We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Cumnock” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dumfries Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dumfries Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Dumfries Arms Hotel
54 Glaisnock Street, Cumnock KA18 1BY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cumnock
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Co durham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Trip to Cumnock”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Beautifully refurbished hotel, with a very stylish interior, pity about the view from the fron windows onto a run down street

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    50
    15
    10
    6
See reviews for
54
60
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I have dined here several times in the past year and I have never been disappointed. The food is delicious, the staff are attentive and the surrounding are beautiful. Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Only eaten here once. But the whole experience was just great. Had drinks in the bar area while reading the menu and soon after placing our order we where whisked off in to the restaurant. Food was excellent and so was the service. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This is a great place to eat in Cumnock and the surroundings are amazing.

I have eaten in the restaurant 3 times now and each time the food has been great with the best fish and chips ever tasted. The haggis / turnip and potatoes as a starter is just fabulous.

The staff serving are also very friendly and courteous especially the manager whose aim is to please all customers and does it very well.

The only criticism I have is that it is never very warm but maybe it's me.

I would definitely recommend this place and will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I have dined here once (lunchtime) and the experience was excellent; well worth a return visit. Food and prices very good although rather a smaller menu than other places I have visited. Surroundings phenominal - obviously a large fortune has been spent on a recent renovation. Car parking very adequate.

Room Tip: Did not stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Title sums it up...food, service and surroundings!! After a lovely meal we asked to see round the building - honeymoon suite was spectacular. Wishing I could have my wedding all over again as the dumfries arms would be the perfect location. Great staff, great food! Will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Please dont be fooled by the heading as I didn't actually get the chance to eat! My husband and I decided to lunch at the Dumfries Arms on 15/04/12, we arrived at 12.45 and ordered drinks, I specifically asked for no ice yet was given my drink with ice! My husband ordered mushrooms for a starter which were very average. For our mains I ordered Lasagne and my husband ordered Fish & Chips, when the order eventually arrived at 1.50 my lasagne had become Salmon! Our order had been taken incorrectly - resulting in a 20 min wait for my lasagne. At this point we were already late for visiting my elderly mother in hospital and I had no desire to eat on my own! The staff were very apologetic, which is expected but I did expect to eat on my visit! We have been dissapointed before on a visit to the Dumfries Arms therefore will not visit again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dumfries Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumfries Arms Hotel

Address: 54 Glaisnock Street, Cumnock KA18 1BY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > Cumnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cumnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully renovated in 2011 the Dumfries Arms is a contemporary, stylish boutique Hotel with 26 stunning guest rooms, stylish restaurant and function facilities that ensure its place as one of Ayrshire's largest and most stunning wedding and events venues. Rich in history, The Dumfries Arms Hotel has stood at the heart of the ancient burgh of Cumnock, Ayrshire since the early 18th century and even predates nearby Dumfries House, saved for the nation by HRH The Prince of Wales and now one of the nation's most stunning heritage attractions. Over its 300 year history the hotel's guests have included some colourful and well known characters including our national bard, Robert Burns and Sir Walter Scott, who made reference to his stay in Old Cumnock..."Where beds are as hard as a plank, sir". Much has changed since! However, as an important part of our heritage, due homage has been accorded with these historic words being embroidered on soft furnishings within our guest rooms. We should add that our beds are magnificently comfortable! We look forward to welcoming you to one of Scotland's newest, privately owned boutique hotels whether as a resident, diner, or to view our stunning function facilities if you are planning a very special event. A warm welcome is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Dumfries Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dumfries Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.