We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Auckland Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tuakau Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tuakau Hotel to your Saves list
Tuakau Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 3 George Street | Tuakau, Tuakau 2121, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tuakau
Whakatane, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“South Auckland Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed the night before our friends daughters wedding as accommodation in Pukekohe was fully booked. Not knowing what to expect we dined on the way at Rangiriri Hotel which always does a great value meal, but upon arriving at Tuakau township we find quite a variety of meal options, including a restuarant at the Tuakau Hotel. Built in 1875 and recently fully refurbished in the appropriate era, this is truly a Grand Hotel. The parking facilities under camera surveilance, presentation of exterior very welcoming. The office was closed but had been advised to collect key to room from bar, the staff were fully informed and welcoming, excellent personalities, in a well equiped environment. Upstairs we went to our Hotel suite. Sensor lights in hallway, beautiful decorations of period wallpaper and wainscotting, our room door opened into a very top class boutique bedroom with ensuite. Totally not what we had expected from rural South Auckland. The only slight negative was the outside security lighting was too bright. The rooms need blackout window treatments. We will stay there again and highly recommend others to do so, and experience the whole dining and staying to enjoy all facilities.

Room Tip: You do have option of Motel like accommodation or Hotel accommodation. The Hotel was very quiet. D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwidee, Guest Relations Manager at Tuakau Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We are delighted that you found South Auckland a nice Surprise and it was more than you expected. Thank you too for highly recommending the Tuakau Hotel to other travellers for rest and refreshment and we look forward to your next stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback regarding the light seepage into your room at night. While we do use blackout window treatments in all our rooms, some may need to be revisited if light is still seeping through around the edges. We do have a couple of rooms which have challenged us in this regard. Thanks for letting us know that we need to continue to seek a satisfactory solution. It is important to us that our guests get a good night's rest. Thank you for taking the time to review the Tuakau Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    22
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
27
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We decided to stay at the Tuakau Hotel the night before my daughter's wedding because the salon we were using for hair and make up is right across the road (Ikon - fantastic salon). We had two rooms and we were impressed with the cleanliness of them both. The facilities in the room were great - we were very happy. We also dined in the restaurant and couldn't fault the service or the food. All in all a fantastic experience - just what we wanted the night before a very important and special day!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwidee, Guest Relations Manager at Tuakau Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
A wedding is such an important life event. We are delighted you found the Tuakau Hotel a great place to stay and that you had a fantastic experience. We are fortunate to have fabulous wedding support services in Tuakau including Anita's Flowerbiz and dress-maker CFS Customized - The Sewing Shop and agree that Ikon is a fantastic hair salon. The bride and her party looked beautiful and so very happy as they drove away in the stretch limo. Thank you for recommending the Tuakau Hotel as a great place to stay for the wedding party.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

A group of us stayed in the Tuakau Hotel for a night in early February. The rooms, which were in an additional wing, were very new and spacious. The little kitchenette area was well equipped and the bathroom was clean and a good size. The bed and the pillows were very comfortable which led to a great night's sleep. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel as a good option not too far from Auckland airport if you have your own transport.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TuakauHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Tuakau Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for recommending the Tuakau Hotel as a good option not too far from Auckland airport if you have your own transport. Our Great Hotel aims to provide guests with their first or last experience of rural New Zealand as they journey south from Auckland or head north to Auckland Airport on their way home. We are delighted that you got a great night's sleep and enjoyed our facilities with your friends. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsborough, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

What a great find this place was. After touring the North Island with our friends for two weeks we wanted somewhere to stay to finish our holiday before heading off, hassle free, in the morning to Auckland airport. The rooms were brand new and very well planned. We each had the one bedroom apartment which were very comfortable and tastefully decorated. Once we all sorted out our cases in readiness for the airport we wandered into the Bar to have a drink before dining in their lovely Restaurant. The fit out in the actual Hotel building is very beautifully done and very relaxing. The food was lovely and fresh and the wine list very adequate. When all the sightseeing is done and all you need is a place to unwind in readiness for your morning flight, I highly recommend this Hotel, the beds are sooo comfortable too. It is a very easy drive to the Auckland airport. Well done Tuakau Hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TuakauHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Tuakau Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are delighted you found the Tuakau Hotel to be a great pre-Auckland Airport destination. Whether arriving or departing New Zealand, Tuakau is only 40mins south of the Auckland International Airport making it a hassle-free stopover if you want to avoid the busy city traffic. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The area just half an hour south of Auckland – Clevedon / Hunua – is fantastic for hiking. Unspoilt wilderness, waterfalls, lakes, native bush, kauri groves… And after a vigorous hike, the first thing we need is hearty pub grub.

I stumbled on the Tuakau Hotel and it fit the bill perfectly. It’s newly renovated, but nonetheless you feel like you’re in the country here. This is no sleek city joint with chirpy serving staff and unpronounceable dishes. Instead you get a warm welcome, slow service and simple, hearty portions of tasty food. It’s not flash – and that’s what makes it perfect for a post-hike munch.

Interestingly, the Hotel does live up to its ethos – it’s been around since 1875! That makes it a little younger than Northwest Auckland’s Riverhead Tavern (which touts its heritage of being New Zealand’s oldest riverside tavern) but there’s not much in it.

Oh, and the Tuakau Hotel is right across the road from the local museum, so should you wish to find out more, you’re well-placed to do so!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TuakauHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Tuakau Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are so pleased that we were able to offer some Hearty Fare to fill your belly after your hike in our beautiful countryside. Tuakau Hotel is indeed a country hotel and we pride ourselves on providing hearty meals to our country folk as well as giving all our visiting guests a warm welcome to the district. The country air and our laid back pace are perfect for easing away the stresses of city living, so we are delighted that you enjoyed the experience before returning to the hurly burly of city life. Thanks for recommending the natural attractions of the area as well as highlighting the historical features. The Tuakau Museum is open every Sunday afternoon. Add the Alexandra Redoubt, Nikau Caves, and Port Waikato to your next visit out this way and you wont be disappointed in the natural beauty on offer to refresh body and soul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Warm, friendly and very helpful staff. Excellent facilities. Room clean and warm. Nice tea bags and real milk. Plenty of towels. Beds very comfortable. Hotel was easy to find and plenty of parking. Recommended and would stay again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TuakauHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Tuakau Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation of Tuakau Hotel. Conveniently located at the base of the Bombay Hills, accessible from either the Bombay or Pokeno motorway offramps for traffic travelling up SH1 or west on SH2. It is the perfect location for a stop-over, between the rugged West Coast surf beaches and the tidal eastern Seabird Coast, if touring the district. If travelling north or south Tuakau Hotel is a great place to stop a night and enjoy good country hospitality and a wholesome meal with live entertainment Saturday nights. We are so glad you are Happy Customers and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I recently needed somewhere to stay in South Auckland, and had heard of the Tuakau Hotel through its winning the Hospitality NZ Award of Excellence for Best new/redeveloped Accommodation Hotel. I thought I would give it a try, and I am very glad I did. I was genuinely impressed with the quality of the makeover. I have travelled extensively all around the world with my job and have stayed in some high quality hotels, but the room I had in Tuakau would hold its own against any of them. The facilities were all of the best quality, and I was made to feel very welcome and very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: I was given a room in the main hotel block. I did not see any rooms in the adjacent accommodation bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TuakauHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Tuakau Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Your very pleasant surprise at the welcome and comfort you received when you stayed at the Tuakau Hotel is very rewarding to us. Thank you for giving us a try on the basis we won the Hospitality NZ 2012 Award for Excellence for the Best new/redeveloped Accommodation Hotel and for consequently recommending the Tuakau Hotel to others for the world quality standard you feel we achieve. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tuakau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuakau Hotel

Address: 1 - 3 George Street | Tuakau, Tuakau 2121, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Tuakau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tuakau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tuakau Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warm ambience of our boutique country hotel 40 mins south of Auckland Airport at the Gateway to Waikato with 10 hotel rooms and 7 self-contained apartments. Each room is well appointed with a luxurious king-size bed, individual climate control, sound insulation, internet access, SKY TV, and complimentary refreshments, while the licensed restaurant, lounge and sports bars, TAB and gaming room, and conference facilities cater for all your entertainment needs. 7 Mins south of Pukekohe means convenient access to Pukekohe Race Track and Counties Manukau Rugby. Just 15 mins to the internationally acclaimed Hampton Downs MotorSport Race Track. Centrally located to provide easy access to both the wild West Coast beaches for surfing and the protected waters of the Hauraki Gulf for boating. Enjoy bush walking in the Hunua Ranges, a hot spa at Miranda, or the cycle trails on the Hauraki Plains, and experience local wines and produce in Elsie's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Tuakau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuakau Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.