We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Carleton of Oak Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Carleton of Oak Park to your Saves list
The Carleton of Oak Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1110 Pleasant Street, Oak Park, IL 60302   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oak Park
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Lovely hotel in downtown Oak Park. Refurbished rooms are spacious, restaurant had excellent food. Most importantly, the customer service was excellent--very helpful and personal. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was large, but no view--2nd floor; not sure of location
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    78
    36
    13
    11
See reviews for
51
55
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our experience with front desk was not the best. Asked directions to room and was pointed in wrong direction. After wandering around went back down stairs and was told "I told you to go up there." Not. Our room was cold, I asked for another blanket. "Don't know if we have any." About 15 min. later a blanket was delivered and we were told the heat will be on in a little while. Other than that the stay was okay. We have to go back the end of month and we'll see.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very clean, friendly staff and restaurant/bar attached. Located in a very nice mature neighborhood where we took walks and saw architect Frank Lloyd Wright's home and the birthplace of writer Ernest Hemingway. The train is within walking distance to take to downtown Chicago - very convenient.

Room Tip: Stayed inside the hotel rather than in rooms available outside (motel style)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times now. It has an old worlde charm, is comfortable, with up to date facilities and very comfortable beds - most important for my back!

It is very conveniently situated for the commuter trains to Chicago and has plenty of local shops and amenities nearby.

It is also within walking distance of the Frank Lloyd Wright area and the writer, Ernest Hemingway's home - both very enjoyable places to visit.

Whilst writing the authentic Art Deco cinema was also worth a visit and tickets are very reasonable.

I shall definitely stay at this delightful hotel again when I next visit.

Room Tip: The beds are comfortable so you will get a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, Nc
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

The Carleton was a pleasant surprise as it is not a cookie-cutter hotel. It is an older hotel that was built about in the 20's but very well maintained with comfortable bedding and amenities. The location is fabulous, a couple of blocks from the convenient commuter trains to Chicago and the center of Oak Park shopping and restaurants; parking is free, which makes this hotel a great value. The restaurants in the hotel are far better than usual hotel fare. Public rooms are pleasant. Staff are also helpful and pleasant. Only negative was that we were there 2 nights and housekeeping never touched our room on the second day. I am thinking it must have been an oversight.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

In Sept my brother had his wedding at The Carleton. The service was great. Jay, one of the staff, was looking out for our party when he saw a drunk couple not with our group and escorted him out. This type of dedication was greatly . I look forward to my next trip to this location. I am a tough critic - thy won me over.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, OH
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Carleton of Oak Park is a very nice hotel/motel in Oak Park, IL. We stayed in the "motel" section of the complex because we needed a first-floor room. The location is very near the Frank Lloyd Wright neighborhood of Oak Park. Although we did not get up to that area, the neighborhood surrounding the hotel provided beautiful homes to view when we took our evening walk. During one of the days we were there, workers spent an entire day planting shrubs and plants around the hotel complex. It is very well landscaped and well tended.

The motel room was a composite of old and new. It has definitely been updated, but it is decorated in a retro style. There were two double beds, a kitchen table, and a kitchenette complete with sink, refrigerator and microwave. The bathroom was sufficient for our needs, and the closet included built-in cupboards and drawers that look to be part of the original structure.

Another point to make is that the Carleton is just a few blocks from Rush Oak Park Hospital (which is the reason we chose it). I would definitely recommend staying there. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, too, which is an important factor to consider.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carleton of Oak Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carleton of Oak Park

Address: 1110 Pleasant Street, Oak Park, IL 60302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Oak Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oak Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carleton of Oak Park 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Carleton of Oak Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carleton Of Oak Park Hotel Oak Park
Carleton Hotel Oak Park
Carleton Of Oak Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carleton of Oak Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.