We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 West 350 22nd Street, Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

This is definitely an older property that has been updated. The hallway on our floor reminded me of "Being John Malkovich" because the ceiling was so low. The room was small but very nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our stay included breakfast in the Cat Tails Restaurant on the 1st floor and it was a nice buffet with a good selection. We were looking forward to spending time in the pool and even though it is small, it was clean and kept at a perfect temperature. The hot tub was great too. What impressed me the most is that every hour, maintenance came in and checked on the pool and hot tub and checked the chlorine levels several times. There were plenty of towels too. My only complaint is that I prefer a a completely dark room and the heavier drapes did not cover the windows completely and the outside flood lights shone on the ceiling of our room through the sheers.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    64
    35
    21
    20
See reviews for
38
28
31
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

Our group was in the area enjoying a hobby for a few days. The staff was most accommodating and especially a nice young woman at the front desk with a french accent. This is not your typical Holiday Inn. I got the feeling I was staying in a four or five star hotel. The weight room and pool area was immaculate. The rooms were very clean and quiet. The location was very convenient to shopping and nice restaurants. If ever in the Chicago area again, I will go out of my way to stay at this Holiday Inn in Oakbrook.
You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
musitraveler
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

Earlier negative reviews on this hotel may have been warranted at the time, but I wonder if the hotel is under new management. I found the hotel to be extremely clean, staff very friendly and accommodating, and the combination of price versus amenities provided was the best I could find in the vicinity of Elmhurst.

The hotel is located on a busy, retail-heavy street. It was easy to find and to access, and is located two doors from a Giordano's Pizza and short walks to a couple of sandwich shops. The staff at the front desk was friendly and helpful. I was there with a group, and our rooms were all very clean and well kept, perhaps recently remodeled. My room had a fantastic shower, and my only minor complaint was the room's heater/fan that would shut off completely and come back on periodically (rather than a constant fan with periodic heat triggered by the thermostat). A member of the service staff saw me walking the corridor with my ice bucket and offered to get the ice for me (since the machine was located on a different floor). There was a heated indoor pool and jacuzzi, and though I did not use it I noticed that it was busy, used by other guests.

I will definitely plan to come to back to this hotel if my work brings me back to this area, and I would recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

We had a one day meeting/buying event and this hotel continues to work with us on all phases of the event in a professional manner.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

We were a little nervous about this place, since there were a few unfavorable reviews, but the price was right and we decided to give it a try. We had to call a few days in advance to check on a few things 1) our flight got in at 1am: service rep said no problem and offered us a free shuttle ride (we were shocked); 2) we needed a fridge in the room for homemade fudge for family christmas gifts: service rep said no problem and that it was offered at no charge; 3) we had to check on internet service since we would both be working remotely: again we were told they offered we-fi at no extra charge. After the call we were feeling pretty good about where we were staying.
Once we got to the hotel (we were 3 hours late because of a rental car line) there was soembody there at 4 am to help us promptly and with a smile, check in was a breeze and the desk clerk was able to help us find a 24-hour market to get a few necessities for the morning.
Our room was clean the bed was comfy (we needed it by that time)! It was so comfy I think we ended up sleeping in much later than normal everyday of our one week stay. We had a nice desk area with a very comfortable office chair, since we both had to get a little work done while we were there the desk area was invaluable and so was the free wi-fi. The location is hard to beat (I'm not from the Chicago area, but my fiancee is and everywhere we needed to be was VERY close and we were able to get some great christmas shopping done!
The pool area was very nice, clean and very quiet. I used the workout room, the treadmills seem top of the line and run like a dream. We ordered room service once, it was prompt and tasty.
We had one small issue that we talked to the front desk clerk about and we were truely amazed at the service we received, they jumped through hoops to be sure that we were comfortable and went waaaaay above and beyone what we had expected. I really can't say enough wonderful things about the service folks here, I don't think I've ever been to a hotel that was so concerned about my comfort.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat, this is where we will be the next time we see family in the area.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

Stayed long term at this Holiday Inn so my evaluation of this hotel should be insightful. First and foremost, the staff at the hotel is extremely courteous and friendly. Second the general manager and manager for this location have been quite accommodating. Their warm personality and helpfulness is still very much appreciated today. I found the rates very affordable, yet quite competitive compared to other hotels in the area. Havent tried the food there because of the locality of other superb dining options. The swimming pool and jacuzzi were great. Liked the gym room a lot there,even though it was a small gym. If you are a traveller staying either staying short term or long term, you can appreciate great service, competitive rates, and a pleasant stay at the Holiday Inn Oakbrook Terrace.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

I was asked to host a business meetings in the Chicago Metro area, and at the same time keep the price resonable. After a through search, it didnt look very promising for the "price resonable option". Until I came accross this Holiday Inn. They worked with me and had everything set up the way we had arranged. At, the last minute we needed to make some additional requests. The staff and management did not bat an eye and the adjustments were completed quickly. The place was spotless, and the attendees had several good things to say about the facility.

The staff and managment could not have been more helpful and efficent. To say the least, anytime I need to host a business meeting in this area, this is gonna be where it takes place.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook

Address: 17 West 350 22nd Street, Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Oakbrook Terrace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Oakbrook Terrace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Chicago-Oak Brook Hotel represents the best of both worlds by offering an upscale stay, at a not so upscale price. The Holiday Inn is a premiere full service hotel and is ADA- and FEMA-approved. Our guests are provided with an experience not found anywhere else in the city. The hotel is centrally located off I-88 between I-294 and I-355 in the beautiful Oak Brook western suburb, nestled in the shopping and restaurant district. The hotel features complimentary shuttle service to all local corporate offices. The Holiday Inn Chicago-Oakbrook is centrally located for all Chicago corporate business. Nestled in the middle of the Chicago in the suburbs between Midway Airport and O`Hare Airport. The Holiday Inn Chicago-Oakbrook hotel is the best choice for lodging when working with companies alike: IBM, Com Ed, Crowe Horwath, Inland Real Estate, McDonalds, Perkin Elmer, Sara Lee, Joint Commission, Blue Cross Blue Shield, Mid America Plaza Businesses and many more in the Oakbrook, Lombard and Oakbrook Terrace Area. Our meeting rooms also come complete with audio-visual equipment. Cattails Restaurant and Lounge showcases an extensive menu, as well as a comprehensive daily hot breakfast selection, in a cool and comfortable atmosphere. All 217 beautiful decorated rooms are appointed with everything required to ensure your stay will be an enjoyable experience which includes complimentary high-speed Internet access! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook Hotel Oakbrook Terrace
Chicago Oakbrook Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Oakbrook Terrace
Oakbrook Terrace Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.