We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blackhawk Steak Pit

The Blackhawk Steak Pit
1429 N Il Route 2, Oregon, IL 61061
+1 815-732-2500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Oregon
Price range: $13 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Whether it's a day trip from Chicago or a weekend getaway from the hustle and bustle of the big city, Oregon is less than 2 hours away from Chicago and offers many outdoor activities. Its a great place to visit. The Steakpit offers amazing hospitality and awesome food. Specializing in steaks cooked over an open charcoal pit. We also offer a fresh fish of the week. We have a different fresh fish flown in every week. (Call and ask what our fish of the week is, if you are a seafood lover) The Steakpit has been a staple in the community for over 3 decades. We are known for our steaks but our menu has a lot more than just steaks to offer.
Joliet, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Our waitress was excellent. The filet was as tender as described. Greek salad was great. We planned to go back a second night but ate too much at lunch to do that! We'll definitely eat here again when we're in the area.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Byron, Illinois
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hip, cozy atmosphere, excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I've eaten at this restaurant many times over the years, under two different owners, and the ambiance, drinks, food and service are always outstanding. Under new owners, the restaurant still has the warm, cozy steakhouse feel but with an updated, Chicago steakhouse vibe! I would not hesitate to bring a client or customer, or out-of-town guests to the Steak Pit - it is reliably excellent! The New York Strip, one of the house specialties, is among the two or three best we've ever had; the grilled lamb chop is by far the best I've ever tasted. The seasonally adjusted brew list is a real treat for my husband and sons; I love the creative martini specials. In a small rural town that is waaay off the beaten path, it is rare to find such fine dining, in a casual - yet romantic - atmosphere with very NON-Chicago prices! I would recommend the Steak Pit to anyone who loves good food, good value and a good time!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, Illinois
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Best place around to get a quality meal!!! I liked the openness. The decor was impressive for a small establishment. Everyone was really nice. The chef even came to check on us! We will be back for sure

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“not what it used to be and they now have karaoke”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This place is not what it used to be, I've been coming here for 20 years.Quality of the steaks have become poor and Price on the steak have gone up and not worth what you get for service and ambiance. Our some what quiet evening was interrupted by karaoke which is very wierd when your paying 24$ per person. The same old family vibe is gone since the new owners have taken over. The decor is tacky with zebra print bar stools and changed lighting. Our server smelled of smoke because we saw them smoking outside before they had served us. We were there for over 3 hours and the server tried to get a double tip on our party of 12. The tip is inculded on parties of 8 or more they say on their menu, but then they hide it the total to get you to tip more. My first review was deleted for some reason. This place has gone down hill and I've been coming here for about 20 years.The new review of it being bad are correct dont get fooled.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackhawkSteakPit, Owner at The Blackhawk Steak Pit, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Your facts are incorrect about the Blackhawk Steakpit. In fact I feel that with the comments you made being so off, that you have never been to the Steakpit. Your review states you visited in December 2013, our first ever Karaoke was the end of January 2014 for a special event. We also started it after dinner service was over. No one was in the restaurant other than the customers at the bar that were there for the event. Our menu doesn't say gratuity will be added to the tickets anywhere, no matter the number of people. We actually NEVER add gratuity to any ticket. I just went through every ticket for the last 3 months and gratuity was NOT added to one of them. Our menu has a few new items added to it since the last owners. The quality of steak is the same and the price is as well. I did update the interior of the restaurant which is a modern style now. The chairs were torn and needed to be replaced. The first review you wrote was deleted because it was found to be fraudulent by trip advisor. It was a fake name and a false review. If you have any questions or further comments please contact us at 815-732-2500 "Dan"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“waited 3 hours”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Charged 12 dollars for a "split plate" after waiting 3 hours for our food. We were not advised ahead of time regarding the extra plate charge. We waited literally from the time we came in until the time our food was served no less than 3 hours. There was no apology about the wait and an argument ensued when we objected to the extra plate fee. However the food was good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blackhawk Steak Pit also viewed

 

Been to The Blackhawk Steak Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blackhawk Steak Pit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.