We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not get a good night's sleep” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Oglesby Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Oglesby Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Oglesby Inn
900 Holiday St, Oglesby, IL 61348   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oglesby
Buffalo Grove, United States
1 review
“You will not get a good night's sleep”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The motel had No soundproofing. VERY BAD echo! The second floor hallway was open to the first floor lobby so noise from the first floor reception and gathering area echoed upstairs. Single paned windows made the noise from highway very loud. We rented two rooms, both on the second floor, and none of us got any sleep. The night employee tried to do her best to quiet the group that was socializing in the breakfast area, but with the noise coming up to the second floor, there was little she could do. The day employee at check out was very nice when she heard we had a terrible experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oglesbybw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Oglesby Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hello -

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay. I apologize you didn't get a good night's sleep. My staff and I take it very seriously when our guests are not satisfied and continually work to make improvements if they are needed.

I would be happy to discuss this matter further if you would like. Please feel free to contact me at your convenience. Again, I apologize for the issue you encountered and appreciate the feedback.

Thank you.

Sam Sankovich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    50
    14
    14
    6
See reviews for
75
39
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We wanted to visit the Starved Rock State Park and surrounding area and got a real good rate at the Best Western in Oglesby IL. The rooms were good and comfortable, but the location was the best. We were right on the interstate and 15 minutes away from the Starved Rock visitors center. The plus is that it is only about 15 minutes away from the towns of LaSalle and Ottawa, where there are other historic sights to enjoy. Restaurants in the area are of the Mom & Pop variety and are very good. Don't miss touring and eating at the Starved Rock Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I recently stayed at the hotel, and it was OK stay. The staff was cordial and quick and the pool was cute. However, someone next door was playing keyboard and the wall was so thin that I could hear the music (not very good music). I had to call the staff, after which the music stopped. The food was dissapointing as well. It was pretty amazing how flat the coffee, orange, and hot food were. However, the waffle and yogurt was good. Overall, a decent stay, but given it's price, I was expecting a little more.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at the Oglesby Inn the past two months. Both times we were particularly impressed with the quality of the breakfast. The hot food was cooked just right - done but not dried out - and there was plenty of food even though we ate close to the end of the breakfast period. Our room and the motel itself was quiet, clean, tidy and comfortable. The staff were all pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Very rarely do I see my children and I truly expected to have more time with my new grandson and daughter-in-law; however, when requesting adjoining rooms, we were first booked on different floors, but finally placed on the same floor, but not adjoining. I was blessed with hearing another customer in the room that adjoined mine while I had to keep going into the hall and knocking whenever I wanted to spend time with my family. Plus, there was peeling wall paper and a hole in the wall in the room my son and his family finally ended up with. Then there was the $10 fee that never fell off my account which allegedly was an authorization fee. Totally not happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oglesbybw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Oglesby Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hello -

Thank you so much for the feedback on your recent stay with us. First off, I want to apologize for mix-up with your rooms. With all guests, my staff and I do what we can to honor all requests.

The authorization of $10.00 was for incidentals and that should, indeed, come off your card shortly after check-out.

Again, I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay. I take all comments seriously and always discuss them with my staff.

If you would like to speak to me in more detail, it would be my pleasure.

Thank you for your time.

Sam Sankovich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mabank, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We paid $71 after AAA discount +tax. I thought that was quite reasonable considering what a great hotel it was. The room was immaculately clean and smelled good. The AC cooled the room off quickly once adjusted. The bed had a new white duvet cover and the bedskirt looked brand new, still had the folding wrinkles from the bag. The pillows were excellent and the bed was very comfortable. There was a pool and hot tub-very clean. There was a hot and continental breakfast and my favorite French Vanilla creamer for coffee.
It is right off the highway and walking distance from a Family Buffet, Taco Bell, Kentucky Fried Chicken, and Subway, plus a coupla gas stations.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscola, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel is at a great location (close to Starved Rock State Park.) All the staff I encountered were professional and polite. Hotel was nicely decorated and clean. Breakfast presentation was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Oglesby Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Oglesby Inn

Address: 900 Holiday St, Oglesby, IL 61348
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Oglesby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oglesby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Oglesby Inn is the closest hotel to Starved Rock State Park! Our recently renovated hotel features an indoor pool and hot tub, guest laundry services, and a private business center. All of our spacious rooms have microwaves, refrigerators, voice mail, free wireless Internet, coffee makers, hair dryers, and iron and ironing boards. The hotel also has six Executive Suites which are perfect for the extended stay traveler. We pride ourselves on our complimentary hot breakfast buffet served daily and also have several restaurants in walking distance. Within 10 minutes, you have numerous state parks, outdoor activities for every season, shopping centers and a variety of dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Oglesby Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oglesby Hotel Oglesby
Holiday Inn Oglesby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Oglesby Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.