price, the view and the location. We are sorry that you did not feel safe. We wish you would have brought it to the staff’s attention during your stay, so we could have addressed your concerns. Our most important goal is to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay and feel safe. The current economic condition has taken a hard toll on the hotel industry and particularly in Illinois and the county in which we reside. In order to keep our doors open, we had to eliminate overnight staffing of the front desk on nights when we only have a few guests in the hotel. The night you stayed we only had three guests. We have gone to great lengths to ensure the safety of our guests. We have audio and video monitoring security cameras, a sprinkler system and a fire alarm that is phone linked directly with the fire department. The sheriff's department monitors the building multiple times nightly. The owners live close to the hotel and can be in the building within minutes. The desk is staffed 24 hours a day when there are wedding parties or anytime there are a significant amount of reservations. We have carefully considered all of your concerns. For liability reasons they must be our concerns also. We are confident that we have a system in place that ensures our guests safety. We hope you come back to stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paddle Wheel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddle Wheel Inn

Address: 1457 Illinois Route 2 North, Oregon, IL 61061
Location: United States > Illinois > Oregon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oregon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Paddle Wheel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Paddle Wheel Inn, prepare to be rewarded with the utmost in hospitality and personal comfort. Located on the scenic Rock River, our River View Rooms offer seasonal panoramic views of the river and famous Blackhawk Statue. We are located next to the authentic paddle-wheel boat, "Pride of Oregon" and Maxson's Riverside restaurant and the Blackhawk Steakpit. We now have fridges and microawaves in every room. We no longer offer a continental breakfast. We have lowered our rates to compensate for no continental breakfast and limited TV stations. We have coffee available 24 hours a day. Inquire about our weddings and group events. Beautiful 39 spacious rooms located on the Rock River across from the Black Hawk Statue. Perfect setting for weddings, class reunions and family reunions. It s a unique setting that offers a rustic feel with modern amenities. During the off season we will have limited front desk hours. Monday through Saturday 9am to 8pm, Sundays and Holidays 9am to 5pm. The limited hours will be effective until April 1, 2015. Please contact the front desk in advance if these hours do not work with your travel plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Paddle Wheel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paddle Wheel Hotel Oregon
Paddle Wheel Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paddle Wheel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.