We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hemmingway's Bistro

Hemmingway's Bistro
211 N Oak Park Ave, Oak Park, IL 60302-2118
708-524-0806
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 111 Restaurants in Oak Park
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great ambiance, cuisine, good wine list, excellent service. We go there often, as we live not far away. You feel submerged in another time there, this is not for modernists. There can be a draught from the old windows, which adds to the charm. Also live music on certain nights.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    27
    4
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Gem in Oak Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Visiting Frank Lloyd Wright's house and then a self guided tour made 4 of us hungry. We walked a few blocks by Hemingway's birthplace to Hemmingways Bistro (note 2 m's) and spent a memorable lunch hour. The service was absolutely wonderful. We were there on a Monday and were the only ones there. Delicious soup - raved about shrimp salad - quiche of the day was great as was the omlette someone chose. On holidays and on the train so indulged in a very good wine menu. We had to pass on dessert but decided we will definitely go back for dinner on our next visit. Lucky those who live in Oak Park area as this would be a terrific place to have locally.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food in Oak Park, but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have not had a bad meal here, but the prices are a bit high for anything other than a special night out. Just north of the intersection of Lake Street and Oak Park Avenue, on Oak Park, near the Hemingway Museum. It is in the first floor of the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Really a good find in Oak Park. Never disappoints.
Wonderful Menu! The duck, the steak and the white fish are all outstanding.
Small place in the Write Inn hotel across from the Hemingway exhibit.
White table cloths, great wine list and the service cannot be beat.
Can be pricy but for a special night out you cannot beat it.


Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishersville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Don't know how you could rate this anything less than 5 stars. Able to go in semi/business casual clothes. Food and service were excellent. Portions large. Plenty of attention from the staff. Had the sea bass special - fantastic! My daughter was running the marathon on Sunday, so chose the chicken pot pie (don't let that common name scare you) on Friday night - enormous and a fantastic crust! My husband had the Bouillabaisse - so beautiful and full of seafood! We took this on recommendation, and couldn't access the menu due to a lack of flash player on our iPhones. But the risk was well worth it! Fantastic meal!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hemmingway's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Hemmingway's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemmingway's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.