We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unremarkable stay in an unremarkable hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Chicago Oakbrook Terrace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Chicago Oakbrook Terrace to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Chicago Oakbrook Terrace
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South 666 Midwest Rd, Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181-4429   |  
Hotel amenities
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“An unremarkable stay in an unremarkable hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Because I'd stayed in LaQuinta Inns before, I was neither disappointed nor surprised by this particular one. The hotel itself is fairly difficult to find, being hidden behind businesses on the main drag, and sandwiched in next a Home Depot. While the lobby and hallways were clean, they were badly in need of some renovation, decorated in an "early 90s" motif. The room, however, was apparently recently renovated because it was clean, pleasant, and modern looking. Literally, my only two complaints with the room were (1) the sink stopper didn't hold the water in the sink (making cleaning contact lenses a bit of a crap shoot), and (2) when the heat kicked in it really made quite a racket. The front desk staff were very pleasant and quick to do their job, and the continental breakfast in the morning was adequate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    66
    23
    14
    9
See reviews for
76
33
23
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel is ok for a short stay but we stayed a week and should have picked the Embassy Suites. The Continental breakfast was the worst breakfast I've ever had at a hotel. Cold hard boiled eggs, cereal, muffins, mini yogurts, toaster waffles and toast. Pretty much ate at Denny's or McDonald's every day. I wanted a hotel with a breakfast so I didn't have to worry about it. We could eat and go spend our day.

When we first check into room 343 someone was smoking in the room. They covered it with air freshener so they put us in room 200 which was a very nice room, clean, comfortable and quiet. The AC is very noisy. One the 5th night I noticed the carpet in front of the AC was wet and that morning we told the front desk. Maintenance didn't come until the next day and I'm not sure if it was fixed but it wasn't cooling very well that night. We were leaving in the morning.

I think for the amount of money we paid Denny's it would have been better to just stay at the Embassy Suites down the street and have a nice breakfast every morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

When I made the reservation the clerk was really helpful. All staff was great,
Hotel and rooms very clean and upgraded. Appreciate that your pet friendly.location convient......................................................................................................................................

We will stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were VERY grateful that the hotel allowed us to check in extremely early (9:00am!!) after driving all night. We LOVE that they were so accommodating and that they don't charge anything extra for having a dog. :) We were also very impressed that they offered us to come down to the lobby and eat breakfast on the day we checked in so early. Even though we didn't take advantage of it because we were exhausted, it was such a welcoming gesture and we were very thankful for their hospitality! The rooms are clean and comfortable and the area has a lot of shopping and dining options. This is our second stay at this particular hotel and we plan on using it each time we stay in the Chicago area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The rooms were beautiful. The beds were soft and clean. The staff was friendly. The only thing not so great was having to stand to eat due to very little seating. The groundsman wasn't very polite as he was pulling a trash can across the parking lot and literally stop the trash can right in front of my vehicle, looked at me, and walked away from it so I had to drive around it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed back in March and April so we came back again during Labor Day weekend. We had one free night saved up. We arrived around 10:30 pm on Thursday night. We were to stay till Sunday. They told us the first night would be our free night. We were given the room 105. We were just glad to turn in after a long day of travel.

The toilet seat was crooked. As you sat on it, it kept sliding and you found yourself sitting on the rim of the bowl! Gross. The sink did not drain properly. It was so slow that the toothpaste was foaming all over! It was really late at night. We just wanted to get some rest.

But, the worse was coming. This room is on the first floor directly facing the cafeteria, and next to the exit door that says Staff only. This means late a night and early in the morning someone is going in and out all the time. I was woken up several times throughout the night. Especially around 5am, the frequency of door opening and closing increased. You could hear people talking as well. No rest!
It was an outrage. The next day we requested to have our room changed. At first they put us in a room next the elevator but asked for a different room again to be far away from possible noise. This time it was better. The shower sucks, but tolerable.

I think they did this on purpose. As it was a free night, they assigned the worse room in the hotel to us. They knew no one would want that room. If we were meek and didn't complain, we'd be stuck with this horrible room for 3 nights and they would got away with it.

They should NOT even assign this room to anyone. It is not suitable for any guests.

The next day we had to go through the hassle of packing and repacking, and due to lack of sleep, it was not a productive day and took me a few days to recover.

They wasted our "free" night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from any exit door or elevator. Do not take room 105.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Chicago Oakbrook Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Chicago Oakbrook Terrace

Address: 1 South 666 Midwest Rd, Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181-4429
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Oakbrook Terrace
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Oakbrook Terrace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Chicago Oakbrook Terrace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Chicago Oakbrook Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Chicago Oakbrook Terrace Hotel Oakbrook Terrace
La Quinta Oakbrook Terrace
Oakbrook Terrace La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Chicago Oakbrook Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.