We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Station Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hallatrow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Station Inn
Save
You added The Old Station Inn to your Saves list
Wells Road | Hallatrow, Hallatrow, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hallatrow B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here for the night,having bought the Groupon deal. The service was outstanding,food lovely-the pork hock was HUGE!,the pub was brilliant & the carriage restaurant was so unique. The room was fine for the price too. It's a great place that we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    61
    10
    6
    14
See reviews for
33
179
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here on 12th January with my Partner with a Groupon voucher. We had originally booked a double room but when we arrived we were informed that the heating in the room was not working and they could offer us a twin room, which was a little disappointing but was better than nothing and having to drive all the way back home.

The room was basic but lovely and very clean. We had two towels each (1 bath and 1 hand towel) and a little chocolate on each pillow. There was a wardrobe, chair, desk with tea/coffee making facilities, a large mirror, tv/dvd player, en suite bathroom with both bath and over the bath shower. The beds weren't the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on but they weren't terrible and the pillows were lovely and soft but that probably comes down to personal preference. Our only complaint was that the room was quite cold even with the radiator on full and the one in the bathroom on too.

We ate in the Carriage Restaurant in the evening which is a very quirky and unusual setting. The food was served quickly and it was very tasty. We had a few loud guests in there with us which ruined the atmosphere somewhat but again the food was very nice. One complaint with the food was that my lemon tart dessert was not set properly and it was very very runny but my partners dessert was delicious (brownie and ice cream).

When we checked out there was no one around except the cleaner and other guests so we weren't too sure of what to do with the key to our room as we weren't told upon arrival. However check out was midday which gives you plenty of time to get yourself ready and have a look around.

All of the staff were friendly and welcoming.We enjoyed our stay and and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Me & my husband stayed here for one night stay on 9/11/12
We was made most welcome by the lovely family run pub.
We watched the rugby when we arrived had a few drinks with
The local .
It was a very nice place .
We ate in the railway carriage in the evening and it was very nice .
I will be going back for sure .

Room Tip: If travelling a long way to get here the kitchen closes at half two Either make other arrangements...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed at The Old Station Inn last night with four friends. Had a great night with the nutty Welsh landlady, her chef husband and locals, food was of a high standard and service was great. The city of Wells is about a 15 minute drive away and is well worth a visit. We look forward to returning sometime in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Second stay for us, can't fault this place. Food is fantastic, waiting staff in carriage are brilliant, they are polite, funny, attentive. Deb an Neville can't do enough for you. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for a night and ate in the Carriage restaurant. Lovely food well worth the money, good choice of food. Very pleasant ''welsh'' landlady who couldnt do enough for you. Good range of beers even if they dont know how to drink them(nice tight head)
Only down side of this stay was that there is no breakfast available!! If there had been they would have got 5 stars.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had Sunday lunch at the Pub (not in the carriage) today 4/11/2012. Six of us paid £76 for 5 roasts 1 mixed grill 6 drinks and some cheesy chips! The price was Ok the welcome and service excellent however i fear the chef was having a BAD day!!!
PROS.... excellent chips, excellent mixed grill! CONS....totally nuked pork, one roast potato, poor veg, nuked lamb and the worst coffee ever!!!!!
Too be honest had the service and welcome been less than excellent I would have rated the day as poor at best! If the chef was not having a bad day or having a day off I would say leave the roast meals well alone. PS I did inform the lady behind the bar she said she would have a word with the chef...a free drink would have been nice! there again not THAT coffee!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Station Inn

Address: Wells Road | Hallatrow, Hallatrow, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Hallatrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hallatrow
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Old Station Hotel Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Station Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.